PDA

View Full Version : Magneto Selection



SeminoleX
12-27-2004, 09:48 AM
Has anyone ever found any practible use for being able to select magnetos?

I turned both off once accidentially with almost catastrophic results before I could turn them back on and restart the engine. Other than that, http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_redface.gif I have yet to encounter a situation where I could make use of the magneto selectability feature.

tsisqua
12-27-2004, 09:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SeminoleX:
Has anyone ever found any practible use for being able to select magnetos?

I turned both off once accidentially with almost catastrophic results before I could turn them back on and restart the engine. Other than that, http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_redface.gif I have yet to encounter a situation where I could make use of the magneto selectability feature. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I see this as an added "reality" feature. In a real AC, you must simply make sure that magnetos are engaged and working. Magnetos in this game are fairly useless, unless there is a way to start a mission with mags off, requiring you you to turn them on to start the engines.

Random failures of systems are not modelled, so imho, mags are superfluous feature.

Tsisqua

Dammerung
12-27-2004, 09:58 AM
It's just sort of "There" in a real plane, you use them to start the engine. But to turn it off, you push the Mixture all the way in (0%). For them to be any use, they'd have to be used to start the engine.

jeroen-79
12-27-2004, 10:07 AM
To keep an engine running you need three things:
-Fuel
-Air
-Ignition
Take away one of these and the engine will stop.

Cutting off the fuel supply is the cleanest method, because no fuel enters the engine during shutdown less residue remains.

tsisqua
12-27-2004, 10:08 AM
When you do a runup in a real plane, you have to test the mags by shutting them off, one at a time, then look for a drop in rpm indicating that the mag that you shut off had been working. The plane will indeed fly with one operational mag, and the second is a backup. There's not even a need for this in the game, since they are always working. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Daiichidoku
12-27-2004, 12:12 PM
Yup, we also need tits on a bull and a s s h o l e s on our elbows go go along with magnetos in FB