PDA

View Full Version : conf.ini Help



pendragon1984
11-22-2004, 06:43 PM
Greetings, all. I've quickly slapped together a temporary account to (as the title of this thread would suggest) get a little help deciphering the conf.ini file. If it's important, I'm running the FB+AEP+PF merged version patched to verson 3.01, and I tend to play using the "new" startup method.

Ideally I'd like a link to a site that can explain the entire thing, but barring that there are two entries I'm wondering about in particular. Namely, "HighGore" and "Arcade". I can take a guess at what the latter does, but I'd also like to know how it differs from manually turning off the realism switches. HighGore is where I'm more fuzzy, as I've tried it at both 0 and 1 (I'm assuming it's an on-or-off setting and not incrimental) and didn't really notice an appreciable change. What exactly does HighGore do, and assuming I'm erring on the side of realism, which setting should I use?

Thanks in advance to the Forum Goers, and a big fat "S!" to Oleg and Co. for making one of the best games, let alone flight sims, of all time.

pendragon1984
11-22-2004, 06:43 PM
Greetings, all. I've quickly slapped together a temporary account to (as the title of this thread would suggest) get a little help deciphering the conf.ini file. If it's important, I'm running the FB+AEP+PF merged version patched to verson 3.01, and I tend to play using the "new" startup method.

Ideally I'd like a link to a site that can explain the entire thing, but barring that there are two entries I'm wondering about in particular. Namely, "HighGore" and "Arcade". I can take a guess at what the latter does, but I'd also like to know how it differs from manually turning off the realism switches. HighGore is where I'm more fuzzy, as I've tried it at both 0 and 1 (I'm assuming it's an on-or-off setting and not incrimental) and didn't really notice an appreciable change. What exactly does HighGore do, and assuming I'm erring on the side of realism, which setting should I use?

Thanks in advance to the Forum Goers, and a big fat "S!" to Oleg and Co. for making one of the best games, let alone flight sims, of all time.

Tully__
11-22-2004, 07:41 PM
The HighGore setting gives extra blood effects and an injured pilot model in the He-111, one of the Bf109's (F2 IIRC) and the Russian flying boat. There are no "HighGore" visual effects for the other aircraft so you wont see anything in them.

I believe it also makes some of the SubTitles a bit more graphic in their description of the pilot's injuries. Values are 1 for on, 0 for off.


The Arcade setting is probably not what you'd expect. It makes no difference to the flight or damage models.

When on, when your bullets hit a target the hits are shown as arrows lodged in the target showing location and angle of the bullet strike. If the bullet is a cannon shell or there are secondary explosions, the shrapnell paths are also shown. This can be really handy for analysing your gunnery.

There is another feature with the arcade setting that lives up to the name. When any target is hit, the thoughts/words of the crew of that target are shown with really cheesy comic strip style speech balloons. It has to be seen to be believed http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

NegativeGee
11-22-2004, 07:51 PM
Welcome pendragon1984 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

In answer to your questions:

HighGore is an old setting that goes way back to the days of IL-2 and has little use now. It controls blood graphics which display on cockpits when pilots are injured. It only ever applied to a few planes (He-111, Bf-109 and a few others IIRC). It no longer works, I think it was omitted when FB came out to get a 12 ESRB rating.

Arcade controls the display of projectile and fragment arrows as well as aircraft condition voice bubbles. Its a useful way of knowing what happened (like when watching a track of a mission) because you can see exactly where you scored damage etc.

Edit: That Tully guy sneaking in as usual http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

pendragon1984
11-22-2004, 11:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tully__:
The Arcade setting is probably not what you'd expect. It makes no difference to the flight or damage models.

When on, when your bullets hit a target the hits are shown as arrows lodged in the target showing location and angle of the bullet strike. If the bullet is a cannon shell or there are secondary explosions, the shrapnell paths are also shown. This can be really handy for analysing your gunnery.

There is another feature with the arcade setting that lives up to the name. When any target is hit, the thoughts/words of the crew of that target are shown with really cheesy comic strip style speech balloons. It has to be seen to be believed http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm going to end up playing with that for hours, I can just feel it! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NegativeGee:
Edit: That Tully guy sneaking in as usual <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Would that be the forum version of getting bounced?

Thanks again, you two. It never ceases to amaze me how friendly and helpful the flight sim community is! Compare many years in three Air Warrior titles, Red Baron 3D, and the IL2 series with just half an hour in a CounterStrike server and you'll know exactly what I mean...