PDA

View Full Version : Best resolution settings for quality and fps



blackpulpit1970
10-17-2005, 09:57 AM
Was wondering what is best compromise for resolution settings, here is my computer specs. Amd fx-55,2gigs corsair ram,nvidia 7800gtx card,640 watt psu,asus 8ln sli deluxe motherboard,21 inch samsung monitor(1600x1200 native resolution) at the moment im flyin with 1024x768x32 and get over 65 fps, should i boost my resolution to look a little better and is that good fps.

Kuna15
10-17-2005, 10:51 AM
IMO that is very good result (frame rate).
I think that you can go higher in video settings. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Also check the plane visibility (dots), the dot visibility is not the same on all resolutions, and that is very important.

You can check it on black death track, start the track and look at the aircraft dots (formation of IL-2s below), you should be able to notice differences in dot visibility as you switch between resolutions.

ytareh
10-17-2005, 11:21 AM
Definitely go 1280x1024 and higher if possible(Id guess you could)Someone once wrote that resolution is EVERYTHING with regard to graphics options.With the current flat panel generation most of us dont have option to go above 1280x1024.Try the higher choice even if it means cutting down on other graphics boost options (AntiAliasing etc)Id love to hear how you get on...1600x1200 and a machine with the power to run it should be sweet!Once fps is half decent theres really no point in pumping it up higher IMO ,go for the max res.You may need to change res. in conf.ini.....

Chuck_Older
10-17-2005, 01:15 PM
One thing to bear in mind- FB is native to 1024x768. Check out the way the switches and lights look in the menues at that resolution, versus higher ones

Some people say that the visibility is better at 1024x768. With the sim being native to that resolution, there is a possibility this is true. You might want to look into it

Monson74
10-17-2005, 01:21 PM
Yes - FB looks er.. different at other resolutions than 1024x768 - I'm not saying it looks wrong. My bottleneck is the monitor which won't allow me to run higher than 1024x768 with a decent refresh rate but with AA cranked up it looks fine enough for me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Bearcat99
10-17-2005, 01:35 PM
Although with your ig you could go higher.... lots higher (What you braggin on the sly there kiddo... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif?) Try 1260x980x32. Better res with not much of a frame hit...... you could probably go maxed out d@mn near... but if you want to keep the high frames so that you wont have problems an any maps no matter how much flak or how many objects there are or planes in the air then do the 1260x980 thing. You will probably loose @ 3 fps.... I average@25-30 on those settings with my 6800GT256 on a XP3200 w 2GDDR400... But on Pacific missions with lots of flak.... it turns to a slide show. I particularly like the 1280x960 because it is the same look as 1024x768.. only finer res. At least on my PC. Divide the numbers 1024/768 and 1260/980 and you will come up with the same number.. which tells me that the ratio is the same, only the res is finer... unless I am reading that wrong.

micksaf
10-17-2005, 01:55 PM
You're reading it right Bearcat99, cause unless you like your circles oval (meters in the cockpit for ex )or the aircraft 'flat' with a wider wingspan, the ratio must always be the same that is :1.33 (1600*1200, 1260*980, 1024*768 etc..)

WOLFMondo
10-17-2005, 01:58 PM
My TFT's native resolution is 1280x1024 so I play it in that. Looks very nice.

Is your monitor a TFT or CRT? Remembering TFT's refresh rates are low and this dictates the max FPS in games, response time is the key to them though. Besides, you the human eye can't actual pick up much past 30 frames per second anyways.

Is your sound maxed out? That will give you an FPS hit but is really worth it.

With your set up you shouldn't have a problem running every thing maxed out, sound and graphics at whatever res you want and 6 or 8 times FSAA and all your textures etc uncompressed and on the quality settings in your GFX card setup.

panther3485
10-17-2005, 07:50 PM
I think you guys mean 1280x960. That keeps the correct aspect ratio (same as 1024x768 or 1600x1200).

I run 1280x960x32 and my system is not as powerful as blackpulpit1970's. (3.4 GHz P4 and 6800GT with 2 Gig DDR400) I get average frame rates in the high 40's to mid 50's, dropping to mid 20's in the hottest action (still very acceptable).

Best regards,
panther3485

AlGroover
10-18-2005, 01:47 AM
65 fps! I don't think my brain goes at half that speed.

krmichal
10-18-2005, 02:12 AM
Yeah, I've heard that many times... Why do you need 60 or more FPS, if your eyes aren't capable of seeing more than ~30 fps. But you have to remember that this is not real movement, but movement "emulation" on the screen... Most people have no problem in seeing difference between 30 and 60 fps in computer games (at least in 3D shooters it is huge difference, and overall smoothness feeling is much better at higher framerates).

Most "hardcore" players consider 30 fps much too slow for effective gameplay in games such as Quake, Enemy Territory etc. In flight simulators it is not as important, but still the higher the better. For example, I have something like 30 fps, which is more than playable, but where it comes to some bigger dogfight I get drop to ~7 fps, which hurts http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

JG52_Helgstrand
10-18-2005, 02:23 AM
1280x960 100hz here with a Sony E500 21" CRT
(can't beat a good CRT)

Looks great. No eye strain.

Anything less than 85 hurtz my head after 10 minutes.

Haven't checked my frame rates (I might later though just out of curiosity but then there's the cat thing lol) but I get no graphic stutters online (or off).

Tully__
10-18-2005, 05:06 AM
Originally posted by micksaf:
You're reading it right Bearcat99, cause unless you like your circles oval (meters in the cockpit for ex )or the aircraft 'flat' with a wider wingspan, the ratio must always be the same that is :1.33 (1600*1200, 1260*980, 1024*768 etc..) If your monitor is a 4:3 (1.33) aspect ratio. Many TFT's are 16:9 or wider and the game runs (mostly) fine at that aspect ratio, though it requires a manual edit of conf.ini to run in non- 4:3 ratios.

blackpulpit1970
10-18-2005, 06:23 AM
Thanks for the advice guys, well ive settled for 1280x1024x32 with 4aa and 8af or whatever it is and the picture quality is awesome, i also have it set to perfect=1 and my frame rates are still in the 60s so i will keep it there. I flew last night on warclouds and not a single stutter and the eye candy was perfect. Thanks for the advice all.

panther3485
10-18-2005, 08:35 AM
Oooops - sorry guys!

Quote from my previous post:
*"I run 1280x960x32 and my system is not as powerful as blackpulpit1970's. (3.4 GHz P4 and 6800GT with 2 Gig DDR400) I get average frame rates in the high 40's to mid 50's, dropping to mid 20's in the hottest action (still very acceptable)."

[Those frame rates are for the original IL-2, which I am currently playing as a 'last nostalgic fling' before removing it from my HD. My equivalent framerates for FB/AEP/PF are low 40's average dropping to about 20 minimum. Just adequate for smooth gameplay. I also forgot to mention that these are at 85 Hz on a Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB 21" CRT. I know that some day I'll go TFT or the like but for now at least, this is still a f@ckin' great monitor!]

Best regards,
panther3485