PDA

View Full Version : Is my internet connection speed...?



Grand_Armee
08-31-2007, 12:45 AM
I'm in my trusty steed, and my favorite view is before me... Yes, I'm on the six of a Spitfire! I'm squeezing the trigger, and a stream of lethal cannon shells are about to impact with the foe...

What ho??? He's pulled some mind bending maneuver that looks physically....well, hell it is physically impossible... and my stream of hot death pierces the sky and nought else.

In fact, for a split second, his spitfire has disappeared from my eyesight completely and appeared (at a different angle of travel) to the right of where I have aimed.

So, I have to know. I have to ask if connection speed matters or not? I have ADSL at which claims to be moving at 100.0 Mbps. My ISP claims I can get even faster ADSL....at ONLY twice the cost. Of course...I ain't buyin'. You'd think the A-holes could just give it since I'm already on a contract.

However, I ask again, am I being killed easier by some punk because his daddy got him a cable internet connection?

Finally, and God Bless it, I'm living in Australia where it is said our internet infrastructure is a bit behind the rest of the free world. Am I screwed unless I play people from this corner of the globe? You'd be surprised how few IL-2 servers there are down here.

MrMojok
08-31-2007, 01:40 AM
First make sure no memory-hogging TSRs are running. There are programs like enditall and FSStartup(I don't remember that one's exact name) that can help you to ensure only the necessary programs are running when you are ready to fly.

I disable my antivirus program and my zonealarm firewall before i connect to HL.

Also you can use sites like Internet Speedometer (http://us.mcafee.com/root/speedometer/default.asp) to see how fast your connection is really running.

K_Freddie
08-31-2007, 02:07 AM
You have minor problems... Usually at a critical moment, my whole family wants my attention and I can usually fog them off quickly to recover.. BUT MY 9 YEAR OLD KEEPS ON TALKING IN MY EAR http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif no matter how much I try he won't go away.

As I crash/get shot down :- ARrrrrgggggggHHHHHHH... How many times http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif... Yes! my boy what is it? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

whiteladder
08-31-2007, 02:33 AM
So, I have to know. I have to ask if connection speed matters or not? I have ADSL at which claims to be moving at 100.0 Mbps. My ISP claims I can get even faster ADSL....at ONLY twice the cost. Of course...I ain't buyin'. You'd think the A-holes could just give it since I'm already on a contract.


Warping can be caused by lots of things, on your pc, the server you are playing on and your oppenents pc.

First thing to check is the ping your are getting to the server you play on ( press S by default in game and your ping and everyone elses is displayed). I play on spits and 109`s and average around 92, if you are getting 350+ to the server you are joining you may have problems. Probably more important is that your ping doesn`t fluctuate, if sits around 100 and it spikes up a lot( the connection speed bar in the top right hand corner in game is a good indecation of this) you and your oppenents will see a lot of warping. Of cause you could be fine but if the person you are trying to attack has a high/fluctuating ping you have the same problem.

A quick point on your internet connection speed, what a lot of people don`t realise is that your connection to a IL2 server is made up of a number of hops each of which take an amount of time to traverse. Each packet has to make a number of hops to get to its destination, the first hop from your pc to the first router along the way may not be the slowest link, so therefore increasing the speed of your connection may not significantly improve your ping to a server.

major_setback
08-31-2007, 02:51 AM
I used to get accused of cheating a lot because my plane would warp a little everytime I pressed F6 to see who was shooting at me. Lowering my graphics settings helped a LOT (medium lanscape detail, medium object detail etc), as well as getting a new computer and a very fast connection.
It always seemed worse on servers on the other side of the atlantic (not surprisingly).

You could even try shooting people who don't use F6! :-)..or flying on servers with that funtion disabled.

major_setback
08-31-2007, 02:58 AM
Originally posted by MrMojok:
First make sure no memory-hogging TSRs are running. There are programs like enditall and FSStartup(I don't remember that one's exact name) that can help you to ensure only the necessary programs are running when you are ready to fly.

I disable my antivirus program and my zonealarm firewall before i connect to HL.

Also you can use sites like Internet Speedometer (http://us.mcafee.com/root/speedometer/default.asp) to see how fast your connection is really running.

FSAutostart is the one! It really cuts out those microstutters.

Links might be dead, but you should be able to find it somewhere using Google, if not try Microsoft Flight sim forums/sites, it's been used for that sim for years:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/320...201029173#3201029173 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/3201029173?r=3201029173#3201029173)

blairgowrie
08-31-2007, 04:00 AM
Or I can email you a copy of FS Autostart if you like. I use it all the time and host for as many as 32 players.

Irish_Rogues
08-31-2007, 06:31 AM
Hey BG - What kind of speeds do you get from your connection?

blairgowrie
08-31-2007, 01:29 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v41/blairgowrie/Speedtest.jpg


This is 5.3mhz high speed wireless. I have a 100ft tower beside my house that goes to another tower 15 miles away and then into fibre optics.

neural_dream
08-31-2007, 01:42 PM
bg, the bandwidth capacity of your line has little to do with the packet delay and loss percentage which matters in online gaming. Nowadays everyone has enough bandwidth to play a game (56kbps for real-time strategy and less than 384kbps for flight sims and shooters). The problems start when your connection to the game's server has high ping or packet loss.

blairgowrie
08-31-2007, 01:49 PM
I am sorry neural_dream but I thought he asked what kind of speeds I got from my connection. How do I find packet delay? Is that the ms figure?

neural_dream
08-31-2007, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by blairgowrie:
I am sorry neural_dream but I though he asked what kind of speeds I got from my connection. How do I find packet delay? Is that the ms figure?
Indeed he did. It's a common misconception. I'm not sure what ms you refer to, but it's most probably what you want, as packet delay is measured typically in milliseconds. It depends on the server you connect to and you can measure it in real time by typing "ping xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx", where xxx's the IP of the server, or "ping www.whatever.com (http://www.whatever.com)".
In a flight sim, the ping time should be no more than 120ms to enjoy a smooth game. In real-time strategy it can be 220 and in first person shooters it is ok to have up to 100 or so. For Voice-over-IP calls it should be below 150ms etc. In IL2 online servers the people who cause lag and are often kicked out by the server have ping constantly over 500ms (e.g. Chinese pings are often over 2000) or have wildly oscillating ping (usually below 200, but with periodical 1000+ms spikes)

Irish_Rogues
08-31-2007, 03:17 PM
I asked because he hosts 32 player co-ops and I was wondering what kind of bandwidth that requires.

Thanks BG

Grand_Armee
08-31-2007, 03:31 PM
Ok guys, thanks for your thoughts and answers. Now let me describe my situation a little better:

As I said, I live in Australia. I've seen three servers down here, but rarely are they active when I'm able to play. At the best one I have a ping of 30ms.

So, forced to look further afield I also have to pick servers that have some people in them. Hard to get kills when you're alone.

So, my selection is usually limited to Zeke-v-wildcat, spit-v-109, Warclouds wf, and if I just want to get scrappy with few rules, skies of fire. For all of these my ping is 260-290-ish.

To the UK-dedicated servers I have a ping of 350-390, so I see little point. THere are a lot with Euro-names that I have timeout with.

While we're here, I have a question on coops that I see at hyperlobby. When I see the list of pilots, I see some have green bars and some red. I'm assuming I have little or no connectivity to those with red bars. What happens when you join these?

neural_dream
08-31-2007, 06:00 PM
Originally posted by Irish_Rogues:
I asked because he hosts 32 player co-ops and I was wondering what kind of bandwidth that requires.

Thanks BG

32 * 128 = about 4 Mbits upload out of the 15 he has (impressive - mine is 24Mbits download, but only 2 upload).