PDA

View Full Version : I can't change the resolution in Myst 4



Almlys
10-01-2004, 04:58 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
The configuration tool also does not detect my videocard or videocard memory
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The configuration tool don't detects very well your videocard if you have very old drivers.

It's recomeneded to have the video drivers updated.

Equisilus solution will work well, but be sure that the MaxiumResX and MaxiumResY are supported by your monitor (this will happen only if you have a very old monitor, for example I have here an old monitor that allows a maxium resolution of 800x600)

There are also other config files where you can change other things, but be sure that you know what are you doing.

ph_1980
10-02-2004, 02:37 AM
I can't change the resolution to 800x600 and 1024x768 in Myst 4

The configuration tool also does not detect my videocard or videocard memory

I have a geforce fx 5600 with 256MB RAM

Any help?

Equisilus
10-02-2004, 04:26 AM
Not sure if this will help, but there's a file called detect_config.ini in the bin subdirectory in the path where you installed Myst IV. In that file you'll see something like this:

[Detection.GameOptions]
MaximumResX=1024
MaximumResY=768
SuggestedResX=800
SuggestedResY=600
GraphicsQuality=2

I have my game set at 1024x768 (as you can see), so perhaps you can edit this file directly and see if it works for you. Save a backup of the file to switch back to in case it messes something up (although config files are usually editable in this fashion).

Equisilus
10-03-2004, 04:48 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/353.gif Almlys, did you notice that the time/date of your reply is actually before my post? Is this a forum issue or a problem with your account (or with mine, although my date was correct for when I posted)? Makes it hard to find threads when you are going by date of replies and the reply pushes the thread to the bottom of the page rather than the top. Erg. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

Almlys
10-03-2004, 05:28 AM
Sorry, it was an infopop/eve bug, some replyes that I did where pushed to the bottom of some forums.

It is not my fault if a company likes to waste a lot of money on a buggy piece of forum software that ***** when they have several hundreds of alternative more stable solutions like Invision Power Board and other ones.

pschwar777
10-03-2004, 07:30 AM
What are the various resolutions that Myst 4 can support? Can it do 1280x1024 ?

AFGNCAAP
10-03-2004, 08:11 AM
1024x768 is the max resolution

pschwar777
10-03-2004, 01:56 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by AFGNCAAP:
1024x768 is the max resolution <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Bleh, that's garbage, especially for us with LCD monitors that require a higher resolution. 1024x768 on a 1280x1024 LCD screen looks blurry.

gr0ss
10-04-2004, 06:26 AM
Yes, it sux mightily. But this has been discussed heatedly and Maztec has put the query to Ubisoft, perhaps a patch can cure this ridiculous oversight.

maztec
10-04-2004, 02:24 PM
Has anyone tried setting the MaximumResX/MaximumResY values to 1600x1200 or some other value to see what happens? Does the game load? Might want to set the suggested values that way also.. Poke around and see if you can actually set the values perse for that...


Hmmm, hopefully they allow a windowed mode or something similar in a patch, we'll see. Haven't got a lot of info back on this yet. And thanks gr0ss http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Almlys
10-04-2004, 02:56 PM
Windowed mode eehh http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

If you have the demo, do this, it's simple.

Copy and paste the game.dsc file from the "path_to_the_demo/bin/" to "path_to_the_full_game/bin/"

And now edit that file, and change the "full_screen ( true )" line to "full_screen ( false )"

Also, remove "demo" from the window title.

Seems that is working, but not officially supported.

This file is not present in my full installation, but seems that the game is still reading it.

If you don't have the demo, the game will succesfully start in windowed mode only creating a file called game.dsc in the bin folder where the game is installed with these contents.

"path_to_full_game/bin/game.dsc"
<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre">
{graphic
full_screen ( false )
}
</pre>

There may be other things hidden in the config files....

maztec
10-04-2004, 03:46 PM
AWESOME ALMLYS http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

You rock.