PDA

View Full Version : Since il2 1946 will have a 1000 new skins :P



Capt.LoneRanger
11-26-2006, 09:20 AM
Obsolete? No. If you have a soundcard (like a Soundblaster) or an onboard link for a gameport, the sticks are still good. Mine is over 8 years, now, and I used them primarily until just a few month ago.
The only thing you should be aware of, on the sticks side: You cannot program them under XP. The drivers only work until Win98. Since the programming is stored in the stick, however, that is no problem, if you have an older PC or the owner of the stick has programmed it.
(Actually this is the most decent advantage over newer USB-sticks - if they get disconnected, their programming is gone)

On your own PCs side, if you don't have a gameport, which is NOT the VGA-connector of your graphics card(!), this would make little sense. You can check ebay for cheap soundcards, but you need to install them and deactivate the onboard sound in your BIOS. Or you can try to find a gameport-cards.
So, considering it is "only" a Combatstick, I'd suggest to rather get a cheap USB-stick from Saitek or equivalent. You'll probably have more fun with that.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

greets
Capt.LoneRanger

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v411/Arcadiac/Lone1copy.png

slipBall
11-26-2006, 10:45 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by ytareh:
I have the opportunity to use a CH joystick (Combatstick) but its a gameport(non USB) device.
Are these inferior in performance?Would it be worth getting and buying an adapter-easily available-where ?The 15 pin/hole socket is different to a graphics card (6600gt) one ,right?
Are the Combatsticks twist type sticks?
Any comments appreciated </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


It should work just fine....you could get the software here
http://www.chproducts.com/retail/tech_support_pc.html
Non twist I believe...If you enjoy it, then I would go for the usb vershion down the road<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f394/SlipBall/orders.jpg

WB_Outlaw
11-26-2006, 11:12 AM
If you really want to go that route, you can get a gameport to USB adapter and it will work fine. The Radio Shack one I have ($15) supports 4 or 5 axes and half a dozen or so buttons. I use it for my gameport rudder pedals, not my stick though.

--Outlaw.

WOODY01
11-26-2006, 09:21 PM
Ive heard mixed results about the Gameport &gt; USB adapter for stick and throttle, for some it will work for some it wont. Im still abuseing my WCS mk2 Throttle and FLCS stick for hours everyday...After over 12 years! They just go and go and go. As Capt Loneranger says the programming is a little tricky under win XP (though it can be done with a boot disk with the load software on it) I programed mine once, Calibrated it once, and left it at that. Once the buttons are programed to a function you can just program the sim to that button, simple, effective.
Just as an FYI (as has been sudjested above) Im running mine through a Soundblaster Live! card with the onbord sound disabled, works fantasticly. And I noticed the newer XFI soundcards once again have a Gameport connection http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f5/Woodyzeroone/Woody01sig1_3.jpg

Gryphonne
11-28-2006, 03:29 PM
Will it update all the default skins? They are, quite frankly, horrible, il2 MAT can fix the markings, but online without skin download the default skins look out of place somehow.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Take a look to the sky just before you die, it's the last time you will!

Gryphonne
11-28-2006, 03:29 PM
Will it update all the default skins? They are, quite frankly, horrible, il2 MAT can fix the markings, but online without skin download the default skins look out of place somehow.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Take a look to the sky just before you die, it's the last time you will!

rssmps
11-29-2006, 03:05 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by WB_Outlaw:
If you really want to go that route, you can get a gameport to USB adapter and it will work fine. The Radio Shack one I have ($15) supports 4 or 5 axes and half a dozen or so buttons. I use it for my gameport rudder pedals, not my stick though.

--Outlaw. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Outlaw,

I've got the same setup as you. How many axis do you get with the adapter?

I'm only getting 2, rudder & right toe brake.

AWL_Spinner
11-29-2006, 05:42 AM
I have a CH Flightstick Pro and CH Pro Pedals, all gameport. Ten years old and still as good as they were on day one, no need to upgrade for me.

Running fine under XP with IL2. I did try a gameport-&gt;USB adapter, basically worked fine but with both my controllers attached seemed to run out of axis and I had some issues with the hatswitch, I went back to gameport.

I have a soundcard with a gameport and disabled the soundcard bit in control panel, in favour of the onboard. There are also plenty of gameport cards available with just the port.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

Cheers, Spinner

<hr class="ev_code_hr" />
o Squads! Take a look at the ADW War (http://adwwar.com/en/#), it's fantastic!
o Spinner has been alive in ADW for a maximum of: 3hrs 38mins!

Philipscdrw
11-29-2006, 06:34 AM
Ooh - I hadn't heard of Gameport&gt;USB adaptors. If I use one with my CHPro pedals (gameport), can I use the CHPro controller software to combine the pedals with my USB yoke, for use in those ancient games which don't support multiple joysticks?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

------------------------------------------------------------
PhilipsCDRw

The "Il-2 Sturmovik: 1946" DVD will contain EVERYTHING since FB, including all the new addons and Pe-2.