PDA

View Full Version : Best Resolution v FPS



XyZspineZyX
10-14-2003, 09:47 AM
Lo all,

Simple question/request:- I run an Athlon xp2100+, 512DDR Ram, GF4 ti4600 with XP Pro and plenty of cooling. The card is not clocked and I run FB in 1024x768, 32 bit. Iget an average frame rate of approx 32-36 FPS.
Would I get a better rate running at higher res?

AHS_Kristorf

XyZspineZyX
10-14-2003, 09:47 AM
Lo all,

Simple question/request:- I run an Athlon xp2100+, 512DDR Ram, GF4 ti4600 with XP Pro and plenty of cooling. The card is not clocked and I run FB in 1024x768, 32 bit. Iget an average frame rate of approx 32-36 FPS.
Would I get a better rate running at higher res?

AHS_Kristorf

zethin
10-14-2003, 10:00 AM
I think so, but I'm not sure at all.

[b]<font color="purple"><center>
http://invisionfree.com:54/153/177/upload/p40.jpg
<marquee width=340>Forum Ranks: <u>Purple Lord Of The Forum</u>, Forum Norwegian, Elite Ops, Master Of The Smiley, 3rd Echelon Op, Veteran, Thread Maven, Mercenary, Daily Poster, Chatter, Fan Of The SH series, <u>Over 2000 Postings</u>, <u>SC Forum Day-Time Shift CET</u>, Member Of Mobs And Stuff, On The Forums Since: <u>March 23rd 2003...</u></marquee>
----------------------- -----------------------
<font color="#006400"><marquee width=375>Zethin's Respect List: FO, Freaky, DC, mp, bergey, Evo, njcl, S7N, NSA, SEANY, kimi, usa, SC9, d2d, Skate, Aj, Spin, Bored, vpc, Troy, Sangsta, SKULLS, iamiubu, like_a_ghost, Slayer, D- & NCell, stivens...</marquee>
<center>http://www.konamityo.com/sh2/e/imgs/logo.jpg</center>
<font size=2><u>"The Family"</u><font size=1> (PM to join)
<font color="purple"><marquee width=340>Members of The Family: <u>Don: Zethin</u>, <u>Consigliere: mp3vd</u>, <u>Sotto Capo: freakishly</u>, <u>Comare: FisherObsession</u>, <u>Contabile: spam_fisher</u>, <u>Assassain: davidcain</u>, <u>Capos/Capas: Alien_Slayer, S7N, pinkcar36</u>, <u>Goodfellas: WinsK, halo_99, SplinterCell-9, NightCrawlerEvo, njcl, jackslate13, Da_Shoota, stivens, silentcell_03, DCell, dmaskiew89</u>, <u>Piciottos: ???</u> <u>...Weapons Of Choice: Thompson 1927 (aka "Tommy Gun"), Colt 1911 .45, Baseball Bats, Knucklebusters...</u></marquee>

XyZspineZyX
10-14-2003, 10:07 AM
First a quick reminder that these questions are best placed in the Tech forum.

Secondly in answer to your last question. No you will get a worse frame rate the higher res you go.

I have a similar rig to you I play in 1280 x 960 on excellent settings and get pretty nice frame rate. Online I would average from 30-40 fps.

You really need to give us more details. What settings are you running e.g excellent etc etc. Secondly go to mudmovers (link at top of board) and use Hunters settings for a GF 4600. Do you have a soundcard + what is it? Onboard sound steals cycles from your CPU (maybe not the latest one on the Nforce 2 boards but still probably). The standard way of comparing frame rate is by playing the black death track and not moving the mouse just leave it to run to the end and record your frame rate. I get about 26 on a good day.



<center><img src= "http://homepage.ntlworld.com/n.bulger/Emil_Bug.jpg">

AKA JG5_Emil

"I wish we all had the courage to confine our defence to three simple words....LICK MY A*S!" Herman Goering


Message Edited on 10/14/0302:07AM by DKP