PDA

View Full Version : Dedicated Server 4.01m Help



JG46_Rudel
08-28-2005, 09:37 PM
I went thought 20 pages of searching on a correct install of the dedicated server. The best on I could use is here:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/692106434/p/1

I do what was posted.

New install of
AEP_v2.04 (400MB version)
PF Dedicated Server v2.04 to v3.03m
PF Dedicated Server v3.04m
PF Dedicated Server v4.01m

Edit Out: Problem, all is good...but...

Edit In:

Ok I can now host on Hyper Lobby, but I am having trouble with players connecting, including myself.

I am on a router and have port forwarding on UPnP 21000. Application name: "il2fb.exe"

It appears through some other posts, that I can not join through Hyper Lobby on the same Router. Is this really true? If so, that is fine, I just need to find a way so other on HL can connect.

Which IP do I use: DHCP, Gateway, DNS? Is there a special script I need for the ini files?

Thanks for your help guys S!

T_O_A_D
08-29-2005, 12:14 AM
you have to open up port 21000 on your router for the machine that is hosting server. There are alos some port you can open for Hyper aswell.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m.../863109982#863109982 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/314103891/r/863109982#863109982)

Then Hyper should be able to let players in after that.

JG46_Rudel
08-29-2005, 12:57 AM
Thanks for your help TOAD. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I, myself still cannot join through Hyper Lobby.

I asked on HL is someone could try to join and let me know, but I don't think they are in the mood to help out too much hehe.

So I will leave it running tonight and when I wake-up in the morning, I will look through the console to see what activities went on.

Thanks again S!

CD_kp84yb
08-29-2005, 01:55 AM
Heya

I forward my ports for Hyper as 21000 TCP,21000UDP and 6891 TCP

I cant join my own game neither by using Hyperlobby, you can by starting your game and join by IP of the PC that runs the dedicated.
Example my Dedicated pc has IP 192.168.1.2
my Pc that has IL2fb on it has 192.168.1.4
So i join to the dedi by joining IP 198.168.1.2
Thats all

regards

JG46_Rudel
08-29-2005, 03:15 PM
Well so far, the hosting went on all night.

I have no clue if anyone tried to join.
If they did...then they must have gotten time outs.

If they didn't. then I will have to leave the server running for more testing.

crazyivan1970
08-29-2005, 03:21 PM
Hi Rudel,
Nice to see you came back http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif Still skinning? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Well, you can easily find out if anyone joined... if you look at the server console.

As far as your problem with joining server goes... if you can join it VIA internal IP as suggested above...others should be ok if port forwarding is correct. I never joined my server thru HL.. i preffer ping of 1ms http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Even when i host COOPs on dedicated machine i join using internal IP. There is a work around, where you can join thru Hyperlobby...but i never bothered to look for it. I remember tho, when i was using Dlink 704P with latest firmware i was able to join via HL no problem. That was with DHCP filtering on. But when i switched to linksys 8 port... it didn`t work anymore. Donno why. Probably router type related.
I will be at HL later on tonight...around 11pm eastern, will see if i can join.

Cheers!

JG46_Rudel
08-29-2005, 04:14 PM
Slowly but surely, I am skinning Ivan http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I hope to release a few before the wife gets here in America...hehehe.

Someone finally helped me out @ HL. He tried joining the server, but he timed out. The console didn't even show anything either.

He sent me a link to a post by Hawk, shown below:


Originally posted by VFS-214_Hawk:
Do you have DSL or a "box" for your connection? If so there is a "block" on it. This is to protect you but it does not allow you to host a server.

If so, you need to go to your enternet provider's websight and enter your account. In there you can enable ports 21000 to 21001. If you do not do this, you will not be able to host ANY server.

I may not be explaining this 100% correctly but nevertheless, you need to enable ports 21000 to 21001 on your connection.

My ISP does not have a website you can log onto and change your settings like that.

Im not worried about joining, I can do that through LAN. It's the other players through HL I want to join.

Here's a quick look at my Port Fowarding:
http://vmfa-531.com/other_stuff/dedserver_setup1.jpg

Not really sure what else to do, except contact Sparxx or Contact my ISP and see if they can open the ports for me.

Edit: LOL...Who edited my Avatar? For some reason I do not have permissions to add one, or change it anymore. I signed a loooooooong time ago when that was still possible without permissions.

crazyivan1970
08-29-2005, 04:22 PM
Lynksys eh... ok, look me up at HL tonight. Will figure this one out me thinks http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I did, untill you fix your picture hehe http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

JG46_Rudel
08-29-2005, 09:56 PM
around 11pm


Im'a lookin' http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks for letting me edit my avatar.

Hope we can get this server sorted out.

crazyivan1970
08-29-2005, 10:57 PM
Originally posted by JG46_Rudel:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">around 11pm


Im'a lookin' http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks for letting me edit my avatar.

Hope we can get this server sorted out. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I was there mate, try to join some server called Test server, went right in.. is that yours?

MAILMAN------
09-01-2005, 04:52 PM
I don't host a dedicated server, yet anyway, but I do host games on HyperLobby and I use a LinkSys BEFSR81 Router with 8 port switch. I made it easy by going into the Router Utility and putting my machine as the DMZ machine. This opens all of the ports. I have had no problems with people joining. Now where I have a problem with people joining is at UBI.com. Seems players that try to join simply time out. UBI said which ports are required to be open. I have tried this, but no luck. With all of the ports open with the DMZ setting it should work. It seems I can only host on HL and not on UBI.

crazyivan1970
09-01-2005, 06:57 PM
We already fixed it... and you don`t have you use DMZ to host http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

MAILMAN------
09-02-2005, 04:10 PM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
We already fixed it... and you don`t have you use DMZ to host http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

I understand that I don't need to use the DMZ setting for this game, but I host other listenserver games at times like Call of Duty United Offensive so it makes it easier to just select DMZ and turn it off when I am not hosting any games.

My question then is why with my current setup using a Motorola Surfboard cable modem and Linksys Router BEFSR81 can I host a Pacific Fighters SA game or a FB + AEP + PF game on Hyper Lobby, but I cannot host either of these games on UBI.com? I have tried hosting on UBI using the DMZ setting and also with port forwarding, but nobody can join my games there.

What is the difference between port forwarding and port triggering? When would I use one over the other?

Thanks