PDA

View Full Version : SBD Loadouts



Latico
12-30-2004, 01:04 AM
From what I have read in the After Action reports and logs from the CV6 USS Enterprise, the loadout options are incorrect for the SBD.

It appears that, at least in carrier ops, that the VS and VB squadrons (SBD-2/3) carried only 3 possible loads of bombs.

Single 500lb
Single 500lb and 2 100lb
single 1,000lb

Currently, the loadouts that are available for the SBD are more in line with what the TB's carried (Avenger) when they weren't carrying torpedos.

My resource
CV6.org (http://www.cv6.org/ship/logs/default.htm)

JG53Frankyboy
12-30-2004, 02:32 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Latico:
From what I have read in the After Action reports and logs from the CV6 USS Enterprise, the loadout options are incorrect for the SBD.

It appears that, at least in carrier ops, that the VS and VB squadrons (SBD-2/3) carried only 3 possible loads of bombs.

Single 500lb
Single 500lb and 2 100lb
single 1,000lb

Currently, the loadouts that are available for the SBD are more in line with what the TB's carried (Avenger) when they weren't carrying torpedos.

My resource
http://www.cv6.org/ship/logs/default.htm <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

yes, indeed. but unfortunatly the loadoutoptions of a lot of planes (new ones from PF are very old ones from FB/IL2 times) are, lets call it, "strange" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Latico
12-30-2004, 10:46 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR> yes, indeed. but unfortunatly the loadoutoptions of a lot of planes (new ones from PF are very old ones from FB/IL2 times) are, lets call it, "strange" <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

The SBD's flying from the CV-6 is the only one I have any information on, as to what was carried into combat. The link I posted also has some info on what the TB's carried. There is also reference to some experimentation on loading 2 1,000lb bombs in the bay of the Helldiver when it was first deployed on the Enterprise.

SkyChimp
12-31-2004, 11:03 AM
The SBD could also carry the 1,600lb AP bomb on its centerline. So that should be included, too. But otherwise, I agree with you.

Loadouts for US planes are odd. The Corsair is a nightmare. And important options are left off the Hellcat, Lightning, and especially the Thunderbolt.

Latico
02-24-2005, 09:27 PM
Skychimp,

I came accross some info online that explains the 1600 pound bomb loadout ofr the SBD.

It was the USAAF's version of the SBD-5, the A-24B-TE, that was modified to carry a maximum load of 2250 pounds. 1-1600 under center line and 2x- 325 pounders under wing. The USAAF BG's that flew the A-24 did not have the combat successes that the Navy and Marines did, due to not having the same extensive training.

I've also recently been in contact with a man that was a back seat gunner on board the Navy SBD. ARM 1/c Jack Glass, flew 65 sorties in the SBD with VB-10 and served aboard the CV-6 Enterprise. He tells me that they never launched from the carrier deck with more than 1000 pounds of ordinance, and most of those were with a catapult. He also says that as far as he new they always took off with a full fuel load because they never new when they would need every drop. He doesn't think that the land based Marines carried much more, at least not as for Guadalcanal, since the Enterprise furnished them ordinance. Henderson Field was a rough field to take off from.

Mr Glass rode "shotgun" in SBD-3, -5 and -6. The -6 was radar equiped.

I'd just like to see the dev's add the 1-500 + 2x-100 load and change the FM so that the SBD can only take off from CV deck with 1000 pounds of bombs. Make it more historically accurate.

JG53Frankyboy
02-25-2005, 10:10 AM
Fw190A-6 is also a "nightmare" - just copied from the A-5. there was realy no Fw190A-6/U-3 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif .
R-1 loudouts would be enough.

ore the ability of the Bf109G2-G14 to carry a SC500 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

and thats NOT about adding some loadouts, its about deleting wrong ones.
but, i think doing that would cause proplems with offline campaigns.
can remember as the IAR81 become flyable, one loadoutoption was deleted - some people cant fly already started campaigns anymore.