PDA

View Full Version : New to IL2 - Hello and a couple of questions

riggs_SC
03-23-2008, 11:16 AM
Hi folks. I'm completely new to IL2 Sturmovik 1946...and what an EXCELLENT sim it is!

Been playing for about two weeks now, mostly practicing takeoffs and landings, using Zeus-cat's "Straight From the Farm" missions and more recently the FMB where I've learned how to load a map and place an aircraft of my choosing on available runways.

BTW, thank you Zeus-cat for your practice missions. I haven't explored all of them yet, but the first few gave me quick access to practicing takeoffs and landings (in a forgiving aircraft) and they were very helpful and also very well done http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Now I'm beginning to use the QMB to set up scenarios where I can shoot at stuff. Easy targets for now...bombers and transports.

At this point I have a couple of questions I hope the members of the community can help me with.

(1) Certain aircraft don't seem to be able to fire by default (dont have bullets, cannons) when I use the FMB to practice takeoffs and landings. I load up a map, pick my aircraft, set it for "takeoff," checkmark the "player" box, save mission and then play it. When the mission loads, my aircraft appears on the runway ready for takeoff, but when I pull the trigger, no bullets, no cannons, nothing happens. Most aircraft I place on the runway DO fire, but certain ones do not. I think I've even tried the same "non-firing" aircraft in the QMB, to see if the same thing happened, and I think it did. The quick mission puts me in the sky, I pull the trigger to see if the cannons work...nope...no ammo. Not sure if I remember which ones weren't firing...I think the La5 fn and another. Can somebody tell me what's going on there and how to get them firing?