PDA

View Full Version : RUN/WALK controls - clearly a console port



chrkaise
04-28-2010, 11:59 AM
so the only MAJOR issue i have with the gameplay is the implemtation of the run/walk system. maybe its cause im noob and havnt gotten used to it yet, but i think it worked SO much better in previous games where you simply used the mouse wheel to increase and decrease your speed. even if theres only two speeds because you guys got lazy, a walk and a run, with the simple flick of a mouse wheel in either the up or down position, ensures that you arnt going to try and rush at an enemy at a furious walking pace only to be shot in the face.

please fix this in a patch, it feels very "clunky" right now

even holding down shift to run would be better then the "push to enable and disable" way it works now. theres just never any sure way to know which speed you are currently moving at. by holding it down you'll at least know your going to run instead of it being a mystery.

zumbiNINJA
04-28-2010, 12:25 PM
I think the same thing. We need a patch to improve gameplay and performance.

chrkaise
04-28-2010, 12:30 PM
i have an 8800GTS instead of a GS so technically i dont even meet recommended specs but still i can play at 720p on medium settings with no major dips below 30fps. vsync off, so theres a bit of tearing... nothing that takes away from the experience tho

performance in online play seems lower though...

cliffro
04-29-2010, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by chrkaise:
i have an 8800GTS instead of a GS so technically i dont even meet recommended specs...

The GS is a step or 2 below your GTS. So you meet the recommended specs.

The way they perform from top to bottom is 8800Ultra/GTX/GTS(512mb)/GT/GTS(640/320)/GS

Just in case someone doubts the GT is better
Xtreview benchmark results comparison GT vs GTS 640 (http://xtreview.com/images/GeForce-8800-GT-vs-GTS-vs-AMD-Radeon-HD-3850-vs-3870/image023.png)

AUNT__J3MIMA
04-29-2010, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by chrkaise:
so the only MAJOR issue i have with the gameplay is the implemtation of the run/walk system. maybe its cause im noob and havnt gotten used to it yet...

it is because youre a noob and havent gotten used to it.

Zaph31
04-29-2010, 11:05 AM
Originally posted by chrkaise:
i have an 8800GTS instead of a GS so technically i dont even meet recommended specs but still i can play at 720p on medium settings with no major dips below 30fps. vsync off, so theres a bit of tearing... nothing that takes away from the experience tho

performance in online play seems lower though...
Something is wrong there. Are you CPU limited or something? What OS are you using?

I'm using a 8800GTS, Core2Duo E6600 and Windows7 64bit. When I play Splinter Cell on my HDTV (running at 1360x768), I can turn all options to their maximum, including 16AA, HDR, 16 AF, max shadows etc.

And the frame rate remains buttery smooth.

zumbiNINJA
04-29-2010, 11:42 AM
Zaph31
what are your minumum and average FPS?

Zaph31
04-29-2010, 11:48 AM
Originally posted by zumbiNINJA:
Zaph31
what are your minumum and average FPS?
I'm not sure. It plays smooth, with no choppiness.

Can you recommend a program to get the FPS? If so I'll get the exact number for you.

Just for a laugh, I tried the same settings on my actual monitor (running 1920x1200), it was a slideshow. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

libindi1989
04-29-2010, 12:02 PM
Yeah,i been killed many times because i dont konw sam is runing or walking. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif

Sn1p3r87
04-30-2010, 12:13 AM
Good god, i removed that Run/walk button and made him run by default. So on my setup it's eather Run or crouch.

I died more times pressing the Run/Walk button when i needed to crouch.

James-24
04-30-2010, 07:42 AM
Originally posted by chrkaise:
it feels very "clunky" right now

It surprises me to hear this. I've played around a total of 4-5 hours of Conviction all up, and I would describe the game as very fluid and fast moving. Hope you find it more suitable soon.