PDA

View Full Version : I have to wait until the 23rd century to get broadband



sunflower1
03-07-2005, 07:12 PM
That's what my telephone company told me today!!

I am having a minor problem with my dialup ISP that I won't bore you with but the fellows at the little ISP breathed a sigh of relief when I told them that the switchman on my line was Ted.

"Ted is a no BS kind of guy and just wants to solve problems."

Ted could have had somebody else contact me today about the problem, but he called me himself and put the problem in the ISP's court and then apologized because he knew it looked like finger-pointing.

I told him how his reputation preceeded him and let him know that I'd also called the ISP about the problem. Knowing I had a telco mensch on the line, I went for broke.

"Ted, how long until I join the 21st century?"

"Ohh, about the 23rd."

The last time the telco did any capital spending on my circuit was 1982.

After some rather interesting and purposefully revealing chat about the architecture of the network, including the locations of the boxes, I told him that I'd figured out how to make some money bringing in a wireless network, in cahoots with the tech guys I know down the road.

I told him I'm not in it for the money, I just need low, consistent pingtimes and a modest amount of bandwidth. I didn't tell him why, of course...

He then gave me the number of the guy in charge of deciding who gets DSL and who doesn't, told him he'd have THAT guy call ME, and then said, "I'll follow up with you in 3 days and see if you've heard from him."

You don't hear that everyday, thought I'd share.

p1ngu666
03-07-2005, 07:39 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

vocatx
03-07-2005, 09:52 PM
I can certainly sympathize with you. I live on a ranch 15 miles from the nearest cable. If you want anything resembling cable out here, you buy a dish. However, last week I found out that certain areas served by my telephone co-op can have DSL installed. I'm finally going to get to 256K! The guy that does the installation is a friend of mine , and he said that (at least on our lines) if you are within 100,000 feet of the swithching station(as the line runs), it was possible to get the DSL. I am just under the limit. I don't know if this applies to your system, but it wouldn't hurt to ask. One reason rural companies are slow to hook up DSL is because the little circuit board that it runs through in their building costs over $2000. Good luck.

HW3
03-07-2005, 10:11 PM
I know what you mean, I live on a farm 21 miles from the nearest town. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Taylortony
03-08-2005, 11:39 AM
Scottish Power in the UK did develop a system where they had a box installed in their substations and the home user used a mains outlet in the house to plug their broadband into then it was sent via the power lines.

This will give you the blurb, but it depends who is doing it or if they are in your square patch of earth

http://whirlpool.net.au/article.cfm?id=1075&show=replies

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200304/cmselect/cmtrdind/321/321we24.htm

Spartan_GR
03-08-2005, 01:51 PM
Here in Greece where i live, "Broadband" is something like science fiction :P ( at least for commercial use still ). Just imagine that up until 2004 we didnt had even DSL ( there weren't any providers ). We just had PSTN and IDSN connections. Now i am connected with a 384DSL connection, and i pay 50 euros per month for it... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

blairgowrie
03-08-2005, 02:04 PM
Hang in there sunflower! It sounds like you are making progress and who knows, you just might get someone to do something. I was meant to have a guy come today and do a site inspection for high speed wireless. I told him I would be prepared to put up a tower if necessary. He said he could find me a used tower 70ft high for around $200. But so far, he hasn't shown up. If he is not here in 30 minutes I'll start bugging him again.

Interesting piece of information there vocatx about the box that costs $2000 for DSL. If our phone company would install one so that I could get high speed, I'd gladly pay for it.

Lav69
03-08-2005, 05:08 PM
move.

sunflower1
03-08-2005, 05:41 PM
I don't think I want to move, the way it pencils out I can make 3 mortgage payments a year providing part of the effort to bring wireless to my area.

I just wish somebody who was in the communications business would do it for me.

vocatx
03-08-2005, 05:58 PM
Blairgowrie, I was shocked at the price, but get this...that is for EVERY DSL line! Each line that comes in the switching office, telephone or DSL goes through a circuit board (don't ask me what it does). I think he said the board for a regular telephone line cost around $500, but the DSL was two grand. There are also these boxes spaced every eight tenths of a mile that contain resistors on each line, and they have to re-tune each one of those between the DSL connection and the switching office.
And I agree with Sunflower, no matter the drawbacks, I much prefer living out here in the sticks with my wife and the cattle. If the cattle bother me, I can move them to another pasture, you can't do that to humans.
Taylortony, I have heard of the system that uses powerlines, but I don't know if it's being done in "the colonies" yet. It's a great concept and makes a lot of sense, so it probably won't happen here any time soon.

sunflower1
03-08-2005, 06:02 PM
If you're curious about the delivery of broadband by power lines, google search: "ethernet over power."

LeadSpitter_
03-08-2005, 07:08 PM
HA HA
http://www.capefeare.com/bio_nelson.gif

mortoma
03-08-2005, 07:43 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by sunflower1:
If you're curious about the delivery of broadband by power lines, google search: "ethernet over power." <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>The wireless form of powerline transmission is not likely to get started in the U.S.A. They are trying it in places but the interference to radios is so bad that Ham radio and shortwave enthusiasts are fighting it tooth and nail. And likely to win too. I watched a video where a Ham radio operator was travelling through an area where they were experimenting with this new wireless powerline broadband and when he got the the area in his car where it was in experimental use it killed nearly the entire HF and lower VHF part of the radio spectrum!! Such interference cannot be tolerated. I'm on the radio users side after watching that video. Let them find a newer technology that does not interefere with radio signals. Tough luck if 56kers will have to wait a while longer.

sunflower1
03-09-2005, 12:38 PM
Just what I needed to feel great! A Nelson Muntz ha ha! Thanks LS.

I'm not pinning any hopes on ethernet over power, either, and have come to the conclusion that its no threat to paying for a wireless network for my area. What worries me is installing a network only to have the cable company or phone company come the last 6 or 4 miles, respectively, and install broadband that doesn't have the security issues attendant to wifi. That'd be bad.

SeminoleX
03-09-2005, 12:56 PM
I live 40 miles from the nearest haircut and 128 miles from any computer/electronic style store like Frys.

Still we have a choice of DSL,Cable, and Satellite ISPs.


I think it's because they came through laying Interstate fiberoptic underground cables a few years ago and by luck they happened to run through our little town.Anyway soon after they were laid the service became available.

ploughman
03-09-2005, 01:04 PM
Cheer up mate, just imagine what on-line treats Oleg'll have in store for you when you finally make it to the 23rd Century!

sunflower1
03-09-2005, 02:13 PM
But by then we'll all have upgraded to Holodecks!

Oh yeah, that's Keynes' "long run."

Spring is almost here, life is good. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

joe3rd
03-12-2005, 02:41 AM
That's a hard statement mortoma <"tough luck if the 56ker's have to wait a while longer">
Tell ya what there bud,... disconnect your High speed connect and try to enter any one of the D/F Servers in H/L.
***hint*** high ping = autoboot!!!
Try it,...then retract this post please?

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mortoma:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by sunflower1:
If you're curious about the delivery of broadband by power lines, google search: "ethernet over power." <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>The wireless form of powerline transmission is not likely to get started in the U.S.A. They are trying it in places but the interference to radios is so bad that Ham radio and shortwave enthusiasts are fighting it tooth and nail. And likely to win too. I watched a video where a Ham radio operator was travelling through an area where they were experimenting with this new wireless powerline broadband and when he got the the area in his car where it was in experimental use it killed nearly the entire HF and lower VHF part of the radio spectrum!! Such interference cannot be tolerated. I'm on the radio users side after watching that video. Let them find a newer technology that does not interefere with radio signals. Tough luck if 56kers will have to wait a while longer. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE><BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

TX-CUDA
03-12-2005, 09:11 AM
...Vocatx, I might not be the phone tech "Ted" you mentioned in your earlier post, but I do likewise for my customers as they are the ones that pay my bills when they are able to subscribe to services the company makes available like ADSL/HDSL. I know how frustrated I was trying to fly the original IL2 on dial up and could never go back. The remote DSLAM's that are needed to provide dsl service from remote pair gain switches(fiber) usually cost on the average of $2-4million each. Some companies simply cannot justify this cost. Hang in there as the company I work for is installing "fiber to the premise" first here in Texas and now in other parts of the US.

TX-Cuda
www.txsquadron.com (http://www.txsquadron.com)

sunflower1
03-12-2005, 10:03 AM
TX-Cuda, I'm the one who spoke to Ted, his real name actually, and he's a good guy. The kindest thing that can be said about the people he works for is that they aren't very aggressive business people.

I have penciled out numbers for going into the communications business for my area using a spreadsheet.

The numbers work assuming 25% acceptance of wireless among year-round residents and 15% acceptance of seasonal residents. At $39 for 256kb/s up and down the network's cost is paid for in 4 years, the investor is paid 7% and variable expenses are covered. The total market I am assuming is conservative, the network would cover people not considered in my numbers. I didn't include them because I haven't yet quantified them. The actual number of houses covered is perhaps 20% more than I'm assuming.

As a betting man, I would wager a large bet that no such spreadsheet exists anywhere at Squirrel Cage Communications. Patience, in this case, is not a virtue.

I HAVE to at least LOOK like I'm going to take a large number of second lines and dialup accounts away from them to get them to get off their fannies. They have no competition at all.

If I had no competition, I'd tell me to stick it.

Taylortony
03-12-2005, 10:17 AM
Perhaps this may help the time pass quicker till you can be connected http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.cryonics.org/ci.html

sunflower1
03-12-2005, 11:19 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

I'm gonna get to play in a holodeck after all!

I have actually had pretty good luck with dialup using the Warbirds of Prey servers, GG, and a few others. The servers that intend to keep me out do a fine job.

Nobody has ever said I was warping and I do ask from time to time. Zekes v Wildcats has played beautifully at times.

F19_Ob
03-13-2005, 02:58 AM
As I said...spend everything on u (a small cheer-up).
We all have some obstacles to overcome.
As an optimist I prefer to call them 'projects'. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Some projects just freaks me out though....

Monson74
03-13-2005, 04:21 AM
We asked the landlord if we could have cable & he said "no - the wires are ugly!". Then we showed him the outer wall which is all covered by wires. Then he said "Yes - but only from this company" & he named one (the most expensive). Then we told him that the wires from the company we had in mind look exactly the same & he got angry & said we shouldn't be so shure of that. Then we got DSL & have been happy with that until a few weeks ago when we recieved a letter in which our landlord offers everyone of us a contract with the cable company of our first choice & it will all be paid for with a "minor" adjustment of our rent. This is twice as much as we pay for DSL - nobody even bothered to answer him http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

JRJacobs
03-13-2005, 12:52 PM
i hear your pain - i'm 10 miles out in the country, live 1/4 mile from my nearest neighbor, and have 14 people living withing a mile of my house. not enough economic power to get it even thought the fiber switching box is within 1/2 a mile from my house. the DSLAM is the killer part, we currently use satellite (starband) which gives us 500k D/L and 150k U/L but the part they don't tell you is that with 24k miles up to a geosync, 24k miles down to Atlanta, hit the Web, back to Atlanta, 24k miles up from Atlanta, 24k miles down to my dish... my min ping is 1200 - i pay $50 a month for this (in addition to my TV) and have to use 56k to play http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif
but there's hope - SBC is launching a wireless initiative that wants to provide 100% highspeed wirless coverage to all of the county within two years, who knows, maybe they'll start on my corner 1sthttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

F0_Dark_P
03-13-2005, 01:11 PM
i am getting 10Mbit now, maybee 25Mbit if my flat is close enough to the station http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v238/Nahoj/faster_bigger.jpg

....oh, i love to rub it in http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

bolillo_loco
03-14-2005, 12:55 AM
that picture is funny :O