PDA

View Full Version : Loading Screen



BurningGeneral
10-21-2009, 06:19 AM
Hello,

1.) If I create a picture of 1024x512 pix it looks wrong on my 1680x1050 tft http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif ...
So is there a possibility to automaticaly change the pictures when the monitor has got another solution?

2.) How can I show a text during the Loading Screen? I tried this tutorial: http://www.callofjuarezfans.co...&hilit=loading#p6013 (http://www.callofjuarezfans.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=819&p=6013&hilit=loading#p6013)
but it doesn't work. I only get the pictures.

Vladd90
10-25-2009, 06:48 AM
Please, tell me how to create loading screens. I cannot find information about it.

BurningGeneral
10-25-2009, 08:11 AM
follow the link!

seir
10-26-2009, 02:21 AM
1) There is no system that will choose proper loading screen to users resolution

2) That's a bit buggy. I'll ask programmers about that.

BurningGeneral
10-26-2009, 05:03 AM
Thanks!
Otherwise I've got a big problem cause I want to past a kind of introduction in the loading screen... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif

Zancara
10-27-2009, 04:50 PM
Try go back to http://www.callofjuarezfans.co...&hilit=loading#p6013 (http://www.callofjuarezfans.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=819&p=6013&hilit=loading#p6013) because I have shown a sample that works.

seir
10-28-2009, 02:31 AM
Try to put some "Enter" keys on end of every .scr file. It should be like that to include with other scripts.

wookash_b
10-28-2009, 04:01 PM
BurningGeneral I believe you need to be logged into your profile to see the text during loading screen. It is the same issue as with the lack of dialog text. In order to see the text log into your player profile.

Check my post here:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...641080997#9641080997 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3901002687/m/9501013897?r=9641080997#9641080997)

I tried Zancara's method and it works nice, but I still have just one picture visible three times in the main menu, instead of three different pictures. I do not know why http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Zancara
10-29-2009, 01:38 AM
You have make a change in these three lines:

DescriptionPicture("MapName_Screen.dds")
DescriptionPicture2("MapName_Screen2.dds")
DescriptionPicture3("MapName_Screen3.dds")

and it shoud be like this instead:

DescriptionPicture("MapName_Screen.dds")
DescriptionPicture2("MapName_Screen.dds")
DescriptionPicture3("MapName_Screen.dds")

Hope that would help you

wookash_b
10-29-2009, 02:24 PM
DescriptionPicture
DescriptionPicture2
DescriptionPicture3

That's what I didn't notice the first time and that is why it was the same picture three times. Thanks man! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

cr1m3
10-24-2011, 01:54 PM
This is to complete this topic on how to create custom loading scrrens for sp maps also mp.




THIS IS COMPLETE TUTORIAL HOW TO ADD LOADING SCREENS AND PREVEW SCREENS ON COJMODDING.COM

Programs suggested:
- Image Editor - "Paint.Net" (freeware) or other with .tga support
- DDS Converter - "DDS Converter 2" (freeware) or plugins for other image editors

Making of screenshots of the map - In Game
Just run your map in game, center screen on place you want to take screenshot and press "PrintScreen" ("PrtScr" key on you keyboard). All your screenshots will be saved as .tga file in "My Documents/Call of Juarez Bound in Blood/Out/Screenshots". You can open .tga with image editor (like Paint.Net). Open it, crop it if you like and save it as .jpg. Max width is about 1000 px.

Making of screenshots of the map - In Editor
Also you can use "Panoramic preview" ("G" key) so editor will remove all the interface. Before that you need to remove all the "helpers" (waypoints, spawnpoints, markers) by "Edit > Show/Hide Objects > Show/Hide Helpers".

Hide helpers, turn on panoramic preview and press "PrtScr". Now your screen is in the clipboard.

Image

Open your image editor go to "Edit > Paste" ("CTRL + V") and you should see your image. Now crop this image to remove desktop part of the screenshot. Leave only map view. Save it to jpg file (max width is about 1000 px).

Now you have your screenshots for previews on COJModding.com ready!

How to make loading screens:
Take your three .jpg files and open them with image editor. Now you need to crop all that images to 1024px (width) x 512px (height). After croping add new layer, fill it with green color (RGB: 0, 255, 0), go to layer properties and from "Blending" choose "Mode: Multiply". Now your image is green! Save it as .jpg.

Image

Now run DDS Converter and convert your .jpg files as .dds (DCT5). Now go to your map directory and:

For single player missions:
Paste your .dds files in map direcory as:
<map_name>_screen.dds
<map_name>_screen2.dds
<map_name>_screen3.dds

Open "<map_name>_StartProp.scr" with Notepad and find "DescriptionPicture". Delete whole line and in this place paste:

Quote:
DescriptionPicture("<map_name>_Screen.dds")
DescriptionPicture2("<map_name>_Screen2.dds")
DescriptionPicture3("<map_name>_Screen3.dds")


For multiplayer missions:
Open <map_name>.trk file and find LoadingArtworks. Replace standard .dds files with your .dds' for every game mode available in .trk.

That's all http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

_________________
COJModding.com



And there's my custom scripts to add loading screens:


first, create a script with notepad and name it, my_map_name_startprop.scr:

then put this text inside within your map name instead of my_map_name.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre"> !include("../../../Level.def")

LevelMap("Data/MapsExtra/my_map_name/my_map_name.exp")
{
DescriptionMusic("COJ2_Attack_06.ogg")
StatisticsMusic("COJ2_Attack_10.ogg")
DescriptionPicture("my_map_name_Screen.dds")
DescriptionPicture("my_map_name_screen2.dds")
DescriptionPicture2("my_map_name_screen3.dds")
DescriptionPicture2("my_map_name_screen6.dds")
DescriptionPicture3("my_map_name_screen4.dds")
DescriptionPicture3("my_map_name_screen5.dds")
EpisodeName("my map name")
SaveName("my_map_name")
NoChatters()

GameCharacter("Ray")
{
AddWeapon("WeaponPistolWalker")
AddWeapon("WeaponPistolWalker")
AddWeapon("WeaponRifleWinchester")
AddWeapon("WeaponDynamiteStick")
AddWeapon("WeaponDynamiteStick")
AddWeapon("WeaponDynamiteStick")
AddWeapon("WeaponDynamiteStick")
AddAmmo("AmmoPistol", 80)
AddAmmo("AmmoRifle", 10)
}

GameCharacter("Thomas")
{
AddWeapon("WeaponPistolPeacemaker")
AddWeapon("WeaponPistolPeacemaker")
AddWeapon("WeaponRifleWinchester")
AddWeapon("WeaponLasso")
AddWeapon("WeaponKnife")
AddWeapon("WeaponKnife")
AddWeapon("WeaponKnife")
AddWeapon("WeaponKnife")
AddWeapon("WeaponKnife")
AddWeapon("WeaponKnife")
AddAmmo("AmmoPistol", 70)
AddAmmo("AmmoRifle", 20)
}
!include("LoadingScreen_my_map_name.scr")
}

</pre>


second, create a script with notepad and name it, LoadingScreen_my_map_name.scr:

then put this text inside within your map name instead of my_map_name.

<pre class="ip-ubbcode-code-pre"> LoadingArtworks(3, 1, 17)
{
ImageP("my_map_name_screen.dds", 7, 5, -1, 3)
ImageP("my_map_name_screen2.dds", 4, 3, -1, 3)
ImageP("my_map_name_screen3.dds", 3.5, 3, -1, 3)
ImageP("my_map_name_screen4.dds", 4, 4, -1, 3)
ImageP("my_map_name_screen5.dds", 3, 3, -1, 3)
ImageP("my_map_name_screen6.dds", 21, 3, -1, 3)

Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 0, 7.83, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 8.14, 15.56, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 16.01, 18.80, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 19.15, 23.53, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 23.72, 26.69, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 27.11, 33.29, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 33.85, 37.00, -1, 0)
Text("enter the text you want in loading screens here", 37.36, 43.15, -1, 0)
}

</pre>

place those two files in your map folder, this is for single player only.