PDA

View Full Version : Min 'puter spec for online?



249th_Harrier
03-20-2006, 11:06 AM
I played online for 1st time in a year, and had issues w/poor framerate. My rig is:
Athlon 1800+
1GB pc266 ddr
7200 rpm hd, old parallel ATA
Nvidia Ti4200
tir3
cable modem
old gameport CH combatstick an pedals

Is this rig too obsolete to really compete online? Is there anyone else with a similar rig online?

DaimonSyrius
03-20-2006, 11:36 AM
I don't know much about AMD makes specs... But I'd say that RAM and CPU clock are the main factors for performance, both offline and online, and anything around 1GB RAM or more, and 2GHz CPU or more, should start to be OK'ish.

I have an oldish 2.4 P4 and 1GB RAM and not complaining (much); I generally get ~30something fps if I dont't go to Berlin or other large cities at low alt (a GeForce 6800 Ultra helps to get that in perfect mode, water=0, or even water=2 with recent dlls). But I know I'd be happier with 3.8 GHz CPU and 2GB RAM and a current fancy motherboard... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

I see you have a Ti4200, I used to have a Ti4600 before on the same PC, and was similarly OK'ish running IL2 in Excellent graphics mode.

Cheers,
S.

249th_Harrier
03-20-2006, 12:19 PM
I am running at 800x600 with medium graphics detail. I wasn't hopelessly outclassed, I could get the bad guys in my sights and score a hit or two, but it seemed almost impossible to actually score a kill with the low framerate.

msalama
03-20-2006, 12:26 PM
My current rig is an AMD Athlon 2.2GHz w/ 1GB of RAM & a GeForce FX 5200 (which suxxx0rz, I can tell ya). And everything's quite playable, on- or offline, unless things get REALLY busy!

Last I checked the Black Death .ntrk gave me an average FPS of 27, so I think the rig's OKish? But I'd _still_ say this is an entry-level system, nothing more...

I'm running at 1024x768 with medium graphics quality.

EDIT: And oh yeah, both the CPU & the GPU are mildly overclocked, some +10% or something.

NetDaemon
03-20-2006, 12:46 PM
Well, the FX5200 is actually slower than the Ti4200. An ATI Radeon 9600 or 9700/9800 should be better.

So the ti4200 should run the game in excellent mode at 800x600 just fine provided you support it with an at least 2+ Ghz CPU, be it Intel or an AMD equivalent, like an AMD AthlonXP 2400+ or more.

So in this case, it´s the CPU the main bottleneck, then the Vid card, the ammount of RAM is just fine altough the RAM is a bit slow (DDR266).

Try upgrading one step at a time to see if it´s worth it.

Tully__
03-20-2006, 02:27 PM
The Ti4200 is marginal, as is the processor speed and FSB speed. I'm running Ti4600 on a 2.0GHz P4 with 1GB PC2700 and it's adequate but there's not a lot of spare performance in big missions.

Prop_Strike
03-20-2006, 11:45 PM
I got a P4 2.6 HT with 1.5gig of pC2700 DDR SDRAM, and a Sapphire X800XT Radeon.
Runs pretty sweet online between 45-65 average fps,depending on load,in Perfect with 4xAA and 8xAnis.
This is while running a TIR3 Pro,Audigy sound card in 5.1, and Teamspeak, so it goes alright.
The Black death track is a fps killer....I get 33 avg, with a high of 77-80 and a low of 8.

I just ordered 2 gig of Corsair PC3200, and E-bayed a P4 3.2g HT Northwood, so I'll have to see how much it improves.

alert_1
03-21-2006, 01:31 AM
played online for 1st time in a year, and had issues w/poor framerate. My rig is:
Athlon 1800+
1GB pc266 ddr
7200 rpm hd, old parallel ATA
Nvidia Ti4200
tir3
cable modem
old gameport CH combatstick an pedals

Is this rig too obsolete to really compete online? Is there anyone else with a similar rig online

I hae exactly the same rig and fps online is about 20-30 unless action is too heavy. Real problems are sttuters but I bet they are on much better rigs too.
I will keep the rig till Storm of War is out, upgrading anytime sooner seems to me as waste of money...