PDA

View Full Version : P47 advice

general_kalle
03-21-2007, 03:09 PM
hi. when iver been trying this plane in the last time i cant seam to get anything of it.

i could use some advice on flying this thing.

also. why does people call it Jug??

one thing i know is that its got great firepower.

VW-IceFire
03-21-2007, 03:15 PM
I'm not an expert but I will tell you that if you put a P-47 up in the QMB at 10,000m you will out perform nearly every other aircraft at that height. The best techniques are the typical boom and zoom moves (usually better done with a wingman) and any maneuver that emphasizes holding onto energy. So generally wide turns and dives and climbs to attack the enemy.

The 'Jug' nicknames origin has a number of possibilities. One is because it looks a bit like a milk jug.

Eagle_361st
03-21-2007, 03:17 PM
First off what are you trying to accomplish with the fighter? It's very important to remember the P-47 is an energy or boom and zoom aircraft. Where speed and altitude are life whenever flying this bird. Low altitude Fneb style roundie round dogfights are not for this fighter. Give us some examples of what you are having problems with and what you expect this fighter to do and we can help you out some more. Also try searching the forums as there are some great tips and tactics threads for the P-47.

As for the "jug" name it's generally accepted that it derived from two places:
1. Due to it's size and imposing looks some called it a "jugernaut" which was shortened to "Jug".
2. Also due to it's looks some said it looked like a milk jug, therefore again was called "jug".

general_kalle
03-21-2007, 03:50 PM
well i was wondering weather to turn with it or zoom'n boom.

i tends to dip the wing in sharp turns. just like the mostang.

zoom and boom then. is it good compared to Fw190 of same year? D9??

Xiolablu3
03-21-2007, 04:23 PM
Fly it like a FW190, use your speed to outrun any plane which is getting close to your six.

USe height to B&Z enemies.