PDA

View Full Version : Help flying 09G/K

BobbyBrinks
06-07-2007, 12:34 AM
Im relatively new to the game, though i have been flying sims off and on for a while. I consider myself a pretty decent dogfighter and ive definitely mastered the basics. Recently though, I've been trying the 09 out online, and really been struggling against the spit9. When i surpise one or have an alt advantage i seem to fare extremely well, im not worried about that at all.

however, if i seem to struggle tactically agiansts spits that i start neutral with. Heres the situation that id like to focus on....

09k versus SpitIXe (or any other popular spit variant) at around 2k meters.
We go head to head and merge and no dmg is dealt in the head on shootout...
What is the best option now for me in the 09k?

Ive tried a number of different things. Turning with the spit obviously always results in disaster. going vertical and trying to loop with it seems to be the best choice if i have to stay and fight, but that usually is lacking too. Running straight through and extending works fine, but all to often the spit will turn and start running me down (and then im in an even worse situation, because now its completely behind me).

The only strategy that seems to work semi decently is when it gets behind me to try and force an overshoot (since if i try and run they seem to catch me). Im pretty decent at doing this, but experienced pilots are extremely difficult to force into an overshoot. And letting someone get behind you is in general a pretty crappy strategy. Any ideas on things i could try after the merge? or is the answer ctrl+E and respawn back in as a fw-190 or spit http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Manu-6S
06-07-2007, 01:03 AM
Don't play with Spits, above all in G/K model.

Fight only if you have energy advantage (very much energy).

Head on are a stupid idea IMO: you have not the firepower of the spit, above all if you fire with mk108 (low ROF).