PDA

View Full Version : New ati 4.9 is out!!



1.JaVA_Hornet
09-09-2004, 04:12 PM
For everyone on this forum...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v423/hornetsting/IMG_Spitfires.jpg

1.JaVA_Hornet
09-09-2004, 04:12 PM
For everyone on this forum...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v423/hornetsting/IMG_Spitfires.jpg

catchlov
09-09-2004, 05:09 PM
Which ATI driver version do you guys think has the best performance with FB/AEP?

<a href="http://taipans.dyndns.org"><img src="http://www3.telus.net/ice51/taipans/tpn_avro.jpg"></a>

pacettid
09-09-2004, 05:15 PM
I just installed the 4.9's for my 9800XT and my 3D Mark scores went up from 6384 to 6731!

These new drivers rock http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

All the best, Don

catchlov
09-09-2004, 05:20 PM
Good to hear. Thanks

<a href="http://taipans.dyndns.org"><img src="http://www3.telus.net/ice51/taipans/tpn_avro.jpg"></a>

KGr.HH-Sunburst
09-09-2004, 05:38 PM
i think ill give them a spin when the Omega version comes out http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

thanks for the heads up Hornet

http://www.hell-hounds.de
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v94/sunburst/FW190A6sigHH.jpg
''All your Mustangs are belong to us''

oddglob
09-09-2004, 07:12 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pacettid:
I just installed the 4.9's for my 9800XT and my 3D Mark scores went up from 6384 to 6731!

These new drivers rock http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

All the best, Don<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

But have you noticed any improvement in actual games without any loss of image quality comparison to your older drivers?

h009291
09-09-2004, 07:14 PM
Hey all ...

I have never had any problems updating Cat drivers before. This time I followed the usual uninstall old drivers , reboot in safe mode, delete any files with DRIVER CLEANER 3 etc. Reboot. Installed the "large" version upgrade of 4.9 (with the Catalyst Control Center).

Upon reboot I get this error message:

cli.exe - Application Error
The Application failed to initialize Properly (0x0000135). Clickon Ok to terminate the application.

I hit Ok twice and it goes away. I cannot open the Catalyst Control Center. I uninstalled the Catalyst Control Center and rebooted. The error message has disappeared.

Any Ideas?

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

Cajun76
09-09-2004, 07:24 PM
You could get better advice at Community Help. Be prepared to post your "dxdiag". Those guys can read that report like reading a fast food menu. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

EDIT: h009291, do you have the Microsoft .NET Framework Version 1.1? It says it's required.
EDIT2: This one is different than I'm used to, there are 2 control panel downloads. I always use the Dial-up options becuase I don't need the WDM capture part. Try downloading just the first 3, and install them in order. Hope this helps.

Thanks for the heads up, here's the link.for ATI.

http://www.ati.com/support/driver.html

Good hunting,
Cajun76
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v30/Cajun76/CajunsSig03.gif (http://www.airwarfare.com/)&lt;Click for Mudmovers http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
If you have trouble hitting your objective, your secondary targets are here and here,
an accordian factory and a mime school. Good luck, gentlemen. - Admiral Benson Hot Shots

Mescof1
09-09-2004, 07:31 PM
Need to install .NET Framework Version 1.1 from Microsoft. There's a link where you download the drivers from on ATI's site.

Mes

h009291
09-09-2004, 08:08 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Mescof1:
Need to install .NET Framework Version 1.1 from Microsoft. There's a link where you download the drivers from on ATI's site.

Mes<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yeah ... I'll check that.

P.S. On the site I see 2 downloads.

http://www.ati.com/support/drivers/winxp/radeonwdm-xp.html?type=xp&prodType=graphic&prod=productsXPdriver&submit.x=1&submit.y=4

I dont need both do I? One has the CATALYST CONTROL CENTER .. the other doesn't .. correct?

Thanks a plenty http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

Cajun76
09-09-2004, 08:12 PM
From what I can tell, you need both. One is for the Control Panel. Windows already comes with a Control Panel, so this is something more. The Cat Panel should further modify it. That's the impression I get, as I haven't installed just yet. Check my post above, it may be helpful. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif Then again...... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

Good hunting,
(56th)*Cajun76
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v30/Cajun76/CajunsSig03.gif (http://www.airwarfare.com/)&lt;Click for Mudmovers http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
If you have trouble hitting your objective, your secondary targets are here and here,
an accordian factory and a mime school. Good luck, gentlemen. - Admiral Benson Hot Shots

h009291
09-09-2004, 08:39 PM
Actually no.

I uninstalled it AGAIN. Installed the .NET 1.1, then tried installing the larger of the two files again.

Everything worked. No error .. no problems.

CATALYST CONTROL CENTER now works. It just appears to be a different method of setting AA - AF and other things with a small car video running so you can see the changes as you apply them. P.S. I must be getting old .. cant really see alot of difference between the settings :P

Also ... you only need one or the other.

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

pacettid
09-09-2004, 08:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by oddglob:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by pacettid:
I just installed the 4.9's for my 9800XT and my 3D Mark scores went up from 6384 to 6731!

These new drivers rock http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

All the best, Don<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

But have you noticed any improvement in actual games without any loss of image quality comparison to your older drivers?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Flew all night on them, and was very pleased with fps results and image quality. I was running the Omega 4.8's prior to this install.

All the best, Don

VFA-195 Snacky
09-09-2004, 09:34 PM
So far so good for me. I like the new control panel

http://www.x-plane.org/users/531seawolf/b_a_presidential_first.jpg
"Navy1, Call the Ball- Roger Ball."

Vladimir_No2
09-09-2004, 09:39 PM
Thanks for the heads up.

-Vlad
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v255/vladimir_no2/pzlsig.jpg

steve_v
09-09-2004, 10:00 PM
Getting artifacting in Perfect. Anyone else?

http://home.earthlink.net/~viner45/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/airwarfare3.jpg (http://www.airwarfare.com/)

Unofficial Community Created FAQ (http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm)

h009291
09-09-2004, 10:37 PM
One thing I noticed in the older Cats ... you could adjust the VERTICAL SYNC. I dont see that slider adjustment with the CATALYST CONTROL CENTER http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/cry.gif

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

tttiger
09-09-2004, 10:52 PM
I wasn't impressed with the control center (couldn't find a way to customize settings -- and I couldn't see any changes when I moved the slider, either, but my eyes are old, too http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif) so I tossed the large download and used the smaller one with the "legacy" control panel.

You DO have to install the new Microsoft software available on the ATI we site first. Installation went fine.

Now for a test drive http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

ttt

[This message was edited by tttiger on Thu September 09 2004 at 10:55 PM.]

h009291
09-09-2004, 11:23 PM
Yeah ... it appeared by checking on TEMPORAL AA it subbed for Vertical Sync .. but it did reduce frames more than I can remember the VERT SYNC option doing ...

I uninstalled this large 4.9 and installed the smaller 4.9 .. now I have everything the way I used to ...

Oh well at least I played around with the CCC http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

fordfan25
09-09-2004, 11:34 PM
i installed them but i didnt get the new controll panel.it came with the old one wich to be honest i have no problem with.

crazyivan1970
09-10-2004, 12:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by steve_v:
Getting artifacting in Perfect. Anyone else?
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Getting flickering on perfect where water meets horizon. No improvement in 3d2003. Doom3 seems faster so is COD&HOB

V!
Regards,

http://blitzpigs.com/forum/images/smiles/smokin.gif

http://www.mechmodels.com/images/band.gif

VFC*Crazyivan aka VFC*HOST

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/coop-ivan.jpg

http://www.rmutt.netfirms.com/vfc/home.htm

Kozhedub: In combat potential, the Yak-3, La-7 and La-9 fighters were indisputably superior to the Bf-109s and Fw-190s. But, as they say, no matter how good the violin may be, much depends on the violinist. I always felt respect for an enemy pilot whose plane I failed to down.

VFA-195 Snacky
09-10-2004, 12:37 AM
same flicker here as well Ivan.

http://www.x-plane.org/users/531seawolf/b_a_presidential_first.jpg
"Navy1, Call the Ball- Roger Ball."

NetDaemon
09-10-2004, 01:15 AM
No artifacts here.

Running in Perfect Mode in 1280x960x32 with an ATI AIW9700pro non-overclocked.

ATI Catalyst Control Center Settings:

- AntiAliasing set to 2x
- Anisotropic Filtering at 4x and Performance
- Texture Preference set to Quality
- Mipmap Detail Level set to High Quality
- Trueform set to Always Off
- Vsync set to Off unless application specifies

So far gained 1 FPS in BlackDeath track, lol

I`m pretty satisfied with these 4.9 Cats, Doom3 is very playable now in 1024x768 High Quality mode.

Hope that helps.



"Friends don't let friends buy Nvidia FX cards"

h009291
09-10-2004, 08:16 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by NetDaemon:
ATI Catalyst Control Center Settings:
- Vsync set to Off unless application specifies
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Ok .. I'll bite .. where in CCC did you find this? Was no where to be found on mine.

http://www.medals.org.uk/united-kingdom/images/uk654.jpg

steve_v
09-10-2004, 08:23 AM
A reinstall cured my artifacting.

http://home.earthlink.net/~viner45/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderpictures/airwarfare3.jpg (http://www.airwarfare.com/)

Unofficial Community Created FAQ (http://www.airwarfare.com/sturmovik_101/faq_index.htm)

Supr
09-10-2004, 10:53 AM
I didnt see any flickering, but i'm not too sure if i like the new control center. I may go back to the smaller package with the standard control panel. I read the notes on the control center and i see alot of references to fixes that stopped it from going non-responsive, and the first time I used it, and tried to switch the new profiles i set up, it hung and had to be closed. lol, guess they didn't fix them all.

reload2000
09-10-2004, 11:17 AM
If you guys click on your 3D tab and then select your view tab up at the top. You should see an options menue on your leftside now.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v132/Reload2000/RO_ForumBannercopy.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v132/Reload2000/TFHsig.jpg
The secret of my legendary strength lies in my nutsack
www.ghostskies.com (http://www.ghostskies.com)
http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/
www.jg27.net (http://www.jg27.net)

NetDaemon
09-10-2004, 03:06 PM
For all you guys that don´t like/hate/don`t give a **** about the new Catalyst Control Center and wanna go back to the old Control Panel:

All you have to do is go to Add/Remove Programs and Uninstall CCC. After the mandatory reboot, the old ATI Control Panel will be available for use. No need to uninstall the full driver package and install the CCC-less version of Catalyst.

Hope that helps.

BTW, the new CCC rocks for me!



"Friends don't let friends buy Nvidia FX cards"

Andrewsdad
09-11-2004, 01:13 AM
Salute !!!

I installed them this evening and it has made a world of difference !!!

I can now run in perfect mode and .. so far...those darn magenta squares are gone !!!

Salute !!
AD

todd92371
09-11-2004, 06:49 AM
Anyone still using an 8500 card. I am still using the old 3.6? catalysts and was wondering if the newer drivers had any advantages for this older card.

Thanks.

http://img80.exs.cx/img80/2097/owl_allied2.jpg


"A man has gained a deeper understanding of the meaning of life when he plants shade trees under which he fully well knows he will never sit" --Trueblood

Andrewsdad
09-11-2004, 05:02 PM
One odd hiccup with the new drivers....

I cannot launch TeamSound from the desktop shortcut or the .exe in the directory. The computer gives me a Blue Screen Stop and memory dump !!!

I reverted to the old driver and TS worked fine, reinstalled the new drivers and TS crashes things still.

I can, however "reload" TS and it will launch from the "Finish" screen.


Very strange...
Any ideas on this ??
AD