PDA

View Full Version : Torpedo missions



BillyRiley
01-14-2007, 01:49 AM
hi everyone.

I originally bought PF to fly torpedo missions against fleets....unfortunately, I didn't read the blurb right and didn't realise that there was a severe lack of torpedo carrying bombers in the game.

So, with that in mind, I decided to make a quick mission of my own...however, I cannot get the terget to be a fleet, and I cannot get a grip of the main mission editor.

Now, as far as I am aware, there are only 2 torp bombers in the game, the Betty and the Beau.

So, does anyone know where I can get some user created torpedo missions for these two planes?

Thx for the help.

JG53Frankyboy
01-14-2007, 03:13 AM
Originally posted by BillyRiley:
hi everyone.

I originally bought PF to fly torpedo missions against fleets....unfortunately, I didn't read the blurb right and didn't realise that there was a severe lack of torpedo carrying bombers in the game.

So, with that in mind, I decided to make a quick mission of my own...however, I cannot get the terget to be a fleet, and I cannot get a grip of the main mission editor.

Now, as far as I am aware, there are only 2 torp bombers in the game, the Betty and the Beau.

So, does anyone know where I can get some user created torpedo missions for these two planes?

Thx for the help.

the A-20s have a torpedo too, and if you would have the whole game (i think you have "only" PF standalone), the HE111H-6 & IL-2T also.

Stargazer_RobW
01-14-2007, 04:28 AM
I like torpedo runs as well but so far have only been able to do it regularly in the QMB on the crimea map.

I feel like I've spent an eternity flying the HE-111 and all I ever get is airfields, tanks and transport columns.

So I'm with Billy on this one... Anyone who knows of a good campaign (either already ingame or built as an addon) that has a plentiful supply of torpedo missions, please educate us and show us where they are.

And in case it's relevant, I'm on V4071.

Cheers,

Rob.

XyZspineZyX
01-14-2007, 06:29 AM
Originally posted by BillyRiley:
hi everyone.

I originally bought PF to fly torpedo missions against fleets....unfortunately, I didn't read the blurb right and didn't realise that there was a severe lack of torpedo carrying bombers in the game.

So, with that in mind, I decided to make a quick mission of my own...however, I cannot get the terget to be a fleet, and I cannot get a grip of the main mission editor.

Now, as far as I am aware, there are only 2 torp bombers in the game, the Betty and the Beau.

So, does anyone know where I can get some user created torpedo missions for these two planes?

Thx for the help.

Ask in "Mission Builders Forum" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v441/Chuck_Older/clarkchampion.jpg
Flower of Scotland, will we see your like again?

FoolTrottel
01-14-2007, 06:48 AM
Straight and True (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=92) by Zeus-Cat (IL-2T)<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v668/fooltrottel/FtMoon.jpg
(Multicontrollered pIL2ots in need of tuning sensitivity settings:IL2-Sticks (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=332)
might come in handy, IL2 Joy Control (By Oleg_BS) (http://www.mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&file=details&id=1021) can even be more usefull!)

VW-IceFire
01-14-2007, 09:17 AM
Originally posted by BillyRiley:
hi everyone.

I originally bought PF to fly torpedo missions against fleets....unfortunately, I didn't read the blurb right and didn't realise that there was a severe lack of torpedo carrying bombers in the game.

So, with that in mind, I decided to make a quick mission of my own...however, I cannot get the terget to be a fleet, and I cannot get a grip of the main mission editor.

Now, as far as I am aware, there are only 2 torp bombers in the game, the Betty and the Beau.

So, does anyone know where I can get some user created torpedo missions for these two planes?

Thx for the help.
Also the A-20G (and now the A-20C) carry torpedoes. Fantastic torpedo bombers they are as well with good defensive abilities and great straight line speed.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/icefire-tempestv.jpg
Find my missions at Flying Legends (http://www.flying-legends.net/php/downloads/downloads.php?cat_id=19) and Mission4Today.com (http://www.mission4today.com).

BillyRiley
01-14-2007, 02:31 PM
Thx...the link to Straight and True was exactly what I was looking for.

Also, thx for the heads up on the other aircraft...I didn't know they were torp enabled...but I still cannot configure a quick mission to attack sea targets

llaneilian
01-14-2007, 03:11 PM
Get over to

http://www.uberdemon.com/downloadpage.html

& download Uber Demons BRILLIANT Quick Mission Builder. It's VERY comprehensive but the learning curve is consequently quite steep. However, it's well worth sticking with - you can configure vitually any scenario you care to mention.

Tully__
01-15-2007, 02:40 AM
Originally posted by BillyRiley:
Thx...the link to Straight and True was exactly what I was looking for.

Also, thx for the heads up on the other aircraft...I didn't know they were torp enabled...but I still cannot configure a quick mission to attack sea targets
If you have merged choose the Crimea map, it has ships just off the coast.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<center>
http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/sig.jpg
SST X-45 profile (http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/fb.zip) | SST X-52 Profile (http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/fbx52.zip) | Joysticks & IL2/FB/PF (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm) | IL2Sticks Utility (http://www.airwarfare.com/Sims/FB/fb_essential_files.htm#087)
Maddox Forums Moderator</center>

Stargazer_RobW
01-15-2007, 05:16 AM
I hate to sound like BillyRiley's echo in this thread but I also would like to say a big thanks and a thumbs up for the link to Straight and True.

I admit I got the feeling that my pilot's name shouldhave been Ted Stryker in the aftermath over Macho Grande... 'No, I don;t think I'll ever get over Macho Grande'.

But these pilots I'm flying with. By 'eck they really are scraping the barrel for pilots at flight school. torpedo's missing a stationary boat, mid air collisions, crashing into the sea for no reason at all... Dang those rookies!

But it's a good set of missions so far, challenging and rewarding.... And while I'm thinking of it...

What is the best place for a torpedo to strike a ship. In the first couple of missions, the big cargo ships sometimes took three torp's right along one side and still kept floating whereas at other times you get a ship twice to send it sleeping with the fishes'. Not yet noticed a pattern but if any could shed some light I'd be grateful.

Ta,

Rob.

Tully__
01-15-2007, 05:43 AM
What is the best place for a torpedo to strike a ship. In the first couple of missions, the big cargo ships sometimes took three torp's right along one side and still kept floating whereas at other times you get a ship twice to send it sleeping with the fishes'. Not yet noticed a pattern but if any could shed some light I'd be grateful.

By all reports, it doesn't seem to matter as long as they all hit in the same place.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<center>
http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/sig.jpg
SST X-45 profile (http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/fb.zip) | SST X-52 Profile (http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/fbx52.zip) | Joysticks & IL2/FB/PF (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm) | IL2Sticks Utility (http://www.airwarfare.com/Sims/FB/fb_essential_files.htm#087)
Maddox Forums Moderator</center>

BillyRiley
01-15-2007, 05:58 AM
I found them less than useless...the AI pilots I mean. I couldn't get one flight to attack the boats at all...and even though they "eventually" said "Roger", they just flew on back to base...and only one of my flight attacked, and that's because I chose the Wingman option...he eventually did drop a torp...and it hit.

But I was wondering if there is a trick to getting your flight (or other flightsunder your command) to attack....and before it is suggested, I chose the flight option, then the ground targets option and then Attack Ships....initially they said they could not...then they eventually said Roger but flew on past (not even trying to attack) and back to base.

Stargazer_RobW
01-15-2007, 11:37 AM
Cheers Tully... I'll try getting my torp in an existing impact hole and see how that helps me.

Billy, I too had a bit of effort getting the AI pilots to use their virtual eyes. for about 90 seconds I was rapid fire on the "Wotsit 2 - Attack Ships" radio commands but all I got was unable.

It seems (bless 'em) they need to be within 12microns of the target to be able to understand that they are what you're talking about when you say "Attack Ship". Last night, I was screaming at my monitor things like, "the ship, dammit. The ship. There! The big metal thing on the water... Thats a damned ship, dammit."

My wife just looked at me like I had gone completely mental.

I found one flyby was sufficient to get them to recognise it and then just as we passed the ships, order the attack with Wotsit 2 going first so your three wingmen stay with you until you tell them to go in for seconds.

Problem is, its at that stage that they start banging into each other and torp'ing tuna fish or crashing into the water...

Suffice it to ssy that it only took me 3hours to finally get the first two missions out the way.

I'll be doing more tomorrow... Hopefully.

Rob.

Nimits
01-15-2007, 01:44 PM
Also, thx for the heads up on the other aircraft...I didn't know they were torp enabled...but I still cannot configure a quick mission to attack sea targets

Pacific Islands has merchants, tankers, ans subs driving around. If you choose "airfield" as the target for the Allies, you more or less fly over the Japanse harbor with moving ships; you can do a psuedo Truk Harbor mission with A-20s or Beaufighters. There is also at least one Allied and one Axis merchant or tanker near the middle of the map.

Zeus-cat
01-15-2007, 04:42 PM
In Straight and True the AI start off as Rookie, but gain experience as the campaign progresses. The AI seemed to have gotten worse shortly after I released the campaign. Not much I can do about it now. To also quote Airplane "They bought their tickets; let 'em crash".<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Zeus-cat

My Campaigns:
Straight Shot (9 missions in the Japanese Seaplane - A6M2-N "Rufe")
Straight Into an Icy Hell (14 missions for the Rufe in the Aleutians)
Straight Down (26 dive-bombing missions in a carrier-based SBD-3)
Straight Down Some More (19 more missions in a carrier-based SBD-3)
Straight and True (30 torpedo bomber missions in an IL-2T)

My campaign page at Miision4Today
http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&c=22

BillyRiley
01-16-2007, 03:36 PM
Hey Zeus-Cat

I didn't mean it to sound like I was slating them...I thought it was the game AI.

I'm just chuffed to bits someone created some torpedo bombing missions.

Thx

Zeus-cat
01-16-2007, 05:44 PM
I took no offense BillyRiley. I was commenting on what other people have pointed out about the AI. I hope you enjoy the campaign.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Zeus-cat

My Campaigns:
Straight Shot (9 missions in the Japanese Seaplane - A6M2-N "Rufe")
Straight Into an Icy Hell (14 missions for the Rufe in the Aleutians)
Straight Down (26 dive-bombing missions in a carrier-based SBD-3)
Straight Down Some More (19 more missions in a carrier-based SBD-3)
Straight and True (30 torpedo bomber missions in an IL-2T)

My campaign page at Miision4Today
http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=Downloads&c=22

Tully__
01-17-2007, 11:59 PM
Originally posted by Stargazer-Woods:
Cheers Tully... I'll try getting my torp in an existing impact hole and see how that helps me..
Probably no need to get that particular. It appears that for damage modelling purposes ships have been divided into 3 zones, front, middle and back (or fore, amidships and aft if you're a maritime sort http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif). You need to keep your hits in the same section for the most economical sinkings.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

<center>
http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/sig.jpg
SST X-45 profile (http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/fb.zip) | SST X-52 Profile (http://jennirivers.actewagl.net.au/fbx52.zip) | Joysticks & IL2/FB/PF (http://www.airwarfare.com/tech/sticks.htm) | IL2Sticks Utility (http://www.airwarfare.com/Sims/FB/fb_essential_files.htm#087)
Maddox Forums Moderator</center>

Fish40
01-18-2007, 08:01 AM
I installed the campaign to the correct folder, but when I go to start a career, the IL2T dose not show up! I followed the readme instructions, created a new pilot, chose Russian career, chose highest rank (as per the readme), but no career for IL2T pilot.

I opened my RU folder, and the files are there. They just don't show up in the career. Please help. FYI, useing FB/AEP 2.04. Thanks in advance.

Fish40
01-18-2007, 10:11 AM
Never mind. I forgot to add: IL-2T to the end of the path directory. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif It seems to be working now!