PDA

View Full Version : Getting the best performance out of your aircraft...

darkhorizon11
10-30-2005, 06:56 PM
While reading Mludner's post I thought I would throw one up on a similiar topic.

Getting the best performance out of an aircraft...

Its funny I'm a Commercial pilot in reality but I have trouble getting the best numbers out of a video game.

My main question is with prop pitch, now I know obviously that as you increase in altitude you increase pitch, but how much and at what rate? I ussually go 5% per 500 meters and it seems to work alright... is that the standard rule or is there something big I'm missing. Although supposedly if you go full fwd (at high alt.) you get more power however I haven't noticed any increase when I do this and in a lot of planes you'll overspeed it.

How about mixture? I havent found a rule of thumb for this I just kinda lean it back until I get the best performance which is a lot like real life I guess (since theres no manual to refer too).

han freak solo
10-30-2005, 07:54 PM
Bump. I'd like to know performance reccomendations, too.

So, increasing pitch is the opposite of firewalling the prop?

The game shows 100% pitch with higher rpms achieved. This is decreased pitch, right?

FritzGryphon
10-30-2005, 07:59 PM
Most planes have constant speed propellors. Pitch changes are made automatically, and you merely control desired RPM. The "prop pitch" message is misleading.

To get best performance, you'd leave this on 100% (max RPM).

Few planes have manual pitch. The ones that do usually have an auto setting as well (Bf-109).

Tully__
10-30-2005, 08:06 PM
Originally posted by FritzGryphon:
In most planes, almost all, you do not control the pitch. You merely control desired RPM.

To get best performance, you'd leave this on 100%.
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/351.gif