PDA

View Full Version : Gearless Throttle setup WW2 style for $50.00



VF-3Thunderboy
03-15-2005, 05:17 PM
http://www.simviation.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=homebuild;action=display;num=111093 2078;start=0
http://www.simviation.com/yabbuploads/Throttle%20REAR.jpg

This has been tested and the gearless system works so far, with no slipping. It is a simple setup:

1.Thread rod
2.Dowl Rod
3.Rubber O-rings
4. 1/4 Inch Bolt with Ball point pen roller
5. 1/2 inch x 1/8 flat aluminum holders- No drilling needed, just use bolts.

Throttle action is very smooth, but the prop pitch (black) adjustment needs to be more angled, as it does not get enough leverage. Basicly, this thing does work, without the hassles of gears. The thread rod grips the rubber O-ring very well, and the O-ring allows for some minor imperfections in the Dowl rod wheel when drilling a center hole, (but not much!) The dowl rods are not glued on, just friction fit, so if they wear out they are replacable. The bic pen roller/1/4 bolt is adjustable on the Aluminum mounts. Just the two items hold the mounts together. The switches in the corner are for Mags and Starter Button. Hole in the top of throttle (Grey) is for WEP switch. Now to hook it up for real! Fun fun!! This can be done for about $50.00 or so..

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Flakenstien
03-15-2005, 05:49 PM
And your suppose to hook this up to your computer?
How?

Waldo.Pepper
03-15-2005, 05:57 PM
Nice.

One I made years ago was simpler still. No O rings no bull. Just hook up your arms to the pots directly. Mine worked fine.

VF-3Thunderboy
03-15-2005, 06:06 PM
There is a good article on how to build one at flightsim.com

This also needs- Trim, bomb salvo levers,blower lever, etc... Its ongoing...

This is what you use to connect it...

http://www.cables4computer.com/products/individualItem.asp?groupcode=I0763

VF-3Thunderboy
03-15-2005, 06:12 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> One I made years ago was simpler still. No O rings no bull. Just hook up your arms to the pots directly. Mine worked fine.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Well then where is it now? Direct hook up would mean that you rotate 300 degrees...(Doyuhblahgoogawwoowa...drool http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif)

Or do you mean you actually hook up YOUR arms...
how then do you fly with a joystick?


One of us is a ******....This took me a year to figure out...... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

marine428
03-15-2005, 06:36 PM
Wow, that's pretty cool. Could you post a basic parts list and a diagram for how to build one? Also, I'm not that great with programing so how would I set up a driver for this? I've wanted something like this for sometime now. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

LEBillfish
03-15-2005, 06:50 PM
Well very nice job....Inexpensive and straight forward.

As to the comment about it being "too complex" I can tell you where it is...trashed most likely as if you make hard stops for the levers to not run into the internal stops in the rheostats...you'll lose motion...Use the stops internal to the electronics and you'll cause them to fail quickly due to the leverage you'd apply.

The system you have is nice in that if you make the rheostat stop the rod/orings will slip like a clutch.

What I would suggest however is that you point the rods away from you if possible...simply to keep things clear so you don't run into them sticking out....That simply a matter of moving your rollers, swinging the rods over, then resetting for the change in motion as required.

Nice job, congratulations.. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

VF-3Thunderboy
03-15-2005, 11:06 PM
Ill come up with a parts list, actual measurements, thats where the work was. The rods will be covered with something for switches, etc... although they do stick out like that in real life.(google :Corsair Cockpit) The first thing you need is on the post above, the joystick extension:
1.http://www.cables4computer.com/products/individualItem.asp?groupcode=I0763

Find the "How to build a working throttle" from flightsim.com Here is one post:There is another also. Both are useful.

http://www.flightsim.com/cgi/kds?$=main/howto/throt.htm

D/L it and keep it for reference. YOu may want to try the gear method instead, but they need to be the proper ratio.

You dont need drivers, it sets up like a joystick.They have a dual joystick extension you could also put on rudder pedals I bet...