PDA

View Full Version : Spot the dot (settings)



Hawgdog
07-04-2007, 07:40 AM
Hmmm, I got bored and thankfully I didn't fry anything...however I went from being able to spot the dot, or enemy planes from what felt like a great distance to my new settings About as photographic as possible with my rig) And now the planes perfectly blend in with the sky, or ground...only over water or cloud back drop can I see them in time...
um...help?

T_O_A_D
07-04-2007, 07:51 AM
Fall back to 1024x768x32 if you are still running a CRT.

After all the game was optimized for that setting.

Normal fun flying I run that rez with full AA, and AF

In compition though I drop both of them down as low as my card will allow. Its not as pretty but the courser settings allow things to show up just a bit sooner.

As far as the ground clutter eating up the boogies, I have no cure.

Hawgdog
07-04-2007, 07:59 AM
I'm using an LCD and after reading about "native resolution this and native resolution that" I've got the game and desktop at 1280x1024 knowing full well that the game was originally a 4:3 res
Also, I'm messing around with EiZons most excellent config.ini editor ware.
And Black death doesnt really seem to be affected by more than 2fps with my hacked config setting

BrotherVoodoo
07-04-2007, 08:36 AM
The best resolution for dots is 1024x768. I personally use 1280x1024 and have relativly little problems seeing the dots. I play with a 32" LCD TV for my monitor.

T_O_A_D
07-04-2007, 08:44 AM
Originally posted by BrotherVoodoo:
The best resolution for dots is 1024x768. I personally use 1280x1024 and have relativly little problems seeing the dots. I play with a 32" LCD TV for my monitor.

Show Off http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif 32" monitor, I'm green with envy. What model are you using?


HD can you post your conf settings?
It might help someone nail the problem.

BrotherVoodoo
07-04-2007, 10:48 AM
Not trying to show off http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Its a Hisense I got from Tiger Direct about a year ago. DVI input, 8ms refresh, it works great for gaming. Not much more than a good monitor, I think I paid 800 ish then, prices have come down since though.

carguy_
07-04-2007, 04:18 PM
Low gamma, above average contrast.Play some with brightness.For me it works very well with IL2 but other games are horrible with this color setup.GTR2 for example - night racing impossible.