PDA

View Full Version : What does it take to sink a Carrier?

BradC.
12-12-2005, 10:28 AM
Had a mission where I was defending my carrier vs 10 @ of Kates, Zekes and Vals and one of my two carriers took a torpedo right in the front... and was hit by at least 7 bombs. When it was all over, her smokestack and rear deck were belching smoke. But that was it.

Has anyone sunk a carrier? Do they list, break up, go down fast, what? Also, it seems to me the damage model (or however thats done) isnt detailed at all to show bomb or torpedo damage to ships. After a couple bomb hits, my carrier still looked fine and had no apparent damage textures or ill effects.

Oh, and this game rocks! I'm new to the game, just had it a few days and its super cool!

OT: Had my 1st oil on the glass windshield from popping a zero too close this morning... scared the hell out of me, thought my own engine exploded. I couldnt see **** cept a little spot right thru the target reticle.

Immediately requested landing... picked the undamaged carrier to land on, course I had taken engine damage by that time and my engine RPM was getting lower and lower... knew I didnt have much time...

My absolutely thrilling mission came to an abrupt halt after I barely managed to miss the arresting hook and flew off the carrier deck. Managed to splash down softly and make it out to fight another day. Didnt end it there, I watched the rest of the battle unfold from F2 views of all the other aircraft. Its like watching a freaking WW2 action movie! I love this game!

jds1978
12-12-2005, 10:33 AM
try a couple Tiny Tims aimed at the waterline of an IJN carrier....

I believe i've seen several carriers sink so far...they seem to go down quick once they get damaged fatally

Lord_Rhah
12-12-2005, 10:35 AM