PDA

View Full Version : Assassins Creed Reference Photographs

MooseCommander7
09-30-2011, 10:55 PM
Hi everyone,

I want to preface this by saying what a huge fan I am of entire Assassins Creed franchise. It is probably one of my top three favorite game series of all time, and as an avid gamer, I cannot wait for Revelations to come out.

I know this is the most extreme of long shots, but I am a 3D modeler going to the Academy of Art in San Francisco, majoring in 3D art for games. I have an internship with Stanford University where I have to model the Hagia Sophia in the Unreal Development Kit. While I have been provided with basic blueprints, besides images in Google Image search I really don't have any great reference photos for modeling or texturing, and some areas of the building I have no clue what they look like as the blueprints alone don't provide a lot of information, especially the types of materials, etc.

I've been working on the project for 4 months and I am just now getting to the texturing phase, but I am finding this to be extremely difficult. I'm sure Ubisoft was able to afford to send a team to photograph the interior and exterior of the building, specifically to be used as reference for 3D modeling and texture assets. Unfortunately the images on Google are mostly low resolution or at odd angles and aren't really helpful for making game assets.