PDA

View Full Version : IL2 on a Mac?



Freelancer-1
07-25-2006, 06:46 PM
I'll admit to being a PC snob and know nothing about Macs. Except that it's real tough to get good games for them.

One of my Mac friends wants to play IL2.

Can he?

Freelancer-1
07-25-2006, 06:46 PM
I'll admit to being a PC snob and know nothing about Macs. Except that it's real tough to get good games for them.

One of my Mac friends wants to play IL2.

Can he?

FritzGryphon
07-25-2006, 06:59 PM
I'm sure if he tried hard enough with emulation he could find a way.

As far as an actual Mac version, no.

WWSensei
07-25-2006, 07:08 PM
If he has one of the Macs capable of running XP on it then he could go that route...

Freelancer-1
07-25-2006, 07:09 PM
Thanks Gents http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Hashmark13
07-25-2006, 08:22 PM
The Intel mac can run Xp with some doing. It's better than running VMWare (or whatever there is for Mac to emulate a PC).

I think IL2 is the only Java based game that isn't multiplatform. I mean seriously.. it wouldn't be hard - at all. Java is THE language to use for multiplatform support.

csThor
07-25-2006, 09:17 PM
AFAIK Java was only used for parts of the GUI. The rest is done in another language (C++ ??).

panther3485
07-26-2006, 12:20 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Freelancer-1:
I'll admit to being a PC snob and know nothing about Macs. Except that it's real tough to get good games for them.

One of my Mac friends wants to play IL2.

Can he? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't think so, but I do believe he can play the Call of Duty series - it that's any good to him!

Best regards,
panther3485

Friendly_flyer
07-26-2006, 01:11 AM
Well, I guess it's only one way to find out. Take your CDs over to him and give it a shot.

widdershins
07-26-2006, 08:36 AM
WWSensei is right.

An intel Mac will run XP with the use of Apple's free dual boot software BootCamp & a fully licenced version of XP sp2(i.e. the one you buy in a box for $$$).

It will run Il2 fine this way.

The emulator option is pointless as there is no 3D hardware emulation. Even if there was it would make the computer run even slower having to run: OSX + emulator software + emulated PC proccessor + emulated graphics proccessor + XP + Il2. He might be able to get a frame rate of 0.25 fps.