PDA

View Full Version : Setting Advice for AMD64...Please



katchan
09-12-2006, 04:09 AM
Hi all, after a Loooooonnnnnnnggggggg break from il2/PF I've started playing and I figure I must have my setting wrong as I'm getting about the same frame rates I was getting with a 3200+ /GF3-500 a couple of years ago.

I am currently running a AMD3200 64, 1.5 GB RAM and a crappy gf7300le vid (which I figure should still be much better than my old rig running win x64.

Settings I'm running are opengl and gf3/4/... setting in setup, this gives me 30fps which i used to get before, any setting advice would be appreciated

thanks

Andrew

oops running at 1024x768, program controlled aa etc

JG52Uther
09-12-2006, 06:30 AM
I think the card is no good.A squadmate just brought a new comp (intel duo) with a 7300 card and his frame rates have dropped through the floor!Obviously you might be able to tweak a few settings in the conf to get more frames.

Urufu_Shinjiro
09-12-2006, 10:44 AM
Also check the vid driver settings and make sure vsync is off.

major_setback
09-12-2006, 11:06 AM
Dual core?

This thread has a little useful information, mostly for dual core processors.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/262...621085274#2621085274 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/2621085274?r=2621085274#2621085274)

Worf101
09-12-2006, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by major_setback:
Dual core?

This thread has a little useful information, mostly for dual core processors.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/262...621085274#2621085274 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/26310365/m/2621085274?r=2621085274#2621085274)
Thanks M8. I've some fiddling to do when I get home to see if this has any effect at all..

Da Worfster

FritzGryphon
09-12-2006, 11:54 PM
You'd best just set custom, and set everything to lowest.

Most importantly, set filtering to bilinear, and texture compression to S3TC. S3TC seems to really improve frames on crummy cards.

stansdds
09-13-2006, 04:28 AM
The 7300 series are low end budget video cards, only 4 pixel pipelines if I recall correctly. Basically, they have replaced the 6600 plain as the bottom end of the GeForce line. Consider yourself fortunate if Perfect settings and Water = 1 runs at satisfactory frame rates.

katchan
09-13-2006, 08:27 PM
thanks for all the help/suggestions, tried them all and few others i could remember and some I searched up, andcame to the conclusion not much difference fps in most settings. So I'm maxed out on every setting bar perfect land/water which while it gives me about 25fps it gives a jerky response every second or so

thanks again all

Andrew

JG52Karaya-X
09-14-2006, 11:16 AM
Hi katchan!

As Uther said I got myself a new rig just a week ago with an Intel Core 2 Duo, a Geforce 7300SE and 1GB of DDR2. With this kind of setup I can barely break the 40-50fps region, my average lying around 20-25 even offline in QMB - this is even less than I get on my old rig (Athlon XP2000+, 1GB SDRAM, Geforce 6600GT).


The bottleneck seems to be the Geforce 7300 - they are less than low budget cards. Have a look at Nvidias site, they are 64bit (which is plain outdated) and have abismal rendering performance. I myself will try to get a new card as soon as possible...

M2morris
09-14-2006, 05:52 PM
Hey Karaya, (OT) I clicked on the painting and found the Butcherbirds site. I checked the roster and I appreciate that you guys gave me an honorable discharge. I was recruited by XRay in 2000 as Manteo and I faded out after 9-11-01(I was in the service then and deployed alot)but I did I spend alot of time flying online with Schatten and some other JG52s while I could. Well, its good to see that the Squad is still going strong. <S>