PDA

View Full Version : Is anyone on here Running an ATI 9800 Xtreme 256mb?



VonShlagnoff
03-10-2006, 03:43 AM
If so how's it cope with the game?

georgeo76
03-10-2006, 11:36 AM
Is that the same as 9800XT? If so, that's what I use.


Perfect Mode
water=0
1280x960
2xAA, 2xAF

That gives me about around 30fps adv on TBD track and runs smooth online and off.

TgD Thunderbolt56
03-10-2006, 12:14 PM
The card will run FB just fine, but it's all relative to your processor as this sim has shown.

What proc are you using?

Treetop64
03-10-2006, 12:19 PM
Originally posted by georgeo76:
Is that the same as 9800XT? If so, that's what I use.


Perfect Mode
water=0
1280x960
2xAA, 2xAF

That gives me about around 30fps adv on TBD track and runs smooth online and off.

I feel like I'm way late in asking this, but how did you get perfect mode using an ATI card? I'm running an X1900XTX, and in both OGL and DX "Perfect" is greyed out.

Art-J
03-10-2006, 01:54 PM
Hmmm.... "stencil buffer" option in il-2 setup must be checked, IIRC. No perfect mode without it.

Cheers - Art (9800Pro 128 here)

VW-IceFire
03-10-2006, 04:34 PM
Originally posted by Treetop64:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by georgeo76:
Is that the same as 9800XT? If so, that's what I use.


Perfect Mode
water=0
1280x960
2xAA, 2xAF

That gives me about around 30fps adv on TBD track and runs smooth online and off.

I feel like I'm way late in asking this, but how did you get perfect mode using an ATI card? I'm running an X1900XTX, and in both OGL and DX "Perfect" is greyed out. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Has to be OpenGL and as long as you select the proper card type/series or enable Stencil Buffer if you have custom video settings you'll be fine.

Perfect mode has always run on ATI video cards. Infact the very first screen shots of Perfect mode I believe came from a 9700Pro which was ideal for running Perfect back in the day. So was the GeForce 4 Ti4600.

VonShlagnoff
03-11-2006, 01:12 AM
Thanks for the replys chaps, at the moment I'm running an AMD 2800+ but for the last week its been clocked to run at the same speed as a 3200+

Jumoschwanz
03-11-2006, 08:14 AM
Ok, this ought to interest you. I am running an AMD xp3200 athlon/32bit on an Nforce2 motherboard with a gig of ram. I was running the ATI9800pro, but then I bought the AGP version of the ATI x850xtPE.
With this setup I am running 1200x1600x32 in perfect mode, water=1 smoothly! I get 32fps on the BlackDeath trk., and 59fps on the BeauTorp trk.

Changing water to "0" only nets me five more fps, so I keep it at water=1 and enjoy the reflections and such.
With the 9800pro, I could not run these settings. I had to drop down to "excellent" landscape, and it's crappy looking water.
Visibility of dots is also better with the higher settings and newer card.
I run this on a Dell 2001fp lcd, and it looks absolutely fabulous. Running the same lcd on the 9800pro did not have as nice a picture, the colors were not as good or as bright.

So I don't know how much longer the AGP version of the x850xt is avaliable, if it still is, but for an AGP rig it has got to be the best out there. The card must be TWICE as powerful as the 9800pro, to be able to get the fps on the high settings I am using.
If I drop my resolution for the sim down to 1280x960x32 I get a 10fps jump to 42, but I like the 1200x1600x32, and it runs smoothly on line and off except maybe over very large cities or extreme aaa. I never have any problems getting the task at hand accomplished.

My rig runs this sim well enough that I have no thoughts of upgrading until maybe after Bob comes out, and that will only be if I am still even playing with flight sims by then....

Oh, and to get perfect mode you have to be running in x32bit color mode, and the stencil buffer thing has to be going. Yes I could do it with an 9700/9800pro, but the framerates were just not there at the high res I like to run.

Jumoschwanz

VonShlagnoff
03-12-2006, 02:18 AM
Originally posted by Jumoschwanz:
Ok, this ought to interest you. I am running an AMD xp3200 athlon/32bit on an Nforce2 motherboard with a gig of ram. I was running the ATI9800pro, but then I bought the AGP version of the ATI x850xtPE.
With this setup I am running 1200x1600x32 in perfect mode, water=1 smoothly! I get 32fps on the BlackDeath trk., and 59fps on the BeauTorp trk.

Changing water to "0" only nets me five more fps, so I keep it at water=1 and enjoy the reflections and such.
With the 9800pro, I could not run these settings. I had to drop down to "excellent" landscape, and it's crappy looking water.
Visibility of dots is also better with the higher settings and newer card.
I run this on a Dell 2001fp lcd, and it looks absolutely fabulous. Running the same lcd on the 9800pro did not have as nice a picture, the colors were not as good or as bright.

So I don't know how much longer the AGP version of the x850xt is avaliable, if it still is, but for an AGP rig it has got to be the best out there. The card must be TWICE as powerful as the 9800pro, to be able to get the fps on the high settings I am using.
If I drop my resolution for the sim down to 1280x960x32 I get a 10fps jump to 42, but I like the 1200x1600x32, and it runs smoothly on line and off except maybe over very large cities or extreme aaa. I never have any problems getting the task at hand accomplished.

My rig runs this sim well enough that I have no thoughts of upgrading until maybe after Bob comes out, and that will only be if I am still even playing with flight sims by then....

Oh, and to get perfect mode you have to be running in x32bit color mode, and the stencil buffer thing has to be going. Yes I could do it with an 9700/9800pro, but the framerates were just not there at the high res I like to run.

Jumoschwanz

Cheers for the info mate, I got the 9800 XT off of ebay for 66, about 100 cheaper than they are in the shops, so I took the risk and spent the money that I can afford to lose, I'm running a 9600 pro 128mb at the moment so it's going to be a jump in the right direction anyway.

Like everyone else I'm waiting till after BOB arrives before I do a major upgrade, I just wanted to try and give my machine a cheap boost that would give it a chance of running bob whilst I research whats available when it eventually arrives.

LT.INSTG8R
03-12-2006, 03:55 AM
Jumo the reason your 9800 didnt do it as well was because of the high Resolution you were running. The X850 can handle much higher Res's without slowing down. Higher Res=GPU limitations, Lower Res=CPU limitations