PDA

View Full Version : My New PC!!!!!!



XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 12:44 PM
Hi guys!!!!

I have posted a while ago that I ordered some new bits and bobs.

I have actually changed that order and will aseemble my new PC tomorrow. I received all the bits and now I just hope it will work a treat.

I am currently running:

Case: ATX Midi Tower
CPU: Pentium III 600Mhz
Motherboard: Gigabyte BX 2000
RAM: 786 SDRAM
Sound: Sounblaster Live Value
GPU: Creative GeForce 3 Ti 200

So now I am replacing the Motherboard, CPU and RAm with:

CPU: AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz cooled with Aero 7+
RAM: Twinmos 512 Meg 400Mhz
Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-X with nForce 2 chipset 400Mhz Ram Support

So I am keeping the rest of the stuff for upgrade at a later stage.

But what do you guys think?

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 12:44 PM
Hi guys!!!!

I have posted a while ago that I ordered some new bits and bobs.

I have actually changed that order and will aseemble my new PC tomorrow. I received all the bits and now I just hope it will work a treat.

I am currently running:

Case: ATX Midi Tower
CPU: Pentium III 600Mhz
Motherboard: Gigabyte BX 2000
RAM: 786 SDRAM
Sound: Sounblaster Live Value
GPU: Creative GeForce 3 Ti 200

So now I am replacing the Motherboard, CPU and RAm with:

CPU: AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz cooled with Aero 7+
RAM: Twinmos 512 Meg 400Mhz
Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-X with nForce 2 chipset 400Mhz Ram Support

So I am keeping the rest of the stuff for upgrade at a later stage.

But what do you guys think?

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 12:53 PM
1 big problem. I am a PC tech, and I see a HUGE problem. The power supply on the case WONT support the Athlon. You may need a new power supply. Get a 350W P4 compliant supply. If you dont, you will have a LOT of problems. Like instability, locking, crashing, reboots, and finally it will fry your power supply and most likley your motherboard. I have seen it MANY times. The Athlons and new CPU's need a LOT of juce, and the old power supply's cant handle it. You may want to get a new case for 30-40$ with a power supply.

Gib

GianS wrote:
- Hi guys!!!!
-
- I have posted a while ago that I ordered some new
- bits and bobs.
-
- I have actually changed that order and will aseemble
- my new PC tomorrow. I received all the bits and now
- I just hope it will work a treat.
-
- I am currently running:
-
- Case: ATX Midi Tower
- CPU: Pentium III 600Mhz
- Motherboard: Gigabyte BX 2000
- RAM: 786 SDRAM
- Sound: Sounblaster Live Value
- GPU: Creative GeForce 3 Ti 200
-
- So now I am replacing the Motherboard, CPU and RAm
- with:
-
- CPU: AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz cooled with Aero 7+
- RAM: Twinmos 512 Meg 400Mhz
- Motherboard: Asus A7N8X-X with nForce 2 chipset
- 400Mhz Ram Support
-
- So I am keeping the rest of the stuff for upgrade at
- a later stage.
-
- But what do you guys think?
-
- Regards
-
- Gian
-
-



I am now accepting donations to help get the PBY flyable.

<center><form action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
<input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_xclick">
<input type="hidden" name="business" value="gibbage@lycos.com">
<input type="hidden" name="item_name" value="Gibbages IL2; FB PBY Catalina Fund">
<input type="hidden" name="no_note" value="1">
<input type="hidden" name="currency_code" value="USD">
<input type="hidden" name="tax" value="0">
<input type="image" src="http://gibbageart.havagame.com/donations.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!">
</form></center>

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 01:38 PM
Hi Gibbage1

Thanks for the promt reply.

Oh yes, I forgot to add, i did by a Q-Tech 350 power supply.

Should that be ok?

Thanks

Gian

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 01:52 PM
That should be o.k.

I currently have a 350w PS and so may peripherals it's hard to keep track. I'm not having any PS issues although I would feel more comfortable with a 400w unit.

Here are most of what's sapping my power:

Yamaha 44x24x44 CD-RW
Pioneer 16x DVD
Sony 510 UL DVD-RW
Creative Audigy 2 (5.25" live drive for platinum)
1.44 floppy
Track IR
FX 5900 Ultra
Sandisk universal flash card reader
4 case fans (2 on mobo connectors, 2 on PS)

These are most of the items that are directly connected to the PS in my machine (through 4 pin or USB connection).


http://home.earthlink.net/~aclzkim1/_uimages/p47atm.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 01:55 PM
I recommend you to double the amount of RAM, 512 megs will only give you a lot of stutter...

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 02:05 PM
Really 512mB not enough, I mean more is always good but it is out of my budget for the moment.

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 02:10 PM
Yep it's not enough, but after a closer look on your system specs i would say a new video card is more important. 9700 is a good choice /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 02:42 PM
Thanks Lanaaja

Will keep that in mind /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Regards

Gian

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 04:01 PM
hey gian you will be very pleased with your rig as its now almost identical to mine

btw my comp came with a 250w psu and ran perfectly stable,ive only just upgraded to an enermax 460 as i plan to get an fx5900 128mb soon

xp2600 333fsb
1024 pc2700
winxp
gf3ti200
sblive5.1
enermax 460 silent

with this i get aboput 50-60 fps in cockpit on just under perfect settings drops to 30-40 when on zoom facing a big city


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
G-BPDU
http://www.southernflightcentre.com/warrior-s.jpg

I fly this!!

http://www.tangmerepilots-raf.co.uk
No601-Squadron Auxiliary Air Force/tea boy

ZG77_Nagual
09-05-2003, 04:11 PM
You will want a new video card soon- sweet spot in the market is probably ati's 9500 or 9700 pro. The fx5900 is very expensive. Looks good otherwise though.

http://pws.chartermi.net/~cmorey/pics/p47janes.jpg

XyZspineZyX
09-05-2003, 04:52 PM
@ Laanaja

double the ram?, lot of stutter?, what they hay u goin on about? I just upgraded from 256mb sdram to new mobo and 512mb pc3200, and runnin fine at 40ish fps during furballs, sure more ram is always nice (to an extent), and i dont get any stutter
my sys

p4 1800A
Aopen MX46-533GN
512Mb pc3200 ram
Hercules geforce3-ti500
gametheater xp 6.1
win xp pro, etc etc

konigwolf