PDA

View Full Version : WAC Oddity



Niklaus_Wilhelm
07-11-2007, 03:35 AM
WAC is the only mod I can really get the most out of (aside from Commander which I've yet to try) due to having a not-quite-cutting-edge PC. However, a few patrols in I've found a recurring weirdness; a solitary Dutch fishing boat seems to spawn smack bang in the middle of Wilhelmshaven, as well as either two Swordfish or one Catalina flying in from the south - when every AI gun in range starts kicking off against these targets, it plays merry hell with the performance my PC can provide when just loading up the mission (y'know, that fade-from-black moment after the loading screen).

Is this a glitch in the mod, or should I expect this to keep happening? I only ask because it's a bugger to put up with, as friendly naval activity makes navigating from base a hands-on chore - usually I just plot a course into the Nordsee and go and make a cuppa http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif - as well as slowing t'rig down do a crawl.

danurve
07-11-2007, 07:05 AM
Greetings N_W
From what you've described it is similar to starting a patrol in Trondheim durring Norway Ops. An enemy merchant spawns and the shore guns plus DD's open up on here. These type of events are I belive by design to simulate a war zone.
I have communicated with hans about a few incidents as this also enemy wrecks in channels etc. It is alot of work but there is room for changes in the next version. In the mean time you could try another flotilla. or you could try the War Ace light version. It is the same mod but not as much scripted harbour traffic.

gsc67
07-11-2007, 11:42 AM
I hear about this WAC light version.. Can I run it with 768megs of Ram ? My Vid card is top of the line, but I can only have 1gig of Ram in my older Dell. Thanks !

danurve
07-11-2007, 12:14 PM
Well I can't make promises http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

You should be ok with the light version and a good card. I ran the full version on 1 gig and AGP. The light version also has 8k radius not 16 so that is easier on older systems too.

Niklaus_Wilhelm
07-11-2007, 01:41 PM
I think mine might actually be the light version, which is even worse http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

(running SH3 on 1.8ghz and 512mb RAM! Like I said before, my convoy detection system is when everything slows down in T/C so I KNOW there's a big 'un nearby http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif)

tuddley3
07-11-2007, 09:41 PM
@ Niklaus_Wilhelm :You should try using the stock sea floor, this will help out greatly. I have it Here (http://files.filefront.com/Stock+Sea+Floor+Modzip/;5972414;;/fileinfo.html)

danurve
07-12-2007, 08:15 AM
Originally posted by tuddley3:
@ Niklaus_Wilhelm :You should try using the stock sea floor, this will help out greatly. I have it Here (http://files.filefront.com/Stock+Sea+Floor+Modzip/;5972414;;/fileinfo.html)

tuddley3; you know that is a very good point-idea. Glad youmentioned this. I plan on checking that out soon as I'm done with some mid-patrol testing-saves. (working on a revised personal depth cgarge radius mod)

Btw: is that a JSGME deal?

I know that alot of work was done to improve sea-floors, and one must appriciate that. But honestly I can't remember the last time I bothered eyeing the seafloor. I use commander to change water clarity back to stock levels and external view underwater sometimes to watch my boat get blasted, that's about it.