PDA

View Full Version : Vista to XP? Hard Disc Copying Complications?

ytareh
01-14-2008, 01:07 PM
Ive been running Vista now for a few months and Im really tired of the inherent performance hit (as I and many others see it-ok so some say it only runs the cr8p when youre not running games etc ...but what about that 30-60 second 'hijack' of your pc everytime it starts???!!!.I dont think its an exagerration to say that its using up at least 150-225Mb of RAM(compared with XP ) (and maybe the performance equivalent of 0.1-0.3GHz of processor power -Id spend weeks trying to surpass a previous max overclock by that amount)
Has anyone done the switch back?What kind of fps (re)gain is there?
Most importantly I think I read that while you can connect two hard drives and transfer your skins etc when going form XP to Vista you can NOT do it going from Vista to XP....Is this correct?
Finally is XP Home as good/fast as Pro for general online gaming /surfing use?Thanks

Capt.LoneRanger
01-14-2008, 01:56 PM
I have not yet tried to replace XP over Vista but both systems use the same fileformats, so there should be no problem. The second drive is a handy thing though, as you probably have to format your system drive. As a great portion of computer-users think that they can store more data when they have just a single partition, this can be a problem, cause when formating C as your only partition you delete everything on the disk, Vista and important data.

In any case if you have the chance to backup to another disk DO SO!