PDA

View Full Version : My cpu or ram - too slow?



Yogi_jj
06-09-2004, 07:40 PM
Just upgraded my 420Mx to a 9600XT, and tried out the far cry demo. No matter what resolution or graphic settings i use, my framrate stays between about 18-26 fps. Ive read people with my vid. card getting in the 30's and 40's.
I realise I need more ram and probably a faster cpu, but will they make a significant difference, or are the low 20's about the limit of my card?

Athlon XP 2000+
256Mb pc 2100 ram
sapphire 256Mb 9600XT
gigabyte ga-7va

Yogi_jj
06-09-2004, 07:40 PM
Just upgraded my 420Mx to a 9600XT, and tried out the far cry demo. No matter what resolution or graphic settings i use, my framrate stays between about 18-26 fps. Ive read people with my vid. card getting in the 30's and 40's.
I realise I need more ram and probably a faster cpu, but will they make a significant difference, or are the low 20's about the limit of my card?

Athlon XP 2000+
256Mb pc 2100 ram
sapphire 256Mb 9600XT
gigabyte ga-7va

Yogi_jj
06-09-2004, 07:47 PM
i mean, should i take the card back and get a 9800XT, or spend the money on ram and a cpu?

xgsystem
06-09-2004, 08:18 PM
Its actually a bit of them allhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I have xp2000
786mb pc2700(333mhz)
rad9700pro

Full up everything max 1024x768

I get anywhere from 37-80 Depending on whats going on.

I need a faster cpu also. Its up to u, but i think a faster cpu would really help.

And also the demo is slow compared to the full gamehttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

xgsystem
06-09-2004, 08:18 PM
Its actually a bit of them allhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I have xp2000
786mb pc2700(333mhz)
rad9700pro

Full up everything max 1024x768

I get anywhere from 37-80 Depending on whats going on.

I need a faster cpu also. Its up to u, but i think a faster cpu would really help.

And also the demo is slow compared to the full gamehttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Jabroni_619
06-09-2004, 08:34 PM
Well getting faster RAM will not help at all with that processor. Your PC2100 runs at 133MHz which is exactly what you need for the XP2000+. If you upgrade your CPU to one that usees a 166(333) or 200(400) FSB, then you'd need to get some PC3200 memory.

-ABIT NF7-S (nForce2)
-Mobile Barton 2600+@2.3GHz
-Radeon 9800 Pro @ 420/380
-2x512MB Corsair XMS @ 2-2-2-11
-Audigy2 Platinum

Blade195
06-09-2004, 09:49 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jabroni_619:
Well getting faster RAM will not help at all with that processor. Your PC2100 runs at 133MHz which is exactly what you need for the XP2000+. If you upgrade your CPU to one that usees a 166(333) or 200(400) FSB, then you'd need to get some PC3200 memory.

-ABIT NF7-S (nForce2)
-Mobile Barton 2600+@2.3GHz
-Radeon 9800 Pro @ 420/380
-2x512MB Corsair XMS @ 2-2-2-11
-Audigy2 Platinum<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Now that's something new. I didn't know that. That's clears my dilemma on what speed of memory stick (256MB more) I should get. I currently have 512MB PC2100. Thought I'd change them all to a higher speed but since i have a P4 2.0GHz... ON WITH THE PC2100~!

Jabroni_619
06-09-2004, 09:59 PM
DO NOT GET ANOTHER SICK OF PC2100!!!

PC3200 costs the same, and sometimes even cheaper than PC2100. Get PC3200 and you'll be ready if you ever upgraded you processor.

-ABIT NF7-S (nForce2)
-Mobile Barton 2600+@2.3GHz
-Radeon 9800 Pro @ 420/380
-2x512MB Corsair XMS @ 2-2-2-11
-Audigy2 Platinum

Blade195
06-09-2004, 10:28 PM
HEY! I just went out and bought it! &gt;http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
lol... kidding...

hmm... costs the same? over here it doesn't... costs more... a bit more tho. hehe

well, it'll have to wait a few more weeks cuz i just upgraded video card.

so for now... ON WITH THE PC2100!

madmanfrog
06-10-2004, 03:10 AM
hi all

if ur motherboard not supports pc3200,,,, all will be the same as before with the pc2100,,,find out what motherboard u have,,,and then read some info..

ffh-madman

fishlungs
06-10-2004, 03:32 AM
your comp will only be as fast as the slowest link... that makes sense doesn't it? heh!

BEH!

yarbol
06-10-2004, 10:24 PM
What Jabroni is saying is DDR memory can run slower than it's specification, but not faster. In other words, PC3200 can run at PC2100 or PC2700 speeds. However, regardless of the memory's rated speed, your CPU FSB (front side bus) speed determines how fast the memory actually runs at. If you have a CPU that specifies a 133mhz bus, it will support 133Mhz SDRAM or 266Mhz DDR (PC2100). DDR means there is a memory access on both rising and falling edges of the bus cycle clock so you double the effective data rate. You may be thinking what does PC2100 have to do with a 266Mhz access rate? The 2100 figure refers to byte bandwidth of the memory bus as follows... DDR memory is 64 bits (8 bytes) wide. Since you are accessing memory at 266Mhz at 8 bytes per cycle that comes to 2128 bytes per second of bus bandwidth. They simply round the 2128 figure down to 2100. Also madman and fishlungs said it! If, for example, your mobo does not support an 3000XP or 3200 DDR then it does little good to run out and buy those components and expect any improvement. All your computer components must compliment each other as far as capabilities go, or you will simply run at the slowest component's specification. I know many folks on this forum try to indict individual components as being the reason you can't play, but try to abstract the individual componets and think in terms of data throughput. At the root, games are just another form of data processing. The more data you can process, the better your game experience will be.

Hasten Slowly!
--------------
Athlon XP2400
512Meg DDR
FX5200/128Meg
SB Live!

Blade195
06-11-2004, 03:27 AM
I don't know how it is where you live, but where i am, the prices of memory sticks are high! I used to know memory as being one of the cheapest and easiest (easiest it still is) component to upgrade. You would just pick a booger and go exchange it with a memory stick. Or has my memory gone bad?

512 MB is like $92 dollars here. how's the price where you live?

ToranagaSama1
06-11-2004, 06:18 AM
Are you people trying to help the original poster with his propble or what?

To the original poster:

You have 256 megs of Ram, despite that this is the minimum spec for the game, forget about it!! You need more ram.

If money is an issue, then you can simply purchase another 256 meg stick of PC2100 to go with the one you have. Make sure you get precisely the same brand and model of memory, to minimize any *conflict* issues.

Or,

If you can, you can dump/sell your present stick and get 512 megs (or a full 1 gig) of the fastest memory your motherboard/chipset can support. (Check your motherboard manual.)

I do not suggest mixing PC2100 with PC3200, its best that your sticks be ALL the same.

With more ram you'll notice an immediate improvement, BUT things still WON'T be perfect. As I do, you need a full system upgrade to run the game perfectly.

If you could exchange the 9600XT for a 9800XT at minimal cost I would do so.

Also, even though the 9700 pro, runs at a slower speed than the 9600XT, it has more Pipelines and, consequently, provides better, overall, performance than the 9600XT.

If, money is a real issue and you're adventurous, here's a couple of suggestions:

Sell the 9600XT, purchase a 9500 pro (at a cost savings), *mod* it into a 9700 pro (or just buy a 9700pro); experiment with overclocking your system. Along with more ram a faster FSB will get you some more frams per second.

Luck!

---
Abit KR7A 133r
AMD Athlon XP 1800+
ATI Radeon 9700 pro
512 MB Corsair XMS DDR (266)
Addtronics 7890A (modified by www.coolcases.com (http://www.coolcases.com))
Cornerstone p1700
Win2000pro SP4
O/C: 145 fsb, cpu clock 1668 RAM Timings: 2-2-2-5
GPU core/ram: default (stock HSF, so heat issues w. game at certain levels)