PDA

View Full Version : New to the game

Saber123316
03-26-2005, 10:59 PM
Well hello all you guys, I am new to the flight sim and love it. problem is i play this game with a http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif Key board http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif well thats what i think all of you would re act now what would you say a good joy stick for my pc would be? i was looking at this Logitech Extreme 3D Pro Joystick or this Logitech Attack 3 Joystick

I would prefer the first one as it is a higher end model and on sale for the same price as the low end one.

what would you suggest

BSS_CUDA
03-26-2005, 11:09 PM
dont buy logitech, they dont last at all, have a great feel but are junk otherwise, I went through 3 of them in just a little over 5 months

FlatSpinMan
03-26-2005, 11:16 PM
Lots of people here have posted bad things about Logitech. that's why i bought a Saitek Cyborg. It was only about US$38 I think. I got it six months ago and it has seen heavy use but generally seems okay. It has heaps of buttons, a twist stick for rudder plus a throttle slider. i have noticed it is a little looser now than it was but the software recalibrates it well enough for my purposes.

Skycat_2
03-26-2005, 11:24 PM
Joystick is better than keyboard, no two ways about it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

I don't know either of the sticks you're looking at. I'll just name some features I think are important:

1. Throttle slider -- throttle is an important control in maneuvers and dogfights, and its good to have a control right at your thumb.
2. 8-way HAT switch -- fairly standard on most sticks now. Located at the top of your stick, this control allows you to 'look around' using your thumb.