PDA

View Full Version : Does Time Change in FB?



XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 06:00 PM
I may be wrong about this, but it seem that the time never changes in IL2. Meaning, if you do a QMB at around sunset, it stays sunset, when it should eventually get dark. Does FB have this modelled? Can you actually see the time changing?

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 06:00 PM
I may be wrong about this, but it seem that the time never changes in IL2. Meaning, if you do a QMB at around sunset, it stays sunset, when it should eventually get dark. Does FB have this modelled? Can you actually see the time changing?

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 06:02 PM
Have not seen this happen in either IL2 or IL2:FB, tried a couple times but nothing. Wish it was modeled just as found in OPF.



http://fluxout.homestead.com/files/Thx-32x.jpg


"You can discover what your enemy fears most by observing the means he uses to frighten you"

Eric Hoffer (1902 - 1983)

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 06:11 PM
Its modeled in IL-2, but I don't think it is for FB..... is it?
- for online play I mean


Message Edited on 07/03/0310:12AM by EyesBlack

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 06:29 PM
Yes time does change. I've set DF's to start at sunset adn then as the fight progresses it gets darker and darker. You just have to be patient.

Cpt.LoneRanger
07-03-2003, 06:31 PM
Yup!

It IS modelled in IL2FB.

Joined a server on sunset. 1 1/2 hours later I left, because it was too dark. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

greet
Cpt.LoneRanger

Leimboy
07-03-2003, 06:55 PM
Oh yes, it's modelled!

I have had servers running for 4-5 hours, from early morning 'til mid-day and early night to midnight.
The lighting at certain hours even change with summer and winter maps (darker at winter).
Try starting a server at 5 o'clock (summertime) in the morning and let it run for a couple of hours.
You'll see the difference, trust me.
Of course it takes some time since it seems that a game minute equals a RL minute, and the changes are subtle.

-Ron

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 06:58 PM
Time does not change in FB if you are waiting for the patch./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 07:05 PM
Time definitely changes in FB.


<center>http://www.blitzpigs.com/forum/images/avatars/bp_geminiCombined.gif

<center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">Warning: My intense sense of humor may tug at the stick crammed in your shaded spot.</table style></center> <center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">If you treasure your lack of humor please refrain from reading my posts as they may cause laughter.</table style></center> <center><table style="filter:glow[color=red,strength=1)">Heaven Forbid.</table style></center>
<table style="filter:glow[color=black,strength=1)">
<font size=+2><font color="black">Still loving my P-39</font></font> </table style>
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif
<table style="filter:glow[color=green,strength=4)"> www.blitzpigs.com</center> (http://www.blitzpigs.com</center>) </table style>

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 07:23 PM
Yes it changes .... one time I was playing around 6:00 pm and next thing I know it was 3:00 am ....Man my wife was P1SSED!!!

"We make war that we may live in peace."

Aristotle

"We make war that we may live in peace."

Aristotle

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 07:31 PM
Excellent! Thanks...

I guess I just don't live long enough to see the sun go down >8)

XyZspineZyX
07-03-2003, 08:44 PM
yeah it does change, i've played till it turned into night a couple times http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://mysite.verizon.net/vze4jz7i/ls.gif

Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 12:22 AM
It does change.

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 12:41 AM
Un-observant fool.

Pay more attention next time, please./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

<center><table bgcolor="black" width="800px"><tr><td>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/banner.jpg



<center> Click here for the greeting! (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/in-out.wav)</center>

<center>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/moloko.jpg

<font size="+1">Horrorshow!</font></center>


</td></tr></table></center>

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 12:44 AM
bear in mind that in winter in russia twilight goes for a very very long time .... hours in fact

also the time change is not accelerated, if you are used to games like NWN where a day lasts half an hour or so it may appear that nothing is happening

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:08 AM
I don't know, but when I'm playing one minute it's 9 in the morning and the next thing I know it's time to go to bed. There does seem to be some sort of time shifting going on.

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:14 AM
AFAIK there`s always fool moon.

"degustibus non disputandum"

<center>http://carguy.w.interia.pl/tracki/sig23d.jpg

<center>"Weder Tod noch Teufel!"</font>[/B]</center> (http://www.jzg23.de>[B]<font)

fluke39
07-04-2003, 01:20 AM
rhett69 wrote:
- Yes it changes .... one time I was playing around
- 6:00 pm and next thing I know it was 3:00 am ....Man
- my wife was P1SSED!!!
-

one of the (many) things that first impressed me about il2 - i was still in a phase where just flying around exploring the map was a thrill - i started in full daylight and flew my 109 around until the sun was almost down and my fuel ran out - it added a great amount to the feeling of actually being there. - again one of the many excellent features of this very excellent sim /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif




<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/ffluke.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:28 AM
One reason it seems like it takes so long is that sim time, when set to "normal" is not equal to real time !

Watch the second hand on any of the aircraft clocks and it takes nearly 4 minutes for the second hand to tick off 1 minute.

I thought for a long time that this was done to improve frame rate or some such but it bugged me that a lot of the time things seemed to happening in slow motion, such as landing approaches and take offs.

What really got me interested is when I started working in FMB. Set something to happen ten minutes into the mission and it happens ten minutes in by the clocks in the planes which means nearly 40 minutes real time.

Unlike the relative merits of different aircraft, the view from the cockpit of the Fw190, or whether vulching or shooting parachutists is good sportsmanship, time, speed and distance are mathematically linked and can't be changed or debated !

What's that you say, not possible that you are actually flying at 1/4 actual speed, well, try this little experiment and see for yourself...

Pick a plane with a real easy to read clock. The He111 is a good one. Plop it down on a runway some where, doesn't matter where, it's just the clock. Next set up a fighter or other plane to fly between to waypoints of a know distance (two grid lines on a map for instance) at a given speed. Let the AI do this as it will be more consistant. Time how long it takes to fly the distance in real time and compare to the elapsed time on the sim clock in the plane.

For my experiment I used a FW190 set to fly at 300kph. I started it a little before the first grid line so the AI had time to reach a stable speed and altitude. I set the altitude at 100 meters to minimize an altitude induced error. At 300kph it should have covered 5km per minute. I timed it until it had covered 10km per the map. Elapsed real time 3 minutes 40 seconds. Elapsed sim time per the cockpit clock 2 minutes.

This explanes a few things that had puzzled me for some time. One was why the Bf109 seemed to have such a great range in the sim. By sim time it will fly about an hour on one tank of gas. But it takes 3 hours and 40 or so minutes of real time to do that. Ever notice after flying a campaign mission that took nearly an hour of real time to complete that the cockpit clock had only ticked off about 15 minutes.

I'm guessing that this was do to make the game more playable, better frame rates, makes the map areas seem larger than the are, other things I'm not aware of.

So it looks like to me we are flying in slow motion. So if you think you're a hot pilot, crank the sim time up to 4X and try again !

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:35 AM
interesting

I always navigate using the in-ockpit clocks and work on the basis of a map square every 2 minutes at 300kmh by cockpit clock,

I have never noticed this discrepancy before and will check it out

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:37 AM
Just for your Info if you are in a server & you would like to know what time it is PRESS SHIFT+TAB then type tod & press ENTER

It will display the time in the command console

Press SHIFT+TAB to leave the Console

<Center><div style="width:700;colorhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gifurple;font-size:14pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=black,strength=11)"><Center>
I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold
I am alive forevermore.
I am the Alpha and the Omega
the Begining and the End.</div> <center>

<center><FONT COLOR="white">ӚFJ M œ R D ˜ ӡ[/i]</FONT>

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:37 AM
Hmm, I thought time ran a little slow. I was a little miffed at the FMB timing where events just didn't seem to add up and took much longer than what they were set for.

This has got to be a bug, I can't see any other reason for time to run slower. Many games that model time do so faster for playability sake since most people don't have that kind of time to play games.

This is a sim however and should be synonomous with real time!

Anyway, I wonder if the sun and moon change positions as well.



<center>http://members.rogers.com/4xtreme/chbanner.jpg

fluke39
07-04-2003, 01:45 AM
well i'll be darned
can't say iv'e noticed the clock running slow or anything - but surely if you turn the clock to 4x it isn't normal speed - the planes maneuver/ fly way to fast - or do you mean that the planes fly as normal in 'real time' and just the outside world is slown down
o heck im confused
i know what i mean but it's probably better if you ignore this post!


<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/ffluke.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 01:54 AM
PriK wrote:
- Hmm, I thought time ran a little slow. I was a
- little miffed at the FMB timing where events just
- didn't seem to add up and took much longer than what
- they were set for.
-
- This has got to be a bug, I can't see any other
- reason for time to run slower. Many games that
- model time do so faster for playability sake since
- most people don't have that kind of time to play
- games.
-
- This is a sim however and should be synonomous with
- real time!
-
- Anyway, I wonder if the sun and moon change
- positions as well.



Given that even basic VFR navigation needs accurate times as time equates to distance for a navigator, this is an important issue

the claim here is that the sim runs SLOWER than real time which is a worry but I cannot got onto FB at present to check it out.

The sun definitely moves, if you change the time while in game with the console command the sun repositions. I have never taken any notice of the moon.

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 02:26 AM
I just tested the clock in the Bf-109 F4, and it's exactly right. I tested it at 1/4 speed too, and it was right on then as well. I can't believe that they would purposely slow it down, it might be a bug though. Does it work correctly for anyone else?

Edit- tested it in the Lagg-3 1941, and the He-111, still correct.


248th_Vgamer
C/O IL-2 Sturmovik Division
248th VFS
http://www.248th.com

Message Edited on 07/03/0309:40PM by Vgamer_248th

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 03:38 AM
Are you saying that the second hand takes exactly one minute to for 1 complete rotation ? Only way it works on my machine is to crank the sim time up to 4X.

Hell maybe it's my machine or some setting somewhere. I don't recall ever changing any default time settings.

Original IL2 seemed the same way to me but I haven't tried any timing there.

Yes planes are hard to control at 4 X because the control settings are too sensitive.

Be interesting to see if it's just me or if others are experiencing this same effect.

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 04:11 AM
as i said earlier i calculate time to target all teh time, but use the internal clock in the 109/190 's

still i think i would notice a 4X discrepancy against real time will check it and post the results

XyZspineZyX
07-04-2003, 05:21 AM
Maybe it has something to do with how fast your computer is? If the clocks are incorrect for you then try turning down the graphics settings and see if that makes a difference. I have a P4 2.4ghz, 512mb pc2700 RAM, and a GeForce 4 ti4200, That's the only thing that i can think of that might affect that.


248th_Vgamer
C/O IL-2 Sturmovik Division
248th VFS
http://www.248th.com