PDA

View Full Version : Gunnery: I want to keep my x45 throttle but use another stick.



25th_Orwell-84
12-23-2004, 06:27 PM
I find the x45 makes aiming HARD as heck, it is sticky, i know i can fix it but i want to try my logitech. how do i do this? just plug the logi into another usb andput the x45 on the floor? will the throtle still work?

Chivas
12-23-2004, 06:38 PM
Yes

Tully__
12-23-2004, 07:08 PM
You will still need to have your X-45 stick plugged in, just put is aside. If you have space, leave it on your desk for the extra buttons.

You may need to do some fiddling to get the sensitivity controls in the game set how you like. Click the "Joysticks & .... " link under my signature picture and read the section on "I added a second controller and..." and the section "Assigning controls" for more details.

flyingscampi
12-24-2004, 07:06 AM
Remember to give your X45 stick a nice dusting once in a while to show it you still care http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Saitek should sell a seperate throttle for about 35. They'd make a killing.

Bongokid
12-24-2004, 08:25 AM
it worked fine for me :

I love the X45 throtle but the stick is to big for my hand to be able to steer properly and use the hat buttons at the same time without loosing precision.

So i plugged a logitech freedom 2.4 and have the two softwares running at the same time. it works perfectly in the IL2 series since for each axis you choose the controler. Its a little more complicated for CFS3 but works too.

Cheers,

Bongokid

Ala11_Kal
12-24-2004, 09:18 AM
Just Plug & Fly

http://www.ala11.com/imagenes/corsairPN.jpg

Maj_Death
12-24-2004, 09:31 AM
I recommend the Saitek EVO or Cyborg as the flight stick. Unlike the X-45 they are smooth and have a light spring. They also last a long time. To set it up all you have to do is set the new flightstick as the primary joystick and set the old X-45 to secondary. This will allow you to adjust the sensitivity of the new stick in game. If you do this then the X-45 will not have adjustable sensitivity because PF only allows the primary stick to have sensitivity settings.

123-Wulf-JG123
12-24-2004, 10:32 AM
You can adjust all controller sensitivities using the PF conf.ini file.... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

Chivas
12-24-2004, 11:55 AM
How do you change sticks from primary to secondary.

Maj_Death
12-24-2004, 01:48 PM
Go into control panel, open "game controllers" and poke around. It should be under assignments or something of that nature.

T_O_A_D
12-24-2004, 03:34 PM
I have felt the X-45 was hurting my shooting skills for a long time. I did exactly what your wanting a couple of weeks ago. I got a used Microsoft Force Feedback and hooked it all up. The got some FFB files (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=23110283&m=2151012452) to adjust the setting. Man man. What a difference. I am hitting consistantly now. Even with P-39 cannon, I have never been able to hit with that thing.

Zen--
12-24-2004, 10:37 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tully__:
You will still need to have your X-45 stick plugged in, just put is aside. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

This is what I did with my Cougar Hotas after I bought a CH stick. I still use the throttle from the Cougar along with TM rudder pedals hooked to it, but just moved the stick behind the monitor and plugged in the CH stick. Little fiddling in FB control panel to assign the CH as the primary controller, but I'm very happy with the setup.

Cougar Foxy software is running in emulation mode and doesn't interfere with the CH at all, so I've got the best of both worlds. If the CH was all metal, I'd be in heaven http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

MaxMhz
12-24-2004, 10:41 PM
X45-USB will function 100% with any other USB stick http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Install latest saitek software - even if you have 2 - it will work both http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif (didn't try 3 yet)

dont forget to turn that d*d stcik into a button bay http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif