PDA

View Full Version : Joystick won't recentre

sc1949
07-09-2005, 11:33 PM
Hi, I have a thrustmaster afterburner II Joystick and throttle setup, and yesterday it started "dropping" the left wing on odd occasions. I read some posts after searching, and DLed some recalibration software that worked a bit (It was for Logitech), but it's still dropping that left wing. It's not my trim, as I have been testing all day. Does anyone know of a fix? I also opened it all up for cleaning, but it was good, and noticed its not the type with potentiometers, its USB, so not sure what you call this type now. Thanks for your trouble.

han freak solo
07-10-2005, 12:02 AM
Provided it is physically centered....

Go to...

Start menu

Settings

Control Panel

Game Controllers

Properties

Settings

Calibrate

And follow the instructions. Hopefully that is all you need!

sc1949
07-10-2005, 12:10 AM
Yes I've tried that, but XP doesn't let you recalibrate it. it shows as slightly off to one side. apparently directinput wont save yet, another MS wonder.

horseback
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
It's not Microsoft's responsibility to provide software to calibrate your stick, it's the manufacturers'. Check the Thrustmaster website and see what they have for your stick, and/or look for one of Tully's posts. He has a number of links to joystick resources in his sig and one of them may tell you what you need to know.

cheers

horseback

sc1949
07-10-2005, 02:11 AM
Yes I've got the latest Thrustmapper software from manufacturer, it used to let you calibrate under 98, but not XP, that option is missing. DXTweak2 from logitech will try to calibrate it, but until MS modifies DirectInput, XP wont save it (thats from them), thanks anyway.

han freak solo
07-10-2005, 07:29 AM
Hmmm. Try Community Help, SC.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=frm&s=400102&f=49310655

roybaty
07-10-2005, 08:28 AM
Not pots? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

sc1949
07-10-2005, 05:12 PM
Originally posted by roybaty: