PDA

View Full Version : Anyway to play at 1680x1050?



lairdperkins
10-03-2005, 06:27 AM
Hey guys, I just got a new dell 2005fpw Widescreen panel that runs native at 1680x1050.

There's no option in game for anything higher than 1152x768, so I tried editing the conf.ini file, but no dice. The game just defaulted back to 640x480.

The PC should be able to handle 1680x1050 no problem, but I'm curious if anyone's found a way to get Pacific Fighters (and FB for that matter) to run at widescreen resolutions?

Cheers,
Perk

lairdperkins
10-03-2005, 06:36 AM
Never mind - I set SaveAspect and ChangeScreenRes both to 0 and it fixed it... yummy. Now if I could jsut figure out why things like bombbay doors, the SBD dive brakes, and damage textures don't show up... thought I read somewhere it had to do with the 7800....

lairdperkins
10-03-2005, 07:06 AM
Hrm... setting landscape detail down to excellent fixes the texture problem... but looks uglier... when's the patch? =P

BaldieJr
10-03-2005, 07:23 AM
Water=3
ForceShaders1x=1

Waldo.Pepper
10-03-2005, 08:32 AM
The schwartz is strong with this new one.

Loki-PF
10-03-2005, 08:48 AM
Originally posted by Waldo.Pepper:
The schwartz is strong with this new one.

HEheheheh... Wait till he finds out its almost impossible to see E.A. until its too late at those resolutions!

Then he'll take his shiny new hardware and crank it down to 8x6! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/mockface.gif

major_setback
10-03-2005, 09:58 AM
Screenshots...might be nice.
Go on. Post one! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif

lairdperkins
10-03-2005, 08:42 PM
Here's a couple of screenshots. These are both with pixel shader 2/3 ON. In the first shot you can see the missing dive brakes on the SBD - symptom of the texture draw problem with the Nvidia drivers (I'm running beta 78.05).

The second shot is just the kamikaze demo reel, shows off lots of nice effects and water=3.

http://webpages.charter.net/lairdperkins/SBD-pixelshader2.jpg
http://webpages.charter.net/lairdperkins/kamikaze-pixelshader2.jpg

lairdperkins
10-03-2005, 08:43 PM
Next step's going to be to force 8x AntiAliasing on (its at 2x in those pics) and see what sort of permormance hit I take. It's running around 60fps as above.

major_setback
10-04-2005, 05:57 AM
Nice screenshots, thanks!

codeseven7
10-06-2005, 05:45 PM
Perk, I just ordered a Dell 2005FPW, glad to see PF will run at that res., nice pics, cant wait!

What are your specs?

codeseven
__________________
DFI LP NF4 SLI-DR (BIOS 623-3)
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 939 90nm 1mb L2 cache
2GB (2x1GB) Crucial Ballistix Tracer PC4000
1-BFG GeForce 7800 GTX OC 256mb
WD 74 Gb SATA 10,000 rpm Raptor
NEC 3540A DVD RW
Mitsumi Floppy 7 in 1 USB Card Reader/Smart Media
Crappy Soundblaster Live Value (Creative X-FI, when it's x64 drivers come out)
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 510 SLI
Lian Li PC-60B Plus case
XP x64 Pro

lairdperkins
10-06-2005, 07:10 PM
Just about the same as yours.
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum SLI MB
AMD Athlon 64 3500
2 gb Corsair DDR400
WD 250 gb SATA2 drive
Leadtek 7800 GTX - slightly overclocked
Surepower 500 watt PSU
Creative Audigy 4 (cheap, and gets sound setup off the CPU which is already maxed trying to feed the 7800 =)

I must say I'm extremely impressed with how good Pacific Fighters looks on new hardware. For a five year old plus game engine, its extremely impressive. Cudos to 1c - now if they could just pressure Nvidia into fixing the driver issue =P

codeseven7
10-06-2005, 07:29 PM
Cool. Have you read this thread? Is that what your Wide Angle view is? (ie, lesser verticle view)

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m/2341038753

fly_zo
10-07-2005, 10:33 AM
Never mind - I set SaveAspect and ChangeScreenRes both to 0 and it fixed it... yummy. Now if I could jsut figure out why things like bombbay doors, the SBD dive brakes, and damage textures don't show up... thought I read somewhere it had to do with the 7800....

Hi lairdperkins,
I have resolution set on 1280x1024 and everything looks great, exept with fog texture ( upper and lower part of screen). Did You found solution to fix that?

thanks

lairdperkins
10-07-2005, 01:59 PM
fly_zo: Honestly I'm not sure. I've been flying single player p-40 campaign in New Gunniea since I got the new monitor and haven't really encountered fog. I'll test it when I get home tonight and let you know.

codeseven7: I assume it is cropped a bit top and bottom. It honestly doesn't bother me any since I can just kick the FoV out and STILL have a larger target to shoot at (since the monitor itself is larger than the 19" CRT it replaced). I don't particularly care about total field of view since I'm constantly scanning with the snap views anyway - (I played WAY too much Airwarrior and Warbirds a few years back)

codeseven7
10-23-2005, 04:54 PM
Hi Laird, got my 2005FPW. So now I set res to 1680x1050 and SaveAspect and ChangeScreenRes both to 0, what do I set FOV to? Any other settings I need? Thanks

codeseven

codeseven7
10-24-2005, 11:05 AM
Bump

codeseven7
10-25-2005, 01:14 AM
Resolved!

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/49310655/m/8881034073