PDA

View Full Version : Config.ini (FB+AEP+PF)



Ace_Eloff
04-20-2005, 08:41 PM
Anyone have a guide to all the functionality of the config.ini? All the possible things you can do with it etc?

Thanks.

steve_v
04-20-2005, 09:00 PM
http://www.airwarfare.com/guides/config_guide.htm

MiamiEagle
04-20-2005, 09:32 PM
Thats nice information but where can I find it. I have looked every where within the program folder and I have not found it. Please help me out.

Miamieagle

LEXX_Luthor
04-20-2005, 10:38 PM
Its called conf and its in the root game folder.

LEXX_Luthor
04-20-2005, 10:44 PM
Wow, beware that airwarfare page -- If you didn't see it, scroll far far to the right to see the descriptions of what all the settings do.

mrscintilla
04-21-2005, 08:10 PM
Following that guide, I turned down the shadow, forest, and lots of lighting options, it seems the pictures still look fine. on the other hand, I've not noticed much speed increase..

RAAF_Furball
04-21-2005, 08:59 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

excellent, thank you, steve_v

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

LEXX_Luthor
04-21-2005, 09:27 PM
mrs:: <BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Following that guide, I turned down the shadow, forest, and lots of lighting options, it seems the pictures still look fine. on the other hand, I've not noticed much speed increase.. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
They don't have too much effect.

What really helps fps in low end grafix is set TexQual=0. This made FB great fps even on Trident integrated motherboard video although at low res. Although you lose lots of map detail in FMB. Try it if you run primitive grafix. Zero is lower than even the airwarfare page says and lower than can be set in the game menu. You can only set it to Zero by doing it manually in "conf" file.

Ace_Eloff
04-22-2005, 01:49 AM
sweet thanks, in perfect mode.... any way to throttle back water settings? I tried setting water from 2 to 1 but the minute you start the game again it goes back to 2! Dang beautiful laggy water http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif.

LEXX_Luthor
04-22-2005, 04:22 AM
Try water=0 , but I lose cloud shadows on the water.

I run water=1, and it stays 1. Don't know why you are being re~set.

dieg777
04-22-2005, 05:04 AM
to keep the changes-
right click conf file
left click properties
tick read only box
click apply

note that to make any further changes you will need to untick the read only box

should be ok then

Bearcat99
04-22-2005, 10:36 PM
Keep in mind also that once you learn how to do this manually you can do some of this stuff using IL2 Manager 5.0 with a few clicks... which can be found in the Sturmovik Essentials thread.

MiamiEagle
04-23-2005, 02:10 PM
First of all I want to thank Luther for all his help.

I have not flown for weeks with this game due to lack of immersion. Its incredible that EAW still has a more of a immersion factor than this game.

I want to fix this problem with thru the conf.iin. By manipulating it I might to get the immersion factor thats is missing in it. Other wise I think its terrific program.

This what found when I open the Conf.

[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1600
height=1200
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=16
StencilBits=0
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=dx8wrap.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=5000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=31
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=
serverDescription=
remoteHost=
localHost=
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=0

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.6925,dy=0.071666665,x=0.0,y=0.0)

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.66875
mapPadY=-0.046666667
viewSet=33
Intro=1
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0


[HotKey game]
PrintScreen=ScreenShot
P=pause
Pause=pause

[HotKey gui]
Escape=activate

[HookViewFly Config]
timeFirstStep=2.0
deltaZ=10.0

[HookView]
MouseLeft=Len

[HookView Config]
AzimutSpeed=0.1
TangageSpeed=0.1
LenSpeed=1.0
MinLen=1.0
DefaultLen=20.0
MaxLen=3000.0
Speed=6

[HotKey builder]
MouseLeft=objectMove
MouseRight=popupmenu
Enter=freeView
Shift MouseLeft=worldZoom
Alt MouseLeft=select+
Alt MouseRight=select-
Alt Ctrl=unselect
PageDown=change+
PageUp=change-
End=change++
Home=change--
Ctrl MouseLeft=insert+
Insert=insert+
NumPad-0=insert+
F=fill
Ctrl MouseRight=delete+
NumPad.=delete+
Delete=delete+
Backspace=cursor
Tab=cursor
F10=land
F11=onLand
NumPad-=normalLand
NumPad+=toLand
NumPad-5=resetAngles
NumPad-8=resetTangage90
NumPad-7=stepAzimut-5
NumPad-4=stepAzimut-15
NumPad-1=stepAzimut-30
NumPad-9=stepAzimut5
NumPad-6=stepAzimut15
NumPad-3=stepAzimut30

[MouseXYZ]
F1=SpeedSlow
F2=SpeedNormal
F3=SpeedFast
MouseRight=XYmove
F4 MouseRight=Zmove
MouseMiddle=Amove
F5 MouseRight=Amove
F6 MouseRight=Tmove
F7 MouseRight=Kmove

[MouseXYZ Config]
RealTime=1

[HotKey Console]
Shift Tab=Activate
[Console]
HISTORY=1024
HISTORYCMD=1024
LOAD=console.cmd
SAVE=console.cmd
LOG=0
LOGTIME=0
LOGFILE=log.lst
LOGKEEP=0

[sound]
SoundUse=1
SoundEngine=1
Speakers=0
Placement=0
SoundFlags.reversestereo=0
RadioFlags.Enabled=1
RadioEngine=2
MusicVolume=6
ObjectVolume=14
MusState.takeoff=0
MusState.inflight=0
MusState.crash=0
MusFlags.play=0
MasterVolume=12
Attenuation=7
SoundMode=2
SamplingRate=2
NumChannels=1
SoundExt.occlusions=0
SoundFlags.hardware=1
SoundFlags.streams=1
SoundFlags.duplex=1
SoundExt.acoustics=0
SoundExt.volumefx=0
SoundFlags.voicemgr=0
SoundFlags.static=1
VoiceVolume=7
Channels=2
SoundExt.extrender=0
SoundFlags.bugscorrect=0
SoundSetupId=8
ActivationLevel=0.02
Preemphasis=0.85
RadioLatency=0.5
AGC=1
PTTMode=1
SoundFlags.UseRadioChatter=1
SoundFlags.AutoActivation=0
RadioFlags.PTTMode=0
RadioFlags.PlayClicks=0
ActLevel=4
MicLevel=6
SoundFlags.forceEAX1=0

[rts]
;ProcessAffinityMask=1
mouseUse=2
joyUse=1
trackIRUse=1
DisableIME=0
locale=

[rts_mouse]
SensitivityX=1.0
SensitivityY=1.0
Invert=0
SensitivityZ=1.0

[rts_joystick]
X=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Y=0 1 4 9 16 25 36 49 64 81 100 0
Z=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100
RZ=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
FF=0
U=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
V=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1X=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1Y=0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 0
1U=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0
1V=0 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 100 0

[Render_DirectX]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=1
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=0
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=0
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=0
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=0
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=0
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=0

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=1
Specular=1
SpecularLight=1
DiffuseLight=1
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=1
Forest=2
LandShading=1
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=15
Water=1
Effects=1
ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

[Render_OpenGL]
TexQual=3
TexMipFilter=2
TexCompress=0
TexFlags.UseDither=1
TexFlags.UseAlpha=0
TexFlags.UseIndex=0
TexFlags.PolygonStipple=1
TexFlags.UseClampedSprites=0
TexFlags.DrawLandByTriangles=1
TexFlags.UseVertexArrays=1
TexFlags.DisableAPIExtensions=0
TexFlags.ARBMultitextureExt=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineExt=1
TexFlags.SecondaryColorExt=1
TexFlags.VertexArrayExt=1
TexFlags.ClipHintExt=0
TexFlags.UsePaletteExt=0
TexFlags.TexAnisotropicExt=1
TexFlags.TexCompressARBExt=1

TexFlags.TexEnvCombine4NV=1
TexFlags.TexEnvCombineDot3=1
TexFlags.DepthClampNV=1
TexFlags.SeparateSpecular=1
TexFlags.TextureShaderNV=1

HardwareShaders=0

Shadows=2
Specular=2
SpecularLight=2
DiffuseLight=2
DynamicalLights=1
MeshDetail=2
VisibilityDistance=3

Sky=2
Forest=2
LandShading=3
LandDetails=2

LandGeom=2
TexLarge=1
TexLandQual=3
TexLandLarge=1

VideoSetupId=3

ForceShaders1x=0
PolygonOffsetFactor=-0.15
PolygonOffsetUnits=-3.0

There is nothing on AAA or mission configurartion that I can change.

Is this what I"m looking for. Its not what I read in the Airwafare Website read me Instruction.
Can some one help me in this matter please?

I"m sure, I'm not the only one.

Help appricaited, Thank you

Miamieagle

dieg777
04-23-2005, 02:43 PM
the information that you want is contained in the mission files - not the config file
Im not very familiar with trying to edit these files or the possibilities - but I know a man who might be able to help http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif
the gentleman is starshoy who developed the dgen program.
he can be contacted through the pacific fighter forum in simhq.

http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=forum;f=127

Ask for information here on what you would like to specifically change in your missions and how and he may be able to help.
Also you could try lowengrins mission generator from here which offers more immersion

http://www.lowengrin.com/news.php

If you want to generate single missions then check out airwarfare.com on how to use mission editor or try this program

http://www.uberdemon.com/

I find that the community generated campaigns are more immersive than stock generated ones- download them from netwings, airwarfare or missions page on ubi PF site- look for ones by extreme one or birdbrain - I can recommend these.

or perhaps someone else here knows how to edit mission files?

hope this helps

LEXX_Luthor
04-23-2005, 06:57 PM
The only way I know of offline "conf" file grafix settings being changed by the game is if you make changes in the game menu or il2setup program. My file is not read only, and I never get reset upon game start except if I input a value too high then the game resets it to the maximum value (grafix settings only here).

Tip:: For experiment, make a desktop shortcut to the "conf" file so you can open it fast after you exit the game. Then close/save it and start game to see changes. The game always reads it at start up. For me this is easier than saving it and keeping it open while restarting the game.

AA guns and mission file stuff is not in "conf" file.

MiamiEagle
04-23-2005, 07:12 PM
dieg77 Than you for your respond. Your have been more than helpful.

I"m a bit disappointed with the guide that Airwafare is giving us through its Website.Its a bit more than misguiding us.

I think I read something about AAA and missions and able to to change it from easy to hard. That is simply not true.

I have not seen it in the conf.ini One should not mislead people into false information.

I find this program to not bee very user friendly unless you are very familiar with it or you are a PC wiz.

I have ask for months for a easy explanation on how to install Lowenrin DCG and no one has been able to give it to me.

The one available thrugh Lowengrin is as clear as Mud.

For the last time can some one give me a simple explanation on how to install Lowengrin DCG.

I and perhaps others as well will apprecite it.

Thank for your help so far.

Miamieagle

dieg777
04-23-2005, 08:20 PM
Im sorry that you found the guide unhelpful I tried to make it as clear as possible.

there are some sections in conf file that you have to manually add
there are some sections that only apply to pacific fighters.

for example the flack and missions variables are in the [dgen] section which is not there by default you have to add this

once you have added this line you can change the variables as described here

http://www.airwarfare.com/guides/config_guide.htm#024



so for flack you would add the following line where x is a number between 0 and 100 and flack will be altered as described in guide



MaxFLAK=x



for example my file looks like this

[DGen]

NoBadWeather=1
Maxbomberskill=0
CampaignLength=long
MaxFLAK=5



If you do not have changes added manually then the guide gives you the default settings.

I will have another look at lowengrins install


hope the above helps in the meantime

LEXX_Luthor
04-23-2005, 08:49 PM
Oh .. that is interestsing.

So other stuff besides basic FBP makes use of "conf" file too. I never tried DGEN...DCG...or AnyGEN...

dieg777
04-23-2005, 09:07 PM
LEXX_Luther
dont know what FBP means- DGEN is the mission generator supplied with game so if you play any campaigns then this is what is used .

DCG is a third party mission generator which can be edited and is dynamic in that it takes account of what has happened in the previous mission

MiamiEagle

I have tried to simplify the Install instructions here

http://www.lowengrin.com/content.php?article.9

Baisically
1) you make a new folder e.g. C:\ il2dcg and unzip the contents into this.
2) You start the program
3) When you first start the program you have to tell it where two important programs are
i) the il2dge program
ii) the il2fb program

4) Now you have to set up how the dcg works so go to MODE option
See here http://www.lowengrin.com/content.php?article.11

You have to decide if you want to manually generate a mission or if you want the program to do everything automatically. I would start with doing it manually so

Select the mission mode: Coop, or Dogfight or Single Player Manual (SPManual = no mode checked).
3. If this is a new campaign, click on the "World" icon, otherwise skip to #6.
4. From the drop-down box that appears, select the country/service and campaign.
5. Click on the "Start Button".
6. Make any other changes such as squadron, plane, weather, etc.

http://www.lowengrin.com/content.php?article.15


7. Click the Generate Mission button.
8. Run IL2/FB and fly the mission.
9. When you are finished flying the mission, ALT + TAB out of IL2/FB and manually generate a new mission. By clicking generate mission button again.


If this doesn€t make it clearer perhaps you should contact lowengrin on his site forum €" make sure you have read his FAQ first.
http://forums.jg1.org/viewforum.php?f=17&sid=652a6f18b07d2bde742d2530e2685ee6

he is always very helpful to polite questions.


hope this helps

MiamiEagle
04-25-2005, 12:21 PM
Diegg777 and LEXX thanks for all your help. With your help I was finaly able to make it function.

Thanks again guys

Miamieagle