PDA

View Full Version : Problem during storms



XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 05:43 PM
Hi all, I incourred always in a sort of bug (or at least I think it is) during missions with storms. Everytime that I start to takeoff, mine plane begin to roll himself to the left and I'm unable to takeoff into the runway and using the rudder is useless, the plane don't remain into the center of the runway. Then, when I'm in air, the plane shake terribly and the speed remain "blocked" between 290-300 Km/h (like it is at 295 Km/h) in leveled flight. This happen to others? Thx

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 05:43 PM
Hi all, I incourred always in a sort of bug (or at least I think it is) during missions with storms. Everytime that I start to takeoff, mine plane begin to roll himself to the left and I'm unable to takeoff into the runway and using the rudder is useless, the plane don't remain into the center of the runway. Then, when I'm in air, the plane shake terribly and the speed remain "blocked" between 290-300 Km/h (like it is at 295 Km/h) in leveled flight. This happen to others? Thx

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 06:14 PM
The pull to the left you feel is wind as far as I can tell. I'm pretty sure the shaking is turbulence. If you climb a bit higher you'll notice there's considerabely less shaking and it's actully quite nice to fly up there.
I for one enjoy the challenge of a flight in stormy weather, though I do wish I knew how to keep the plane on the runway during takeoff in a thunderstorm.

Insubres wrote:
- Hi all, I incourred always in a sort of bug (or at
- least I think it is) during missions with storms.
- Everytime that I start to takeoff, mine plane begin
- to roll himself to the left and I'm unable to
- takeoff into the runway and using the rudder is
- useless, the plane don't remain into the center of
- the runway. Then, when I'm in air, the plane shake
- terribly and the speed remain "blocked" between
- 290-300 Km/h (like it is at 295 Km/h) in leveled
- flight. This happen to others? Thx
-
-

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 06:24 PM
I lock my tailwheel and it seems to help some.

<img src="http://www.geocities.com/agrill101/Sig.jpg.txt"

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 06:33 PM
Hi there


It sounds like wind to me, try taking off in a different direction. It sounds like you are taking off with the wind, you must take off into the wind, but I have never seen a soc at the Airports

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 06:35 PM
Can't do that on my trusty I-16 /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

Shifty101 wrote:
- I lock my tailwheel and it seems to help some.
-
- <img
- src="http://www.geocities.com/agrill101/Sig.jpg.txt"

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 06:40 PM
Lastrights wrote: "but I have never seen a (wind)soc(k) at the Airports.

yeah= this has always seemed like a glaring omission to me /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 06:47 PM
When taking off in a cross wind you need a lot of rudder authority. Your mistake is probably trying to center the nose on the runway. When wind is severe you need to 'crab' or have your nose pointed slightly into the wind to go straight. "Crabbing" is also very effective in landing

http://www.avsim.com/geoffschool/airlinecourse/crab2.jpg


Here is a picture of a plane landing using the crab method.




<center> http://www.4yourfuture.net/handshake.gif


"Altitude, speed, maneuver, fire!"-The "formula of Terror" of Aleksandr Pokryshkin, Three times awarded the rank of Hero of the Soviet Union

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 07:18 PM
There are no windsocks because, I believe, wind is not simulated, hence smoke doesn't do much whatever settings you choose. Can't explain the wierd plane/storm behaviour however.

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 07:34 PM
Yes, I always try to maintain the nose of mine I-16 to the center of the runway. Now I try as you have explained, tnx. And I've another question, everytime that I use the I-16 I see that the others AI I-16 of the squadron have the flaps in TakeOff position, how is possible if I-16 have only Raised and Landing position? Someone know this?