PDA

View Full Version : What's the best resolution to play it at? (PS3)



jack994
11-22-2009, 03:46 PM
Hey,

So obviously people with the PS3 version have been experiencing framerate problems with Assassin's Creed 2 so until Ubisoft releases a patch addressing it I thought I would create a thread asking peoples opinions on what is the best resolution to play it at.

This would be to try and limit any problems (if it did), also I would like to know which resolution seems the best (framerate and visual wise), whether it be 1080p, 1080i or 720p.

Thanks

Coolgerb
11-22-2009, 03:59 PM
1080p, obviously.

bornforhaze
11-22-2009, 04:21 PM
We need a patch so it plays well at all resolutions.

jack994
11-23-2009, 09:13 AM
Originally posted by bornforhaze:
We need a patch so it plays well at all resolutions.

Agreed.

midnight_owl
11-23-2009, 12:38 PM
720p. It looks blurry at 1080p.

darkvoid182
11-23-2009, 01:24 PM
1080p Yeah some parts are really choppy

jack994
11-24-2009, 09:07 AM
Originally posted by midnight_owl:
720p. It looks blurry at 1080p.

Okay thanks, what about framerate at 720p? Any better?

PlagueDoctor357
11-24-2009, 09:19 AM
Honestly, ive been playing it non stop since it came out on 1080p and I haven't noticed these frame rate issues.

I mean I see a tiny dip that you can barely see every so often.

So, either kids blow stuff out of proportion or my new slim ps3 plays it better than an original.

Cjail
11-24-2009, 10:14 AM
If you are looking for a pure technical answer on <span class="ev_code_BLUE">digitalfoundry at Eurogamer</span> they say that "In short AC 2 it's a 720p game and really should be run as such."; also they say "the crucial thing is that the improvements to the PS3 engine are such that the performance deficit isn't going to get in the way of having a great time." (for deeper infos you can check here (http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-assassins-creed-ii-face-off-article))

In the end I think that you should just rely on your taste, and if you like AC2 at 1080p run it that way with no worries: after all you are playing a game and not testing it!

phimo123-FR
11-24-2009, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by PlagueDoctor357:
Honestly, ive been playing it non stop since it came out on 1080p and I haven't noticed these frame rate issues.

I mean I see a tiny dip that you can barely see every so often.

So, either kids blow stuff out of proportion or my new slim ps3 plays it better than an original.

Yeah, there's some drops in Venice... Yeah, there's a little bit of screen tearing... But the game is playable... Oh yes, it is!!! (Sure, with my 19" it is barely noticeable.)

midnight_owl
11-24-2009, 01:45 PM
I think the screen tearing problem isn't as noticeable on small TV.