PDA

View Full Version : An introduction and a some quck questions

csthopper
08-09-2007, 08:44 AM
Just wanted to say hi to everyone out there. I've been playing the IL2 series for nearly 3 years now and can't get enough. I finally bought 1946 and have been losing sleep matching up plane after plane in the quick missions http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Since I only had the original IL2, I'm taken aback by the AI improvements in 1946. Before i could win every engagement in every aircraft against the ACE AI. Now in 1946 im getting spanked by the ACE AI...fun stuff.

So now I have a couple of questions i hope you folks can help me with.

For now, I'm not using complex engine management. I assume letting the AI handle the engine management means i don't mess with mixture, prop-pitch, and boast stages, correct? Is the AI handling these feature perfectly, or am i loosing out by not forcing myself to manage these parameters myself?

The above question might be the answer to this question but...I'm finding that when i 1v1 a P-51D and a BF-109 (forgot which model but later 1944 series), whichever fighter i pick, the AI always seems to be faster and out climb me. I'll chase the other plane for 20 minutes and they will continue to get farther away. So i switch planes thinking i got the slower plane and the AI does the same thing to me in the other plane?? grrrr.

Also, sorry if these topic have been discussed in detail, this is a huge forum and its a little tuff to search out topics.

Thanks

csthopper
08-09-2007, 08:44 AM
Just wanted to say hi to everyone out there. I've been playing the IL2 series for nearly 3 years now and can't get enough. I finally bought 1946 and have been losing sleep matching up plane after plane in the quick missions http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif