PDA

View Full Version : Saitek Pro Pedals Toebrakes help



BrotherVoodoo
01-27-2007, 08:14 AM
I also have this posted in the community help area...
I have just recieved my new Saitek pedals today and have gotten them installed. They feel wonderful! I plan to post a review once I have a few days under my belt with them.
My question is how do you set up BOTH toe bakes to work? I think I can figure out how to assign the key press to the axis band but it would be cool to still have the axis on both toes. With my CH pedals I used a script and CH Manager to accomplish this. I have installed the SST software from Saitek but I am usure if or how I can accomplish the same thing. Has anyone fought this battle yet?
My work around so far is to use the Saitek software and leave the left toe brake to axis (which I assign in the game to the brakes axis) and I set the right toe brake to bands where above 75% of toebrake is set to output 'B' repeatedly. Any other suggestions are welcome.


S! and Thanks.

Lehnert
01-27-2007, 09:44 AM
Hallo,

I think it does not work.
After many try and error I have at the left toe brake the park brake at carriers and the right one for normal brakes.

Cheers
GErhard

Shrodix
01-27-2007, 10:00 AM
modify your setting.ini in user like this :

id0 = rudder pedals
id1 = joystick

only left pedals

AXE_RZ JoystickDevice0=rudder
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_X JoystickDevice0=brakes
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice1=-power

both pedals :

AXE_RZ JoystickDevice0=rudder
AXE_X JoystickDevice1=aileron
AXE_X JoystickDevice0=brakes (left pedal)
AXE_Y JoystickDevice0=brakes (right pedal)
AXE_Y JoystickDevice1=elevator
AXE_Z JoystickDevice1=-power

result :http://img413.imageshack.us/img413/3010/pedalsoq8.jpg

Waldo.Pepper
01-27-2007, 10:52 AM
Can you not set BOTH brake pedals to press B repeatedly? That would work. I use joy2key.exe to do just that, because I have chpro pedals (gameport version) and it works just great.

Chivas
01-27-2007, 11:48 AM
I'm probably doing something wrong but it seems the Saitek toe brake setup is the worst most unintuitive software I've ever seen. Having to set the toebrake axis to bands and reverse the left and right bands to set a keystroke to each foot pedal is goofy. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

BirdieNum-nums
01-28-2007, 12:06 AM
I just bought the Saitek pedals last week. 200$ Canadian funds, ouch! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif Price aside, they're the dog's bollocks! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif It took me about 5 days to get used to them. Maybe about 15 hours of flying. But now that I'm used to them... I find it sooooo much easier and more accurate to line up a target in my sights. It's just so incredibly smooth to line up. With a twisty joystick, you can't really get a smooth action going, by controlling all 3 axes (that's plural for axis). I guess 3 axes is just too much for one controller. Otherwise, maybe they would have designed real aircraft that way too. But they didn't! And why? Cuz it doesn't work very well. And I never thought it would matter that much UNTIL I bought the darn pedals finally.

I'll tell ya, I sure hesitated to buy them, because of the steep price, (and I certainly ain't rich) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif, but honestly, I can't believe I ever flew this long without them. If you haven't tried rudder pedals, you don't know what you're missing http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/34.gif. But be patient the first few days. Let yourself get accustomed to them. You'll be all messed up for a few days, and you'll crash, you'll taxi off into the weeds, you'll miss your targets, you'll cuss a lot... but a few days later... you'll be a feckin' MENACE in the skies!! Believe me! But don't take it from me, go out and try them!!

(gee whiz, I should be a salemen for Saitek)

Oh, about your question: I haven't got both pedals to brake individual wheels, they just seem to brake both wheels regardless of which pedal's toe brake I use. I was kinda puzzled too. I hope someone finds a solution. The fly in the ointment in an otherwise fantastic product. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

I mean, the brakes work, you just can't do any fancy tarmac choreography, that's all. But maybe that's overated anyway.

Cheers,
Birdie Num-nums a.k.a. The Jabberwocky

RamsteinUSA
01-28-2007, 12:36 AM
For Saitek pedals, there is some script you add to enable toe brakes,, it's in the post by Shrodix.

I am getting close to buy some new pedals so am interested in all this info..

BrotherVoodoo
01-29-2007, 12:29 PM
You guys are great, thanks for the responses. You are the man Shrodix, you have laid out some excellent information. I will try this as soon as I get home tonite and let you all know. If this works correctly these pedals will be perfect. So far I love them...the wide stanse, the awesome feeling of pushing against a control surface with the tensioning knob. I will still be doing a full review...but these pedals are sweeet compared to my CH pedals.
I will let you know how these changes go guys.

Thanks again and S!

WB_Outlaw
01-29-2007, 03:06 PM
I'm a bit confused. What's the point of making both pedals "work" when the game doesn't support differential brakes?

--Outlaw.

BrotherVoodoo
01-29-2007, 04:38 PM
It works perfectly! Shrodix, you helped me accomplish exactly what I was trying to do, I thank you sir. I now have both toe brakes working perfectly.
The reason for wanting to accomplish this Outlaw is that real planes had 2 toebrakes, one left and one right. Even though this game does not support individual L/R brakes the above work around emulates that function. It's not true left and right, but it sure feels good. It's all about the immersion, for me anyways.
With this being the last bug I had to work through, I will write up the review. Expect it to be Raving, these pedals are awesome. I consider them to be a upgrade to my CH Pro Pedals.

S! and thanks again all.