PDA

View Full Version : IL2: To which you prefer WIDE or No WIDE?



omsg
11-04-2006, 12:10 AM
http://www.highway.com.py/omsg/Wide-NotWide.jpg

1) To which you prefer WIDE or No WIDE?
and Because?
2) Which of both is good for IL2?

I wait for your opinions.

Best Regards!

-omsg-
-omsg- in WB
=GB40=omsg in IL2
CO of First Squadron Virtual of Paraguay: "Guarani B40" (English/Inglés)
Jefe del Primer Escuadron Virtual de Paraguay: "Guarani B40"(Español/Spanish)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v492/Guarani/GuaraniB40-250x250-2.gif

Beuf_Ninja
11-04-2006, 12:21 AM
I have TrackIR which makes the wide/not wide debate irrelevant in flight sims. But I would prefer a wide screen for shooters and driving games, all I have is a 17" CRT.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

"Thou actest right Ahab; live in the game and die in it."

LT.INSTG8R
11-04-2006, 12:55 AM
I recently purchased a new 20.1" LCD and I chose it because it was 4:3. I didnt feel like messing about with Widescreen ratios.1600x1200 suits me just fine<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

System Specs:
------------------
<A HREF="http://www.techpowerup.com/gallery/471" TARGET=_blank>AMD Opteron 170@2.6(1.42v)| Abit AT8 32X | 2x1024 OCZ EL DDR 500 Platinum XTC 3-3-3-8 1T 1:1(260@2.9v) | Sapphire X1900XTX+Crossfire | Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320G SATAII 16MB(PRT) | SB X-Fi Fatality | Seasonic M12 600W | Samsung Synchmaster 204B 20.1" LCD 5ms | Logitech Driving Force Pro | Logitech G5 | Logitech G15 | Saitek X-52 | TrackIR4 w/Trackclip Pro
Rig Pics courtesy of Techpowerup</A>

major_setback
11-04-2006, 04:08 PM
I might be wrong, but I don't think you see more using a wide screen. I think the opposite is true; it cuts off the top and bottom of the picture to fit the wider format (unsure though, so can anyone confirm this?)<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/major-setback/Signaurepic004BESTframe014small.jpg
<span class="ev_code_PINK">My Aim is True.</span>

XyZspineZyX
11-04-2006, 04:18 PM
No, it doesnt cut off the top and bottom to fit the screen. You just get the wider resolution in your game and you have a few extra degrees of vision on either side. A few in-cockpit shots to illustrate:

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f239/Skunk24/il2fb2006-08-1621-36-24-26.jpg

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f239/Skunk24/il2fb2006-08-2323-14-12-29.jpg

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f239/Skunk24/il2fb2006-07-2621-04-02-37.jpg



Notice how the speed bar is located where a normal 4:3 screen would put it. I've played Il2 on a 4:3 and a widescreen and would not go back to the 4:3. For the difference in price, I go wide.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f239/Skunk24/sig2.jpg
Escadron virtuel RCAF 438 (http://438cityofmontreal.googlepages.com)
<span class="ev_code_red"> Are you from Montreal? French is good? JOIN US! RCAF 438 "The City of Montreal"</span>

"You know, I've personally flown over 194 missions and I was shot down on every one. Come to think of it, I've never landed a plane in my life."

Ruy Horta
11-04-2006, 04:24 PM
You pretty much convinced me with these screenshots.

I mean *^&%!@$ these look much more realistic - as in terms of human vision, than I expected!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif
Ruy Horta

http://img212.imageshack.us/img212/7748/signaturecommunismih6.png

F0_Dark_P
11-04-2006, 04:28 PM
wide!, i have a "32 sony LCD HDTV that i am thinking of trying som il2 on, but i havent had the energy to do it yet http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/Nahoj/Spitsig.jpg

MonkeyHero
11-04-2006, 05:41 PM
IL2 actually does cut off the top and bottom of the screen if you're using a widescreen resolution, but it does position the map and all the other gui elements correctly. I use a 16:10 widescreen monitor and don't have any issue with this, but I do have trackIR.

Klemm.co
11-04-2006, 06:04 PM
There was a thread a while ago about this very subject which i don't care to dig up now. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

However there were some images showed that Il-2 not only cuts off the top and bottom of the image, but also places the map and speed bar at positions which suggested you that the image had been enlarged.

IIRC the sides also looked strange when flying through clouds.

For the comment that with Track IR there is no problem anymore whith the limited field of view, i have TIR too and i sometimes feel like i am looking through a small box at everything, i.e. i got no peripheral vision which having not can be very limiting at times.
To solve this though issue there would need to be virtual reality glasses (or something like that) and the game would need to be coded in a way they would be working properly.

Aviar
11-05-2006, 12:51 AM
Sorry Skumk241981, but major_setback and MonkeyHero are correct. The screenshots you posted do show the top and bottom of the screen cut off.

I have a 22" CRT and I am looking at a paused screen of my game right now with an F4U-1C, the same plane as in your first screenshot. I see more viewing area at both the top and bottom of my screen. For instance, I can easily see the second row of instruments, where your screenshot only shows the first row.

Furthermore, there are no "...few extra degrees of vision on either side..." in your screenshot, as you stated. Horizontally, my FOV is exactly the same as yours. I can see all 4 gun barrels, just like in yours.

Besides the top and bottom being cut off, the only difference I see in your screenshot is that the speedbar info is displayed a little further right than on my screen. This is what may be confusing you. The area to the left of YOUR speedbar does not give you any 'extra degrees of vision', as my screen shows exactly what yours does (horizontally).

Maybe someone with a non-widescreen setup can post a screenshot of the F4U-1C with the view zoomed all the way out. One picture is worth a thousand words...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Aviar<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

-----------------------------
Intel Core 2 Duo E6700
Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe
2GB DDR2-800 PC6400 Dual
PCI-E EVGA 7900GTX 512MB
Creative X-Fi
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
22" NEC MultiSync FE 1250+
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
CH FighterStick-Pro Throttle-Pro Pedals
TM Tacticalboard
GoFlight GF-T8 Module
-----------------------------

Fork-N-spoon
11-05-2006, 01:47 AM
Avia, here's your request. Test monitor is a Dell P1130 21" CRT at 1024x768

The top image is on my CRT and the bottom image is skunk241981's image

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/bolillo_quemado/1024x768.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/bolillo_quemado/1024x768a.jpg

I think I may have to actually see the difference to make a judgement call,
but Aviar is right, it simply cuts off the top and bottom to make it widescreen.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Blondes are for nancy boys. Stop the cruelty adopt a brunette today

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/bolillo_quemado/brunette.jpg

Vanderstok
11-05-2006, 02:09 AM
It's true that in widescreen the FOV seems to be lower than in 4:3, but don't worry about that, just select a larger FOV in the game.

If you want, you can experiment with widescreen with a 4:3 monitor. I tried using 1280x720 on my 1280x1024 monitor. It will display on the top of the monitor, on the bottom of you will see your desktop. Perhaps an idea to put UDPspeed there, so you have a nice dash too?

Anyway, I will definitely go for widescreen someday, it just feels much more natural / unrestricted.

These are my settings in conf.ini for widescreen on 1280x1024 LCD monitor:

[window]
FullScreen=1
ChangeScreenRes=0
width=1280
;height=1024
height=720
ColourBits=32
StencilBits=8
DepthBits=24
EnableResize=1
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
; saveaspect=1 keeps a 4:3 setup of screen
Use3Renders=0
DrawIfNotFocused=0

Vanderstok
11-05-2006, 04:31 AM
I took some screenshots and compared them. It seems I talked too fast: The FOV does not change when going to widescreen. To maintain the same FOV the top and bottom are cut off.
See the following pic. Red is 1280x720 widescreen, blue is 1280x960 (4:3) ,yellow is 1280x1024 (my default):

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l304/vanderstok/misc/fov_70.jpg

Note that the widescreen screenshot is not exactly in the middle of the 4:3 screenshot. Odd, because I didn't recall moving the viewpoint...

However, changing the FOV from 70 (standard) to 80 (or higher) results in more or less the same height displayed. You need to change the FOV, or you're not using the potential of the widescreen monitor I guess.

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l304/vanderstok/misc/fov_80.jpg <div class="ev_tpc_signature">

----------------------------------------------------
You can't fight in here....this is the War Room!!

Dr. Strangelove

XyZspineZyX
11-05-2006, 08:26 AM
Ok, so I was wrong...but you cant blame me, I havent used a 4:3 screen in over 6 months.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f239/Skunk24/sig2.jpg
Escadron virtuel RCAF 438 (http://438cityofmontreal.googlepages.com)
<span class="ev_code_red"> Are you from Montreal? French is good? JOIN US! RCAF 438 "The City of Montreal"</span>

"You know, I've personally flown over 194 missions and I was shot down on every one. Come to think of it, I've never landed a plane in my life."

Aviar
11-05-2006, 10:53 AM
It's true that in widescreen the FOV seems to be lower than in 4:3, but don't worry about that, just select a larger FOV in the game.

Unfortunately, that won't have any effect because I don't believe you can increase the maximum FOV from what the game will allow (90 degrees) at this time. The screenshots of the F4U above were taken at the maximum FOV.

Just as a note, the screen RESOLUTION that you play in does not affect the in-game FOV. For instance, your FOV is exactly the same in 800x600 as it is in 1600x1200....assuming the FOV setting is the same in both cases.

I do hope that BoB will support true widescreen capabilities. I think that in the near future widescreen monitors will be the norm. I'm sure Oleg is aware of this and will do the right thing...http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Aviar<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

-----------------------------
Intel Core 2 Duo E6700
Asus P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe
2GB DDR2-800 PC6400 Dual
PCI-E EVGA 7900GTX 512MB
Creative X-Fi
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
22" NEC MultiSync FE 1250+
Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard
CH FighterStick-Pro Throttle-Pro Pedals
TM Tacticalboard
GoFlight GF-T8 Module
-----------------------------

Vanderstok
11-05-2006, 11:54 AM
Unfortunately, that won't have any effect because I don't believe you can increase the maximum FOV from what the game will allow (90 degrees) at this time. The screenshots of the F4U above were taken at the maximum FOV.

Aviar

??? I don't understand...
In my post above you see that FOV=80 gives me about the same vertical view angle as FOV=70 for 4:3. And you can go to FOV=85 / 90 if you want more...<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

----------------------------------------------------
You can't fight in here....this is the War Room!!

Dr. Strangelove

Fork-N-spoon
11-05-2006, 12:29 PM
Could it be that this game doesn't scale to wide resolution screens well? Not too long ago, I sat my two 21" CRTs, a Dell P-1130 and a Dell D1626HT next to each other. I set the monitors to run as one horizontal display and used 3200x1600 as my resolution. Even though Ghost Recon is several years old, when I started the game it automatically detected the new resolutions and let me select 3200x1600 as my resolution, I didn?t have to key a thing in it was point and click. It didn?t crop my view one bit, but rather gave me a much larger panoramic view and things were very large! I could see things that were previously impossible to see because of the larger size. Granted the split screen view was impractical for game play, but it did give me an idea of what a large wide screen view was capable of. Ghost recon scaled to the large letter box screen on its own and looked fine, perhaps this game is limited? It was just a though, I really don?t know.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Blondes are for nancy boys. Stop the cruelty adopt a brunette today

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v358/bolillo_quemado/brunette.jpg

Copperhead310th
11-05-2006, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by F0_Dark_P:
wide!, i have a "32 sony LCD HDTV that i am thinking of trying som il2 on, but i havent had the energy to do it yet http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

WIDE!!! all the way.
I just got a ProView Flat panel 32" wide screen LCD with VGA's. AWSOME. totalay a new world.
Added wireless Keyboard & mouse and now i can fly in my lazyboy recliner. Only Problem is the sceen is too far away from what i'm used to. and Saitek dosen't make a wireles x-52. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/51.gif
I'm working on a flight sim chair now. that i can stash away in the spare room.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~jkinley/ubisig.jpg
Former CO of 310thVFS, (Retired) now part time
190 jock & full time target drone for JG27
http://premium1.uploadit.org/bsamania//2006-02-23_012924_pilot11.gif Flying on line as JG27_Copperhead

|^^^^^^^^^^^^|
| JG27_Copperhead | '|""";.., ___.
|_..._...______===|= _|__|..., ] |
"(@ )'(@ )""""*|(@ )(@ )*****(@
"Keep on Truck'n!"

horseback
11-05-2006, 06:51 PM
Gotta go wide. I have two computers that My sons and I play Il-2 on, one using my Olevia 26" LCD HDTV widescreen at 1280x720 @ 60Hz, and one using a 19" LCD @ 1280x1024 @ 80hz. Both are using the DVI input. It's no contest.

While the widescreen does have a cropped display, the sheer size hands me a big detail advantage. It only makes me wish I'd been able to afford the 32" HDTV...

cheers

horseback<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

"Here's your new Mustangs, boys. You can learn to fly'em on the way to the target. Cheers!" -LTCOL Don Blakeslee, 4th FG CO, February 27th, 1944