PDA

View Full Version : Being a good virtual pilot: Post 4.01

VW-IceFire
06-22-2005, 03:46 PM
Ok, so I pride myself in being a good historian and a good virtual pilot. While I'm not the greatest of combat pilots I do like to get the best out of the plane and make it make me happy.

Recently, with the 4.01 patch and the new FM...I've been less than happy with myself. I'm still learning the new ways of things and while I'm very good and very happy in some aircraft I'm not at all good with others - here's why.

Take the Yak, the 109, the 190, and any other plane without aileron or even rudder trim. I can't for the life of me get these planes on a straight an even keel. They won't stay there...they list off to the side till they run themselves into the ground. Am I wrong in thinking that most WWII planes should be able to be trimmed for straight and level? I'm not asking for perfection...if I have to fix it later I will...but should they be able to? Or is this the curse of a more real flight model?

crazyivan1970
06-22-2005, 03:51 PM
All planes that you mentioned are trimmable. Hook up with Boelcke...he`ll give you a nice lesson on trim. I did http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Chuck_Older
06-22-2005, 04:07 PM
The best thing about v4.01 that I can see so far?

No argument over why Fw 190 was considered easy to fly, compared to the Bf 109 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

VW-IceFire
06-22-2005, 05:04 PM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
All planes that you mentioned are trimmable. Hook up with Boelcke...he`ll give you a nice lesson on trim. I did http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
Some of them don't have anything except elevator trim http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

That makes it difficult. I DO know the < and > keys help....but. To no avail. Hopefully Boelcke has some pointers or ideas that I haven't got yet.

LEXX_Luthor
06-22-2005, 06:44 PM