PDA

View Full Version : OT - How to format a drive with OS on it?



Messervy
04-23-2006, 06:06 AM
Here is a situation:

2x Maxtor 160 GB in raid O array (stripped)
(partitions C:windows - boot 40 GB, D: Programs, E: Storage)
1x Maxtor 160 GB (Backup)
Note: For reason unknown to me it was a logical drive but when I installed windows on C it was redesignated as a system partition.

1x WD 40 GB (Another C: Windows)

What I wan˙t to do is to Format WD 40 GB and make a clone of my C partition on Raid array.

I don˙t even dare to connect it since it looks like that Windows XP-SP2 don`t like raid arrays as a place to put system on it.
I guess the allmighty windows will decide to put boot partition on that disk as soon as they spot it.

Something simmilar happened to me few years ago.
I just couldn`t believe my eyes.
I had a disk menagement screen opened when I hit shut down button and to my amazement I saw a temporary a boot partition (8MB) being created on another disk.

BueJack
04-23-2006, 08:43 AM
Windoze doesn't like other friendlier OS's living next door to it. It gets very jealous. As for reformatting a disk with an OS on it - Do you have that FDisk (MSDos) utility. I think it still exists with XP under a 'Dos Window'. It's been a long time since I dunnit.
You should also be able to do this in the XP installation setup. This might be risky at it will probably blow the Partitions on the other disks - Not sure here. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Messervy
04-23-2006, 09:04 AM
mhmmm....thanks.
You were one guy I was hoping to solve this.
Let`s see what Kaleun1961 has to say about it. I guess he just passed some exams on this field not long ago.

Here is what I am most inclined to do:

So if I disconnect all my other drives (for obvious reason stated above) and run Setup with CD and Format the existing (40 GB) drive and then exit the Setup without instaling new Windows, will the drive be formated or not?

BueJack
04-23-2006, 10:13 AM
Originally posted by Messervy:
So if I disconnect all my other drives (for obvious reason stated above) and run Setup with CD and Format the existing (40 GB) drive and then exit the Setup without instaling new Windows, will the drive be formated or not?

This struck me as I started to read this post... Yes this would work perfectly. In the setup it asks you whether you want to keep the existing format or reformat. AFAIK if you hit reformat, XP puts you into 'Dos Mode' and FDisk will be here (Type 'dir FD*' [not the single quuotes])
for help on this type 'FDisk /? or FDisk ?'.

the Reformat/format utility is somewhere in the XP-Setup, just can't remember where?
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Edt: I can't remember what happens to the Partition table. You might have the choice of not making it 'Bootable', then it should write normal partition data to this area. This, I think, would make it usable for RAID/Mirroring.

Rugbyfan1972
04-23-2006, 12:45 PM
The way I reformatted my hard disk last year was to make my DVD drive bootable in the bios, not sure which key you have to press to enter the bios, and then rebooted the machine with the XP disk in the drive, and then followed the onscreen prompts. Not sure if this is what you are looking for as I have a single hard drive, that is only in one 80GB partition.

But if it solves your problem or even only jogs your memory, then I am glad to have been able to help you.

Thanks
Rugbyfan1972

Messervy
04-23-2006, 04:39 PM
Thank you both!

I`ll let you know the day after D-day http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Been out and I don`t fell like doing it with few beers in my system. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Kaleun1961
04-24-2006, 12:11 PM
Sorry to be coming late to this. I've been away for a few days. Yes, I did recently pass my hardware exam, but RAID is still very academic to me; I haven't actually gone "hands on" with one yet. You should be able to access Fdisk with a boot up disk or CD. From there you can work with your partitions. I like to use Partition Magic for most of my partitioning work; more versatile than Fdisk. Let us know how it works out.

BueJack
04-24-2006, 12:25 PM
Originally posted by Kaleun1961:
Yes, I did recently pass my hardware exam

Well done...http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif
Wot's next http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Kaleun1961
04-24-2006, 04:37 PM
Operating systems is the next exam, and I am not looking forward to it. There's a lot on there that I must prepare for, excruciatingly detailed things like the boot sequence for all the different versions of Windows, from 9x to XP. For some people this is simple, just like trigonometry is for, say, mathematicians, or U-boat captains! For me it is very abstract; I like hardware more than software. On the prep exams it asks a lot of questions like how to do this or that, what are the exact things you click. I navigate myself through the system, but I don't remember exactly how I got there. I think this is fine for people who may end up on help desk and have to hand-hold customers through things on the phone. I'd rather be the only straight crew member on an all-gay cruise ship than work on a telephone support desk.

Messervy
04-24-2006, 07:08 PM
I'd rather be the only straight crew member on an all-gay cruise ship than work on a telephone support desk.

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gifhttp://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gifhttp://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gifhttp://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gifhttp://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/88.gif˙

I`ll let you know how it went - tommorow maybe?

My birthday is approaching fast and wherever I go I bump into some "friends" which I am not likely to invite on my party but they are still decent blokes enough to buy them a bier....you know the rest.

Messervy
04-25-2006, 03:29 PM
Done !
I simply deleted the partition while in Windows setup.

Thanks guys for the help anyway.