PDA

View Full Version : Here is a big fat bug for you to fix.



BaldieJr
07-30-2004, 12:16 AM
Engine selection is porked.

Try selecting an engine and setting its power level to 30 percent via the keyboard.

Now select another engine, or all engines.

See what happens? The newly selected engine jumps to the same power level as the last. Thats not how its supposed to work. Why bother having multiple engine selections if you can't tweak the power individually? Was it made this way with the sole purpose of forcing the user to press a bunch of buttons when starting the engine? Thats all its good for.

BaldieJr
07-30-2004, 12:16 AM
Engine selection is porked.

Try selecting an engine and setting its power level to 30 percent via the keyboard.

Now select another engine, or all engines.

See what happens? The newly selected engine jumps to the same power level as the last. Thats not how its supposed to work. Why bother having multiple engine selections if you can't tweak the power individually? Was it made this way with the sole purpose of forcing the user to press a bunch of buttons when starting the engine? Thats all its good for.

Hoarmurath
07-30-2004, 12:38 AM
this is not a bug... you should be deselecting the engines you don't want to change the settings... You just can't have different settings on engines selected at the same time...

http://hoarmurath.free.fr/images/sighoar.jpg (http://hoarmurath.free.fr/files/internationale-ru.mp3)
56Kers are strongly advised to NOT click on my signature http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Alexander_Seil
07-30-2004, 12:50 AM
Well, you can have different settings on multiple selected engines, but when you make any input, it applies to all the engines. If you want the settings to apply to, say, one engine out of four, unselect all engines, select (not toggle, but select/unselect) the desired engine and change the settings. Then deselect it and select the rest, if you don't want to touch that one for a while.

WOLFMondo
07-30-2004, 03:30 AM
You can definatly set it up for totally individual engine input. You can select individual engines, de select engines etc. I blew up a couple of Me262's trying to figure it out but it does work.

http://bill.nickdafish.com/sig/mondo.jpg
Wolfgaming.net. Where the Gameplay is teamplay (http://www.wolfgaming.net)
Home of WGNDedicated

VMF513_Sandman
07-30-2004, 05:22 AM
so could this set-up increase the 38's turn rate, or would it be a total cluster while in the 'arena'

WWMaxGunz
07-30-2004, 05:34 AM
In the difficulties there is a switch for seperate engine start.
Maybe that also controls power?
Or maybe the game engine cannot support seperate engine powers?


Neal

bazzaah2
07-30-2004, 05:40 AM
select left engine.

select right engine.

seclect both engines.

Sorry old man, not sure I understand your banter.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_05.gif

Crashing online as :FI:SpinyNorman

Rab03
07-30-2004, 06:55 AM
Game engine supports separate engine powers. With CEM and SES checked, it all works fine, till you hit Select all engines button and have stick throttle, because all engines will assume current power setting.

Never deselected an engine, simply selected other, and it worked just fine.

Targ
07-30-2004, 06:58 AM
Glad we cleared that up!!

------------------------------------
WingWalkers dedicated server info

http://simjunkie.com

http://simjunkie.com/images/sig.jpg

BaldieJr
07-30-2004, 11:53 AM
Its not a bug, its a design flaw.

Try banding some sliders to work multiple engines and you'll understand.

Something needs to be changed, however more axis mappings would be preferable over any other fix.

WUAF_Co_Hero
07-30-2004, 03:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VMF513_Sandman:
so could this set-up increase the 38's turn rate, or would it be a total cluster while in the 'arena'<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It should, but I hadn't seen evidence of it doing so. The ace's were very adept at using seperate engine power / pitch on each engine to achive maximum turn angles.

Build a man a fire, keep him warm for a day...

Set a man on fire, keep him warm for the rest of his life.

AnalFissure
07-30-2004, 03:40 PM
It's possible to do anything you want, but it's a real pain in the ***.

Once you select an engine, the engine(s) in question will assume all of your current control settings right away. So if you just cut power and mixture to the number 1 engine, for example, and then selected the number 2 engine, it would also cut out.

What you have to do is cut power and mix to the first engine -- THEN DESELECT ALL ENGINES -- and then return your power and mix settings to normal BEFORE you select the second. It's an awful hassle.

LEXX_Luthor
07-30-2004, 08:31 PM
For ease of use, I map my engine select keys...

PAGE UP......select all engines
PAGE DOWN......un~select all engines
INSERT......select engine 1
HOME......select engine 2
DELETE......select engine 3
END......select engine 4

To start/stop engine, I map that to /* on the Numeric Keypad. Having to hit both "/" and "*" at the same time prevents accidental turning engine off which happened to me all the time with the Default setting of "I" which I now use to toggle Icons.



__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

BSS_Vidar
07-30-2004, 10:36 PM
To fix this problem right, axis should be available for up to four engines. Throttle, Prop, and mixture axis to be more precise. Flying the Twins would be a dream with this hardware...

http://www.chproducts.com/retail/index.html

As a multi-engine rated pilot, this set-up is a dream. Works awesome with FS2002/04. Now if the combat sims would come out with the proper axis'.... INCLUDING toe brake axis.

BSS_Vidar

Alexander_Seil
07-30-2004, 11:17 PM
No specialized four-engine throttles? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

Besides, they've got no long-term perspective...suppose the Me-323 becomes flyable 8 months from now, what are the owners of that box gonna do then??? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/34.gif

BSS_Vidar
07-31-2004, 01:56 AM
Well, The set-up displayed on the left is a 4-engine jet set up. The red knobs could be anything from spoilers/speedbrakes to thrust reversers. Either only need one axis to be actuated just like a real jet. The set-up shown on the right is the standard complex twin-engine prop set-up: Black levers are the throttles, blue levers are the Prop pitch, and the red are the mixture.
The CH Manager is a very powerful software tool which allows you to set up maps for individual aircraft if you deem fit to do so.
CH Products makes the best stuff out there. They should... They make controls for actual certified flight sims.

BSS_Vidar

WWMaxGunz
07-31-2004, 06:55 AM
It may be cleanly possible using DeviceLink to have another program on your
PC or another PC on LAN go between your extra devices (throttles/buttons)
and the sim.


Neal

VF-17_Jolly
07-31-2004, 12:47 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BSS_Vidar:
To fix this problem right, axis should be available for up to four engines. Throttle, Prop, and mixture axis to be more precise. Flying the Twins would be a dream with this hardware...

http://www.chproducts.com/retail/index.html

As a multi-engine rated pilot, this set-up is a dream. Works awesome with FS2002/04. Now if the combat sims would come out with the proper axis'.... INCLUDING toe brake axis.

BSS_Vidar<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Agreed it`s a bit of an oversite to have twin and four engine aircraft available and not have multiple engine managment axis modeled(yes i know il2 is single engine) but when FB came out would it have been v difficult to add it in?

http://www.skyknights.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/jolly.jpg

NegativeGee
07-31-2004, 03:45 PM
This is a glass is half empty/glass is half full arguement.

Fact is the IL-2 series was not envisioned to incorporate multi-engined engined flayables, so we have a less than ideal control system for operating such configurations.

But its nice we have them at all as well http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So with with PF coming up including some more twins and the Ju-88/B-25 for FB, now seems a good time to revisit multiple engine controls........... I'm sure Oleg will happily put it the to do list.

We will waiting some time though http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

"As weaponry, both were good, but in far different ways from each other. In a nutshell, I describe it this way: if the FW 190 was a sabre, the 109 was a florett, or foil, like that used in the precision art of fencing." - G√ľnther Rall

http://www.invoman.com/images/tali_with_hands.jpg

Look Noobie, we already told you, we don't have the Patch!

Jippo01
08-01-2004, 03:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NegativeGee:
Fact is the IL-2 series was not envisioned to incorporate multi-engined engined flayables, so we have a less than ideal control system for operating such configurations.

But its nice we have them at all as well http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

So with with PF coming up including some more twins and the Ju-88/B-25 for FB, now seems a good time to revisit multiple engine controls........... I'm sure Oleg will happily put it the to do list.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oleg has promised to do that with Ju 88 a long time ago to me. He asked his programmers how difficult it is to add channels (axis') for multiple throttle controls, and they replied it wasn't a big deal.

So we may be hopeful, and conitinue waiting... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


-jippo

LeLv28 - Fighting for independency since 2002
http://www.lelv28.com

Falkster's Ju-88 fan site:
www.ju88.de.tf (http://www.ju88.de.tf)