PDA

View Full Version : Oleg please let us configure the units used for the speedbar



XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 12:26 AM
I know this has been asked before, but I really don't have the time to be doing conversions between km and miles in the middle of a dogfight. This has to be an easy programing task for anyone who can develop a piece of software as complex as IL2. Also, the speedbar is not about realism (since when do WWII planes come with a nice red digital speedbar). It is about playability. And for those of used to thinking in terms of miles when performing combat manuvers it is very uncomfortable to use km. So could you please if you haven't already done so in the patch have one of your developers add a switch in the ini file to change the units used by the speedbar. You could switch between km, miles, and any other commonly used unit that should be added.

It is a small thing to ask for that I think if implemented should please a lot of your customers and fans.

Sincerely,

Snoop Baron

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 12:26 AM
I know this has been asked before, but I really don't have the time to be doing conversions between km and miles in the middle of a dogfight. This has to be an easy programing task for anyone who can develop a piece of software as complex as IL2. Also, the speedbar is not about realism (since when do WWII planes come with a nice red digital speedbar). It is about playability. And for those of used to thinking in terms of miles when performing combat manuvers it is very uncomfortable to use km. So could you please if you haven't already done so in the patch have one of your developers add a switch in the ini file to change the units used by the speedbar. You could switch between km, miles, and any other commonly used unit that should be added.

It is a small thing to ask for that I think if implemented should please a lot of your customers and fans.

Sincerely,

Snoop Baron

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 01:56 AM
Are you really thinking about the conversion when flying? Don't. Just know the speeds for your aircraft and don't think about feet, yards, meters, kilometers, miles or nautical miles.
Look at it from the perspective that for example 90 is stall speed, your aircraft will break apart at 400 and so on... It quite simple..

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 02:27 AM
cannot see any harm in it


though I must say real-time pilots (here at least)are continually swapping between aircraft in km or knots and (more rarely) MPH with very little hastle .. as the previous post states .. the numbers for the particular plane matter not the units

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 02:42 AM
I don't do the conversions while I'm flying because I don't have the time to think about it. That is the problem. So for now I have had to live with the current speedbar. But, it would be nice to get the speedbar in the units I'm most familiar and comfortable with. I have survided thus far with having to deal with kilometers. But it is not the same and compared to the amount of work it would take to make this change it takes more time to adapt to the new metrics. I don't want to have to read docs in miles and then convert them to kilometers and remember those figures while flying.

Think about it this way. Yes the current speedbar is workable as you pointed out. But, the time it takes for those of us used to something other than kilometers, even just one of us (I'm sure there are *many*), is most likely less than the time it would take to code in a simple conversion with a flag in an ini file. So why not do it? It's a little thing that I think a lot of us will appreciate.

Thanks,
Snoop


jmmoric wrote:
- Are you really thinking about the conversion when
- flying? Don't. Just know the speeds for your
- aircraft and don't think about feet, yards, meters,
- kilometers, miles or nautical miles.
- Look at it from the perspective that for example 90
- is stall speed, your aircraft will break apart at
- 400 and so on... It quite simple..
-
-



Snoop Baron

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 03:14 AM
Snoop_Baron wrote:
- Also,the speedbar is not about realism (since when do
- WWII planes come with a nice red digital speedbar).
- It is about playability. And for those of used to
- thinking in terms of miles when performing combat
- manuvers it is very uncomfortable to use km.
-
- It is a small thing to ask for that I think if
- implemented should please a lot of your customers
- and fans.
-
- Sincerely,
-
- Snoop Baron

Strongly concur with this...


Regards,
HerrBaron

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 04:13 AM
This thread is an Embarassment.http://www.boardy.de/images/smilies/kopfpatsch.gif


In engineering class here in USA, students whine when teacher gives question in English units. Once you have basic physics course, and all physics everywhere now taught in metric, all USA people learn to ~hate~ English units in USA engineering class.

Basically, once you are Forced to do metric, you don't wanna go back.

I can see Soviet pilots whining about having to learn miles/hour and feet on their Lend~Leace aircraft but I don't think they did cos the radios they got made them so happy they didn't care--but I just laugh at Noob FB whiners who claim they can't learn metric. *ugh* its so Embarassing to be on the same webboard.



Message Edited on 07/22/0303:19AM by LEXX_Luthor

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 04:54 AM
actually you will find the ASI in the hurricane actually reads in knots not MPH http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 05:47 AM
-- actually you will find the ASI in the hurricane actually reads in knots not MPH /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Sorry, I failed to specify which type of miles/hour. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif I admit it. GUILTY.

My largest FB Bash is *why* there is a speedbar at all? A simple Instant Instrument View with return to previous view upon key releace (like in all Flanker x.y) will more realistically. and immersively, model peeking into cockpit to see the instruments.

It will be interesting debate if Padlock should be broken when doing this. Flanker did not break Pad, but i think glancing at instruments should do so. Taking eyes off enemy in tight fight is not a good idea. One thing we can't do in sim is "feel" the airplane. I think that is how the better pilots flew in a tight fight...by feel and with less need to see the basic instruments.

Actually, I will certainly prefer native units on cockpit displays for western sims. Also, native language. Its a good way to be Forced to learn a little new stuff. Non~western simmers would be forced to learn a few English language and units if they wish to fly USA/UK aircraft for those nations.

FB is already teaching me some new things...like proper spelling of "Releace." /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

It will be interesting to see webboard discussion vary between english and metric when comparing vehicles of differing countries, like say UK and Germany.

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 04:47 PM
Lexx,

It is your attitude that is an embarrassment. I see no need for it. I think we can safely assume that large number of people who would like to display units in something other than km already know the metric system. You don't have to even be an engineer today to have been exposed. I for one grew up in Germany (9 years) and my physics courses in high school and college were taught using metric units (I got my bachelors in Comp. Sci.).

Yes, the metric system is better designed. Yes, it is easy to learn. But, that is not what is in question here. This is about an individual's preference for units while flying their favorite flightsim.

Everyday when I drive to work I think in MPH not in KPH even tough both are clearly displayed on my speedometer. I've grown accustom to thinking in MPH when it comes to speed. Most of the literature I read uses MPH. It is what I am used to; it is my native system with all its inconsistencies and warts. Just because I know the metric system and it is superior doesn't change any of that.

Since, I know I am not a lone, and by all reasonable estimates this would not be a difficult change, I can see no good reason not to do it. Some miss placed sense of superiority is definitely not a good reason to leave it as is.

I hope you see where we are coming from.

Regards,
Snoop



LEXX_Luthor wrote:
- This thread is an Embarassment.<img
- src="http://www.boardy.de/images/smilies/kopfpatsc
- h.gif"> -
-
- In engineering class here in USA, students whine
- when teacher gives question in English units. Once
- you have basic physics course, and all physics
- everywhere now taught in metric, all USA people
- learn to ~hate~ English units in USA engineering
- class.
-
- Basically, once you are Forced to do metric, you
- don't wanna go back.
-
- I can see Soviet pilots whining about having to
- learn miles/hour and feet on their Lend~Leace
- aircraft but I don't think they did cos the radios
- they got made them so happy they didn't care--but I
- just laugh at Noob FB whiners who claim they can't
- learn metric. *ugh* its so Embarassing to be on the
- same webboard.
-
-
-
-
-
- Message Edited on 07/22/03 03:19AM by
- LEXX_Luthor



Snoop Baron

XyZspineZyX
07-22-2003, 05:10 PM
-- I hope you see where we are coming from.

Yes I do see where you are coming from, as you failed to cut and paste my second post here. Although I will grant my pubic embarassment over this issue is mostly from the fact that nobody is questioning why a speedbar is needed in any flight sim. They hide behind wanting different units for speedbar. Sheep in sheepskin. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 12:04 AM
Hey, you just keep that <u>pubic</u> embarassment to yourself, man.

XyZspineZyX
07-23-2003, 12:26 AM
Hey, its not fair putting me on pubic show trial.

XyZspineZyX
07-25-2003, 12:10 AM
bump hopefully Oleg will see this

Snoop Baron