PDA

View Full Version : FPS using 8800GT



fireflyz
06-14-2008, 08:59 PM
I just installed a new 8800GT. The FPS I got with this monster is not much better than that with my old onboard video card. I used the BlackDeath track to test the FPS. High about 80, low only 19. Is that right? Is there anything I missed? Thanks!

Choctaw111
06-14-2008, 09:09 PM
What CPU are you using?
There are several factors with could attribute to this.
I will try to help, but give me as much info as you can.

mortoma
06-14-2008, 09:44 PM
A lot depends on other parts of your PC too, as Choctaw111 said. How much memory do you have? Your motherboard manufac. and model? Chipset on that motherboard? The list goes on and we can't help you unless you give us more specs of your system.

I've had EVGA 8800GT for about a month now and get way better frames than you do. But it's a super-clocked model too. I also have a Asus P5N-E SLI motherboard with the tried, tested and proven Nvidia 650I chipset. And high end Corsair memory, 2 gigs worth, plus an Intel E8400 Wolfdale processor.

You see, I just wrote what I have in my system, wasn't all that hard either.

Sirrith
06-15-2008, 01:26 AM
Im the specs in my sig, and this is what I get:
Low: 17
high: 125

thats with all settings maxed, 16xAA 16xAF 1680x1050 res

foxyboy1964
06-15-2008, 06:34 AM
Originally posted by fireflyz:
I just installed a new 8800GT. The FPS I got with this monster is not much better than that with my old onboard video card. I used the BlackDeath track to test the FPS. High about 80, low only 19. Is that right? Is there anything I missed? Thanks!

Check out this thread for some comparisons...

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/8841060056

See if you can find a system like yours then ask for help in the Community Help forum.

Airmail109
06-15-2008, 05:59 PM
That isnt right, my FPS are locked at 70fps never dip below. With an 8800gt and the exact same rig overclocked to 3ghz.

did you run such high AA settings with your last onboard card? If not thats whats killing ur fps as I run 8x AA or 4x supersampling AA

stalkervision
06-15-2008, 08:00 PM
My 8800 gt does worlds better then that and I have a crappy older anthlon processor. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

fireflyz
06-16-2008, 08:41 AM
Thanks for your replies, guys!
My system is as below:
System Specifications
CPU -------- AMD x2 4000+
MB --------- Abit AN-M2HD
RAM -------- 2 gigs Corsair DDR2 800
VIDEO ------ XFX 8800GT Alpha Dog edition; core 800
RESOLUTION - 1024x768 32bit @ 85hz
OS ----------WinXP 32 bit
SOUND -------AC97 onboard

Filtering through video card control panel
AA---------- don't think it's on
ANSIO------- don't think it's on


Conf.ini
Haven't got a chance to copy it yet, but it's a fresh installation of the game v4.07.

The CPU is not that powerful, but I'd think it's enough for IL2, especially with a 8800GT. The motherboard has a onboard video card. Before the 8800GT, I got high 30-40 low 18 fps with this onboard. I am surprised it doesn't get much better with 8800GT. Any ideas? Thanks!!

mortoma
06-16-2008, 11:15 AM
I'd say you for sure are being limited by your processor. Apparently even when you had onboard video, the CPU was a bottleneck. The 8800 is known to be able to get far better frames with other CPUs and your memory is excellent. Since other systems ( like mine ) are able to get better frames with about the same memory, the CPU or the chipset would HAVE to be your bottleneck. And far more likely the CPU rather than the chipset. Unless you have some settings that are messing you up, that has to be the case. We have to eliminate settings before we judge the CPU and chipset though.

Go into your Nvidia control panel and post what you have for settings. Also your game settings in IL2setup. And all the settings graphics and game setting levels. And post your conf.ini while your at it.

There are differences between different brands of Nvidia cards. I'm not sure about XFX so I can't say much. All I know is EVGA and BFG always seems like the hottest two brands to me.

StellarRat
06-16-2008, 01:29 PM
Your top end FPS can also be limited by your monitor. They can only refresh so fast, if the video card can refresh faster than you lose the difference.

Urufu_Shinjiro
06-16-2008, 01:53 PM
That CPU should be just fine with the 8800GT, it may limit your frames but you should be able to turn up the video settings with no drop in FPS so it looks a ton better at the same FPS. Also make sure in the nvidia control panel that extention limit and multi-threaded optimization are off, that should improve fps some.

daffyduck.il2
06-16-2008, 02:05 PM
Same problem here. max 87 min 16 on blackdeath

Fiddled with all nvidia settings for hours but no improvements...

I tried the 8800 dlls from 1c, no change.

I really could use some help http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

evga 790i
E8400
2 gig Crucial Ballistix 1600
BFG 8800 GT OC
WD raptor

my conf.ini
[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

Urufu_Shinjiro
06-16-2008, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by daffyduck.il2:
Same problem here. max 87 min 16 on blackdeath

Fiddled with all nvidia settings for hours but no improvements...

I tried the 8800 dlls from 1c, no change.

I really could use some help http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

evga 790i
E8400
2 gig Crucial Ballistix 1600
BFG 8800 GT OC
WD raptor

my conf.ini
[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=3
TexCompress=2
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=1
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=1
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=1

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=3
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=17
Water=4
Effects=2
ForceShaders1x=0

PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

What resolution, AA and AF are you running? Also try effects=1, =2 was an experiment and was never perfected, still kills frames on the beastiests of beast machines. Also you don't need texture compression with that card.

daffyduck.il2
06-16-2008, 02:19 PM
Resoution is 1280*960
AA and AF settings don't seem to change the result (maybe +/- 1 fps avg, same max and min). Tried all, off all the way to 16x.

Will check effects = 1 tonight.

Thanks

Urufu_Shinjiro
06-16-2008, 02:46 PM
Originally posted by daffyduck.il2:
Resoution is 1280*960
AA and AF settings don't seem to change the result (maybe +/- 1 fps avg, same max and min). Tried all, off all the way to 16x.

Will check effects = 1 tonight.

Thanks

Try making your own post in the community help section, I beleive the OP of this thread is getting about the right frames with his cpu but you are getting far too low a framerate for that rig.

daffyduck.il2
06-16-2008, 03:13 PM
You're right Shin. Firefly, did not intend to hijack your thread mate !

Moving out.

fireflyz
06-16-2008, 03:40 PM
Daffy, not a problem at all! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I'd think my CPU is the bottle neck, but stalkervision said he'd got "worlds better" FPS with an "crappy older anthlon".

I will try some tweaks. Thanks, guys!