PDA

View Full Version : I tweaked the snot out of my machine this morning



BaldieJr
01-13-2005, 01:29 PM
Now I have no stutters http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I used this:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=951

What I did: I matched my graphics cards' latency to my north bridges' latency.

Then I matched my IDE controllers latency to my south bridges' latency.

Lastly, I set my sound card to match everything else (I think it was 32).

Result: Much smother game, and after setting the game to use soundlbaster live! / proper card in il2setup, the sound is AWESOME.

STOP! READ MORE OF THIS THREAD BEFORE YOU ATTEMPT!

You should attempt to set graphics, sound, network all to 64 first, and if nothing freaks out, try 32. If the game gets worse, go back to 64.

Udidtoo
01-13-2005, 01:50 PM
Baldie, I'll understand if you need to laugh at me and I'll give you 20 or so for asking such a goof question, especially as I'm pretty sure I know this but I'm medicated. How does one determine if 16 or 32 is the better choice . I have the Audigy 2 zs myself.I,ve never really tried to see if I notice a stutter improvement with the 2 choices just sound quality.

FoolTrottel
01-13-2005, 01:54 PM
Congratulations!

When I try to set my TI-4200 PCI latency from 248 to 64 and set it to 'load/run at startup' and the pc starts up it says ...'Could not load driver'...

Oh well, I should be happy my rig does not like any kind of tweaking, or any overclocking.... it saves me a lot of time...
SouthBridge ... NorthBridge... Mine is 'a Bridge too far' (It's a funny joke to me 'cos I live in the city a large part of that movie was filmed at... and it was not Arnhem ;-)

(The only real tweaking that gave me a lot better FPS was switching from Perfect to Excellent ;-)

BaldieJr
01-13-2005, 01:58 PM
Oops.

Howie A
01-13-2005, 02:27 PM
I went through the first 8 pages of their forum and the majority are seeing improvement. It appears setting the vga compatible value causes the greatest results. Most have derived improvement from 32, 64 or 128. Also, check apply for it to set at start up; sometimes it still won't set and you have to manually change it before playing. Below is one of the more informed posts...

To everyone wondering how to set this,,,,If your pci latencey was at 32, leave it. If your agp was like 248 for nvidia. and 255, for ati, just set it to 64. I read where the ati cards force it back to 255, but theres a registry tweak to keep it from happening....I posted a link above that explains it pretty darn good...or just do a google on ATI video card latency, or something like that...There is plenty info on the topic..If you have an EVGA 6800GT..in the owners manual, they recommend setting it to 128....I did just that. I wasn't having any troubles, but my sound improved,,everywhere ! ... you just need to try 128 and 64..See what works best for your setup. It's not gonna give you better benches or anything, it will just even things out so that the video card won't have an opportunity to hog the bus....Smoother performance..not faster, just better. and less static and stutter in 3D games. Thats how I understand it...

tsisqua
01-13-2005, 04:29 PM
What was the tweak for the ATI cards? I can't find it over there.


Oh, and thanks a million http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
Tsisqua

carguy_
01-13-2005, 05:30 PM
I didn`t manage to read through it all so I ask what are bad side effects?Cuz there are always some.

SlickStick
01-13-2005, 06:00 PM
The downside is that latency is how long a device can hold the bus to get information, before it has to let the next device have it.

If you set it too fast, you might not leave enough delay for data to be accessed, causing stutters because it didn't get all of the data.

baldie, what do you make of this? If you would please...

http://img52.exs.cx/img52/7843/latency4vc.jpg

I set AGP to 64, but just curious as my South Bridge is 000, and my IDE is 32. I wouldn't want to set IDE to 0, correct? Anything else you would recommend, guilt-free? I read in the readme that a value of 000 or 008 most likely means not adjustable.

I've already seen an amazing improvement in sound, both in PF and AEP, though. Thanks for the link. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

tsisqua
01-13-2005, 06:25 PM
Got'er working http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

That's much nicer, and I think this is a keeper!


Thanks Again, my bald brother. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Tsisqua

T_O_A_D
01-13-2005, 06:32 PM
Ah cripes, I'm going to be tired tommorrow. Worked a 12 hour day today and will again tommorrow and you go and post something like this http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif I'm going to be up way to late now http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

BaldieJr
01-13-2005, 06:57 PM
Always try to go as low as you can, and do it for all gaming devices (sound, network, video, agp).


The magic numbers always calculate to greater than 32 and less than 64.

If you have an audigy (possibly even Live!) you will be blown away by the default sound settings in this sim. The subtle details are simply awesome, and this tweak helps bring them out.

jetsetsam
01-13-2005, 07:12 PM
All of my settings are at 00 or 64, except for the ati settings. It was 255 and I highlighted that setting, clicked on New latency and set it to 64, then clicked on settings on the top bar and selected set at startup, as recommended for ati cards. Then restarted.

The game is perfectly smooth. Last night I was getting the occasional micro stutter related to speech and now nothing.

I've got my plantronics dsp 500 headset set to sensuara settings, even though its not, and the sound was already rocking my world, No change.

This is very easy to do and a noticeable improvement.

Thanks

SlickStick
01-13-2005, 07:26 PM
Thanks, baldie. Wow, the sound improvement and smoothness of the game now, really make me think we've hit the jackpot here. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

SeminoleX
01-13-2005, 08:45 PM
wOw!

Went back to perfect water and the hesitations are gone.

Now hearing sounds that I never did before like the clink when the drop tank is released for one.

Amazingly helpful thread.

Many thanks.

Hunter82
01-13-2005, 09:40 PM
Baldie if you have a A64 I got another one for ya

BaldieJr
01-13-2005, 09:56 PM
I do. Hooka brotha up.

FatBoyHK
01-14-2005, 12:27 AM
tried, don't see any improvement.....

MO_JOJO
01-14-2005, 12:56 AM
Okay, you guys knew this was coming. I can follow the directions, but what is latency, and what are we actually doing by changing the settings, in video, for example. If too complicated an answer, direct me to explanation, please. Thanks, salty ones.

Zneg1
01-14-2005, 01:54 AM
Ok its simple...Imagine a ferris wheel it keeps going up and down and around right? It has to stop though for load pasengers? Ok now the rotating wheel is your CPU and it needs to load or be 'interupted' to do its task. 'Latency' is how LONG each passenger stays on the wheel and get processed or run. Of course this is a simplified version since there is the architectural bus, chipset (north and south bridge), memory management units etc. It is nothing but making your computer handle 'interupts' faster or better so not NOT one passenger or process HOGs all the ride/processing time.

So if the latency of your video card is quite high, and the computer gets a command to say initiate sound and the video card is still hogging the CPU then the sound will suffer hence you'd get a stutter. This goes the same for the PCI bus since that is like a 'line' to the ferris wheel where all the other non-video process goes.

WOLFMondo
01-14-2005, 02:02 AM
I tried it and no ill effects. Will give it a proper bash this evening.

woofiedog
01-14-2005, 02:06 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif Fired this puppy dog up and it seems to be working fine.
I just need to run some Frame rates and do a little testing.
Thank's for the info BaldieJr!

TheGozr
01-14-2005, 02:53 AM
what happen when it's 000 ?

This is mine i didn't touch anything yet.

http://www.french.themotorhead.com/il2/images/latency.jpg

16? hum.. what more tweak can be done when it's set to 32 already?

F19_Ob
01-14-2005, 03:07 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
Now I have no stutters http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I used this:
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=951

What I did: I matched my graphics cards' latency to my north bridges' latency.

Then I matched my IDE controllers latency to my south bridges' latency.

Lastly, I set my sound card to match everything else (I think it was 32).

Result: Much smother game, and after setting the game to use soundlbaster live! / proper card in il2setup, the sound is AWESOME.

STOP! READ MORE OF THIS THREAD BEFORE YOU ATTEMPT!

You should attempt to set graphics, sound, network all to 64 first, and if nothing freaks out, try 32. If the game gets worse, go back to 64. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


****..I wish I was a techguy like u....I'm afraid I dont understand anything of it, although I very much liked the "no stutters" part.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif

SeaFireLIV
01-14-2005, 04:10 AM
Yep, I`ve been using this. Everything was already set to 64, except my GF4200, so I set that to 64 too. No problems, so i set it to 32. Don`t really see any difference, but certainly no worse.

Now, I think I`ll set my Audigy to 32 and see what falls out!

p.s, TheGozr , I think setting it to 000 might be a mistake, don`t ask me why, I just think it would be.

woofiedog
01-14-2005, 04:25 AM
My frame rates are more stable now... 8-9 the lowest and 28-32 being the highest.
But game ran about 11-17 most of game.
Very little studder even with heavy action.

Howie A
01-14-2005, 04:46 AM
Same here, very little stutter during heavy action, unlike before.

Gozr from the posts I read at their forum I wouldn't lower your vid card latency any more. It appears 32 is the lowest multitude of 8 they recommend.

Thankyou Baldie

Hunter82
01-14-2005, 06:00 AM
http://users.tpg.com.au/spark69/a64tweaker/a64tweaker_V031.zip

That's a memory tweaker I use for my FX53. Works with all A64 systems. You can play with all the memory settings including those controlled by the memory controller on the processor http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
I do. Hooka brotha up. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Udidtoo
01-14-2005, 06:41 AM
Baldie, wow! Most of my old stutter over large towns and multi concentrations over the palm trees,gone. The real wow is the sound. I would caution some. My change was so dramatic with my Audigy 2 that I really had to do some fast game screen changing I was afraid I was going to hurt my ear or my phones the 1st time I asked for a target heading, Again Baldie Wow!

tsisqua
01-14-2005, 07:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hunter82:
http://users.tpg.com.au/spark69/a64tweaker/a64tweaker_V031.zip

That's a memory tweaker I use for my FX53. Works with all A64 systems. You can play with all the memory settings including those controlled by the memory controller on the processor http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif


<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
I do. Hooka brotha up. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ahem . . .

Hunter, I knew that you techy type guys were holding out on us http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif,


Seriously, though:

Thanks, Mate! I just had such success with Baldie's latency tool that I can't wait till tonight to give this one a try too. A64 3200+ here, so this is for me too http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Tsisqua

TheGozr
01-14-2005, 11:18 AM
SO is it better setting everything at 32, 64 or live it like it is on the above picture.
thx

Hunter82
01-14-2005, 12:03 PM
The main reason I don't really post too many of those things lately is finding the time to follow up the threads. This time of year is a real killer for me on time so if you have any questions post them and I'll try and check later at night or early am.

I had been playing around with latencies for many years using powerstrip so it's an after thought to me lol. On the latency things guys if you get any crashes or lock ups you have probably gotten into the area of causing an infinite loop...in other words all instructions are stuck in the PCI bus. Then you would try setting latencies to different settings. I have used 0 and 41 on the creative cards with alot of luck (especially on nvidia stuff,their drivers are suseptable to infinite loop issues).

Hawgdog
01-14-2005, 01:18 PM
I had an infinite loop one time. But after a couple of months I got a divorce.

Hunter82
01-14-2005, 01:55 PM
that's a good move...they tend to get clingy to money and stuffs

TheGozr
01-14-2005, 03:17 PM
SO 32,64 or 0 best number?
thx

place everithing at 32? i mean all?
thx

Hunter82
01-14-2005, 03:20 PM
32

|CoB|_Spectre
01-14-2005, 03:36 PM
I may have to give this a shot, although I'm amazed at the performance I'm getting already from my highly dated XP1800 based system. I've been looking for a way to get the snot out of my computer and Baldie Jr. seems to have found a way...by tweakage!

WOLFMondo
01-14-2005, 04:10 PM
I set mine all to 32 and it seems to work pretty well. I played a few different games and all is well. One thing that didn't happen is occasionally when playing FB+Aces+PF online it totally freezes and never recovers which I have to ctrl+alt+del to close the program. After 3 hours on WC I didn't experiance this. Seems to be a good tweak.

T_O_A_D
01-14-2005, 07:34 PM
Here's mine before hand I will need to find this ATI tweak and then figure out how to use it first. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v37/T_O_A_D/Latencybeforetweakcopy.jpg

TheGozr
01-14-2005, 08:46 PM
SO i just want to be clear for me and for all looking at this post. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

All the zeros set to 032.? ALL

Correct?

BaldieJr
01-14-2005, 09:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by TheGozr:
SO i just want to be clear for me and for all looking at this post. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

All the zeros set to 032.? ALL

Correct? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Looking at your screenshot, yours is fine as is.

SeminoleX
01-14-2005, 10:12 PM
I spent the day really enjoying the smooth game play and above all the splendid sounds I now get from the Audigy 2 card. The nuances of sounds that this tweak brought are astounding.

I was so impressed with the sound that I ordered up a high end set of ear phones.

64 was the number for me. At 32 the stutters and hesitations reappeared.

This has to be one of the top tweak reccomendations seen... especially for the latest cards.

tsisqua
01-14-2005, 11:03 PM
This works for my SoundBlaster Live 5.1. I just heard a splash that was never audible before in one of my tracks, so I know its not my wishful thinking. My ATI card forces 255 on startup, so I have to set it on reboot. 64 seems the magic number for me as well. Yep, the stutters came back at 32.

I'm so happy with this thingy!!!!
Tsisqua

pourshot
01-14-2005, 11:27 PM
This is maybe one of the best tweaks I have ever used I accualy got a better score in 3Dmark03 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif. Something for nothing is allways good.

Thanks for the tip. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Fehler
01-15-2005, 02:49 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> Something for nothing is allways good.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Unless it's an STD! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

pourshot
01-15-2005, 02:59 AM
LOL

Longjocks
01-15-2005, 06:06 AM
Everything of mine was already at 0 or 32 except the AGP controller which was at 64 and the VGA controller (X800XT) which was at 255. I changed the latter to 64. Although I didn't see an improvement on frame rates during complex scenes, the stutters, normally particularly apparent during camera changes, were completely gone. Sweet stuff!

jetsetsam
01-15-2005, 07:23 AM
All the new sounds! It's like having a new game.

I can now hear the wind on the outside of the canopy, and when I open it the sound of the rushing wind gets louder, as it should. And when I turn my head to the left or right I can hear a rustling of the wind on the edge of the cockpit. And when the cockpit opens there is a click that wasn't there before.

And, and, and. This is very cool.

Lav69
01-15-2005, 07:47 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by tsisqua:
This works for my SoundBlaster Live 5.1. I just heard a splash that was never audible before in one of my tracks, so I know its not my wishful thinking. My ATI card forces 255 on startup, so I have to set it on reboot. 64 seems the magic number for me as well. Yep, the stutters came back at 32.

I'm so happy with this thingy!!!!
Tsisqua <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Make sure you not only check the apply at start up in settings but save when you make changes.

SeminoleX
01-15-2005, 08:09 AM
I can't identify a new sound that I'm hearing resulting from this tweak....not that I'm complaining...just wondering.

In the Dauntless, as pilot, looking left...or in the gunner's postion looking right...I hear a gurgling, burblinglike sound.

It's not the wind because as pilot the canopy is closed and it is only heard on the left side of the plane.

Anyone have a suggestion as to what it could be?

rickster3459
01-16-2005, 06:57 PM
I don't have a separate sound like an Audigy or whatever,my sound is integrated.Will this work with the inboard sound system?

Also,I download the program off the 3d Guru site,and it won't install as I get a driver error message.

Looks real interesting though!

ThreeCrow
01-16-2005, 07:42 PM
That would be my question also, ASUS Mobo with Soundstorm. I downloaded the tweaker but will wait and see if will affect this system.

Thanks Baldie.

rickster3459
01-16-2005, 07:44 PM
Finally!

I was able to open the program and changed my VGA from 255 to 64.I haven't noticed much of anything,yet.

Thanks again,S!

triggerhappyfin
01-17-2005, 02:08 AM
Amazed by the effect this little program had on my set. I set it all to 64, and I´m now able to play on perfect settings online, that on my P4 GHz, 512 RAM, Nvidia Ti 4600, with smooth performance. Sound has not been a very big issue of troubles for me but got some nice boost anyway. High rev milling on the engines are still not a really nice sound on most planes but throtteling back some gets the bass to shift wifes porcelain about in the cupboard http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif.

Flew the SPB and found an increase of prop sound, I´ve heard it before but now its more significant also the wind sound with canopy open is crisper. Ive got LIVE! Value card and using LiveDrvUni-pack drivers to fiddle with my 4-1 Altec Lansing speakers. I can feal the bass in the table and my pedals http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif.

XyZspineZyX
01-17-2005, 08:17 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SeminoleX:
I can't identify a new sound that I'm hearing resulting from this tweak....not that I'm complaining...just wondering.

In the Dauntless, as pilot, looking left...or in the gunner's postion looking right...I hear a gurgling, burblinglike sound.

It's not the wind because as pilot the canopy is closed and it is only heard on the left side of the plane.

Anyone have a suggestion as to what it could be? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That would the sound the pilot makes (rasberries) with his lips to make the plane go faster.

ThreeCrow
01-17-2005, 10:22 PM
It's a "Slow But Deadly"..... it not supposed to go faster. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

XyZspineZyX
01-17-2005, 11:23 PM
That's why the pilot is blowing rasberries.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Hawgdog
01-19-2005, 05:57 AM
Works for me. Haven't benchmarked it yet. But, the blackdeath track- the second run of the IL2 on the armor column, you know, the one that kicks your system in the crotch, my frames are averaging 28 in perfect and quality settings (ATI) used to dip to 9-10-11 for a micro second- no more, drops to 20. THATS incredible. Before the tweak I'd average 36fps, now its about 10fps less BUT far more stable.
Also, I got the new ATI drivers and the tweak-thing didnt reset itself after hunterstyle driver cleaning.

tsisqua
01-19-2005, 07:35 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Hawgdog:
. . . . . . Also, I got the new ATI drivers and the tweak-thing didnt reset itself after hunterstyle driver cleaning. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's exactly what I needed to know. Thanks, Hawgdog http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Tsisqua

LW_Stein
02-05-2005, 10:23 PM
Gonna try and see if theres any improvement.. i never tweaked anything on my computer yet. but this may very well be the first http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif

I might say "thx" in advance.. if my computer is shot to sh*t by it... muahahaha

And ehm.. fooltrottel...
I guess ya got to be from Deventer then... that's the bridge they used to film "a bridge too far"??? I'm in Apeldoorn

Nice to meet all of ya!

Cyas around..

Woof ~ Woof

LW_Stein

thefarb2
02-05-2005, 10:57 PM
wow!, I have always had stutters durring exploding of ordinance, all I did was change ati latency from 255 to 64 and no stutters durring exploding ordinance. and sound is better. fantastic. thank you so much.

FoolTrottel
02-06-2005, 03:51 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LW_Stein:
(...)
And ehm.. fooltrottel...
I guess ya got to be from Deventer then... that's the bridge they used to film "a bridge too far"??? I'm in Apeldoorn

Nice to meet all of ya!

Cyas around..

Woof ~ Woof

LW_Stein <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yes, itsa small world...