PDA

View Full Version : Flying the F4U online

Lead-Brick
06-12-2008, 04:29 PM
Hi All

Ok I've been flying Il2 for almost 2 years now and can do Ok in most aircraft online. The trouble is every time I fly the F4U vs. Japanese aircraft online I die horribly!! Are there some Corsair Experts out there that can give me a few pointers on how to fly this bird.

By the way I know how to B&Z etc. My trouble seems to be that I'm loosing way too much energy on my climb out and turn? Maybe that's the problem I'm trying to turn at the top of my zoom climb to re-acquire the target?

Anyways I'd be keen to hear from the experts

Cheers

Leady

Wildnoob
06-12-2008, 05:27 PM
Lead-Brick, air combat tactics are very extensive, but I gonna try bring the basic using of the F-4U. in fact, the tactis I gonna talk where not only intended to the F-4U, but for all figther aircraft.

first, I don't know, but have almost sure you are trying to turn with enemy figthers.

turningfigth with the F-4U can only be used against aircraft of it's wheigth classification. the only enemy aircraft I remember rigth now is the FW-190.

but, against Japanese planes the turning ratio of the aircraft is inferior, and you gonna be outurned all the time if you try turn with them. you will understand this when I talk about using of level speed in combat.

your first lesson : DON'T TURN !

the type of turn I are saying is the classic dogfigth, where where both pilot's try turn to get on the other 6. I also later gonna cited when you should turn.

just to confirm, try get on the enemy aircraft 6 by turning with it it's forbidden.

now, I gonna talk about level speed.

the F-4U as a powerful engine, and if you know how to use it correctly you can decide when you gonna figth or not against most enemy aircraft. this is very important, because stay in the offensive all the time will make you a easy target for a third enemy aircraft.

let's say you meet a Zero head on, wat you shold do ?