PDA

View Full Version : Newbie PF issues



zenboy1948
02-16-2010, 06:14 AM
finally got PF installed with Windows 7. After watching training films on carrier takeoffs, went to Single Missions/Carrier Takeoff, Allied & Axis, but these start off with the aircraft in the air, rather than on a carrier flight deck....whst's the problem? Also, while the landing gear will engage with G for Axis planes, I can't get them to work with the F4F...any ideas? Thanx from a BrandNewbie

thefruitbat
02-16-2010, 06:23 AM
for your first problem, make sure take off and landings are ticked under the difficulty stettings, otherwise you will airstart.

for your second some aircraft includeing the f4f do not have automatic gear. you have to use the 'raise gear manually' key, and press it multipull times untill the gear up message comes up, to simulate cranking the handle. to lower, use lower gear manually, the same way.

i suggest you read through this thread, answers most of the common questions,

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...3110283/m/9121094645 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/9121094645)

zenboy1948
02-16-2010, 06:39 AM
Many thanks, Fruitbat! That Nugget link is great, and your suggestions worked just fine!

thefruitbat
02-16-2010, 06:44 AM
glad to be of help, one thing i will say, is if you like PF, you should really consider getting il2 1946, its the latest version of the game, includes all of PF, plus much much much more, and if you ever intend to fly online is what everyone uses.

fruitbat

blairgowrie
02-16-2010, 06:48 AM
Have to agree with Fruitbat. You should try and find the IL2 1946 DVD which contains all the games, including PF. You shouldn't have to pay anymore than $10.00 for it.

zenboy1948
02-16-2010, 07:27 AM
Once I get familiar with PF, will most definitely look into 1946, Lads! Will it install easily with Windows 7?....even with tail wheel locked, having a hell of a time heading down the centre of the flight deck...will keep at it!

blairgowrie
02-16-2010, 07:56 AM
Yes it will install easily on Windows 7. Lots of threads in the Community Help section to guide you.

Good luck with the carrier takeoffs and landings. They are my favourite.

Zeus-cat
02-16-2010, 04:22 PM
Recommended in the Nugget's Guide is my training campaign - Straight From the Farm. You can get my campaign from M4T by using the link below.

Straight From the Farm is specifically designed to show you how to take off and land on grass, and aircraft carriers. It also tells you what functions need to be mapped for takeoffs and landings. The missions are very quick to play, generally 2 to 3 minutes each.

The first one starts with the very basic concepts you need to takeoff safely. Each subsequent mission adds an idea or two. By the time you are finished with he campaign you can land on an escort carrier!

The campaign will work in both PF and IL-2 1946.

Ba5tard5word
02-16-2010, 07:23 PM
F4F Wildcat and the I-16 are the only planes I can think of with manual landing gear. There might be others.

Erkki_M
02-16-2010, 11:51 PM
At least in the F4U, plus some uncertain ones, you can get hit in the hydraulics so that you will have to manually lower the gear. Jakovlevs also do this with flaps, and without a doubt many other aircraft but I'm not 100% sure about them...

zenboy1948
02-17-2010, 05:44 AM
Hey All, many thanks for your help! After locating my Precision 2 joystick, and substituting it for my simple Sidewinder, was able to control my rudder much more easily....got off the flight deck first try....Awesome. Definitely sound like a Newbie, aye?!!! You guys are the best...will probably be posting more, but FruitBat's tutorial and Zeuscat's link are indispensable....will be picking up 1946 in the near future.

thefruitbat
02-17-2010, 09:40 AM
not my tutorial, can't claim credit for that, thank Bearcat and a host of others http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

zenboy1948
02-18-2010, 09:24 AM
I need to get my seat up higher for a better view on takeoffs....I have the stand-alone PF version...there is no "seat raised/lowered" control option, but there is a "toggle seat position" control....I have it defined as Alt+S, but absolutely nothing happens....any ideas for this Newbie?

miatacol
02-18-2010, 09:29 AM
I don't know much about anything but if you use a wide view you can see the sides of the runway and help you keep centered. Maybe try raising the canopy? I think that has to be open before you can raise your seat.

zenboy1948
02-18-2010, 09:53 AM
Yeah, miatacol, searched around here and on M4T, discovered the canopy must be open to adjust the seat, plus only certain aircraft will allow it....otherwise, as you say, the wide view helps a lot...

zenboy1948
02-19-2010, 03:35 AM
Re: iL 1946: several new items on Amazon for under $10USD are listed as "UK version"....will I have problems with this version?

M_Gunz
02-19-2010, 08:04 AM
That's the version I have and I'm in the US. I ordered from go-gamer who bought UK copies when the
US was the last to get 1946 at a 2+ week delay.

You want the 1946 sooner than later otherwise you have to break some v3.x habits to learn 4.x properly.
It is that much different.

zenboy1948
02-20-2010, 02:33 AM
Thanx, MGunz,will order the 1946 UK version this weekend...also considering ordering the TrackIR 5...do most of you use this?

M_Gunz
02-20-2010, 02:43 AM
TIR is too expensive for me!

You have a webcam then you can try this out first. (http://www.cachya.com/esight/overview.php)

Unlike TIR it uses no lights on the hat.

Ba5tard5word
02-20-2010, 02:51 AM
TIR is mainly good because of its speed of movement and you can have a lot of control, plus it frees up your hands more so you can have more control over your throttle, etc. Unfortunately though it is really expensive, I'm sure that it is niche technology that took a lot of resources to design, but it would be nice if it was a lot cheaper.

If you don't want to plunk down the cash then you can use a mouse, but you'd need to basically use a mouse with your left hand, and if you're used to using a mouse with your right hand it might be tricky at first but you should get used to it. I used to use my Xbox 360 gamepad with the left analog stick emulating the mouse to look around, and held my flight stick with my right hand, and it worked pretty well. But again TIR is faster and it's easier to look around and quickly look from side to side, though you can still lose enemies easily if they are zooming around a lot, especially vertically.

zenboy1948
02-20-2010, 03:16 AM
MGunz, just to clarify: there were no issues re: NTSC and PAL formats with the UK version?


That's the version I have and I'm in the US. I ordered from go-gamer who bought UK copies when the
US was the last to get 1946 at a 2+ week delay.

You want the 1946 sooner than later otherwise you have to break some v3.x habits to learn 4.x properly.
It is that much different.[/QUOTE]

zenboy1948
02-20-2010, 03:20 AM
Thanx MGunz and BastardSword, I'll play around with your suggestions before shelling out for the TrackIR

M_Gunz
02-20-2010, 05:14 AM
NTSC and PAL? Those are television and being superseded by the HD! NTSC is the yellow plug, composite TV.
IL2 uses VGA, nothing to do with those.
You can ask in the IL2 tech-help forum here and over at SimHQ for a couple checks. It is good to check!

thefruitbat
02-20-2010, 05:16 AM
i love my track ir and would hate to fly without it, but i did play the game for a good few years before i got it. Its worth looking around for older track ir4's, still just as good and alot cheaper now.

i could say the same thing about rudder pedals too, would hate not to have them now, but again, i didn't use them for a good few years either (wish i had though)

zenboy1948
02-20-2010, 05:47 AM
Originally posted by M_Gunz:
NTSC and PAL? Those are television and being superseded by the HD! NTSC is the yellow plug, composite TV.
IL2 uses VGA, nothing to do with those.
You can ask in the IL2 tech-help forum here and over at SimHQ for a couple checks. It is good to check!

Yeah, guess I had a brain farc on that one, MGunz...thanx

M_Gunz
02-20-2010, 02:12 PM
Originally posted by zenboy1948:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by M_Gunz:
NTSC and PAL? Those are television and being superseded by the HD! NTSC is the yellow plug, composite TV.
IL2 uses VGA, nothing to do with those.
You can ask in the IL2 tech-help forum here and over at SimHQ for a couple checks. It is good to check!

Yeah, guess I had a brain farc on that one, MGunz...thanx </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

NP, I had a job back in the late 80's where I had to know those things. It's not exactly common knowledge.
I think that part of the NTSC and PAL difference is due to US AC power being 60 cycle and Euro being 50 cycle
but don't sue me if I'm wrong there! BTW I like the Euro system better just because 60 cycle will screw up
your heart and 50 cycle will not. OTOH good stable 60 cycle runs clocks very well, but that's not enough for
me to ignore the safety factor, there's fine clocks running on 50 cycle I'm sure!

zenboy1948
02-20-2010, 04:36 PM
Placed an order for 1946 this evening, MGunz...a UK version...ITMT, will concentrate on ZeusCat's training missions...if the Lass will give up the bloody joystick!

thefruitbat
02-20-2010, 04:39 PM
another one hooked, lol!

zenboy1948
02-20-2010, 05:55 PM
Yes, I can see this getting REAL addicting, Fruitbat....for me AND the Lass! Gonna try to keep a leash on it! This Forum is just the best...

Paperkite29
02-21-2010, 04:51 PM
Track IR was mentioned earlier in this thread and I was under the impression it only worked 6DOF on Moded game , not on stock , that the best it got was 2DOF. Is this not true ? Ya'll know a lot more a bout this than us rookies...could some one point us/me in the right direction? TIA
!!!

M_Gunz
02-21-2010, 05:03 PM
Stock game is not 6DOF. The only textured parts of the cockpit models are those that can be seen
from the 2 set view positions. Moving head to the side *may* allow you to see holes you should not.
Remember that the game engine is old, they did many things to get the framerate up.

Paperkite29
02-21-2010, 05:15 PM
Shoot ...ok thanks http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Ba5tard5word
02-21-2010, 08:21 PM
Yeah NTSC/PAL is only for video formats like console games and movie DVD's and not for computer games. I live in the US but have bought games on Amazon sometimes and the game sent to me was the UK version. They still install and work fine.

zenboy1948
02-21-2010, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
i love my track ir and would hate to fly without it, but i did play the game for a good few years before i got it. Its worth looking around for older track ir4's, still just as good and alot cheaper now.

i could say the same thing about rudder pedals too, would hate not to have them now, but again, i didn't use them for a good few years either (wish i had though)

I'm runnin' Windows 7, Fruitbat, and there just seems to be a ton of threads on problems with 7 and trackir...which OS you got?

Ba5tard5word
02-21-2010, 10:53 PM
I have TIR5 and Windows 7 and I've never had a problem with it running.

thefruitbat
02-22-2010, 04:58 AM
i have vista 64, and its fine, never heard of anyone having problems with win 7. I think that win 7 64 and vista 64 even use the same driver...

zenboy1948
02-22-2010, 05:28 AM
thanks for those replies....what's your opinions on trackir4 vs. 5....is 5 really worth the extra cost?

thefruitbat
02-22-2010, 05:35 AM
imo , probally not, both are capable of 6DOF. I've got track ir 4, and certainly see no reason to upgrade to 5. You can even use the software from 5 with 4. Of course if money is no issue...

zenboy1948
02-27-2010, 10:25 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
i love my track ir and would hate to fly without it, but i did play the game for a good few years before i got it. Its worth looking around for older track ir4's, still just as good and alot cheaper now.

i could say the same thing about rudder pedals too, would hate not to have them now, but again, i didn't use them for a good few years either (wish i had though)

What's the general concensus on rudder pedals...Absolutely necessary, personal preference, ??? And which models would you recommend?

doogerie
02-28-2010, 03:45 AM
yeah dude like fruitebat said the aircraf you are flying probly has a pump gear and make shoue you have cliked on the take off and landing in the difficulty seeting also remeber that landing is "HARD2 so pratcie is the key

zenboy1948
02-28-2010, 05:05 AM
OK, read the info on Sig/Avatar Posting, I had no problem setting my sig image, but can't get an avatar set...using the IMG code from Photobucket (same as I did for the sig image), but keep getting "the URL code you entered is invalid"....what gives? The image on Photobucket is 6.41KB

thefruitbat
02-28-2010, 05:43 AM
for the avatar for some reason, you don't need the IMG code, just the URL, ie 'http://www.avatarpic.com' etc...

As to rudder pedals, I definatly think they help, but some people don't get on with them. Its very easy to put unwanted rudder inputs with a twist stick when doing manouvers with your joystick, that you won't do with pedals, plus it adds to the whole simulation effect imo.

I personally have saiteks rudder pedals, other types are CH pedals and i belive with the logetick G40 you get pedals as well. There are others around, but these are the most common that people use.

In my opinion saiteks are the way to go, cheaper than CH, and have a wider stance.

http://www.saitek.com/UK/prod/rudder.htm

http://www.chproducts.com/retail/pedals.html

http://www.logitech.com/index....evices/5855&cl=gb,en (http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/gaming/joysticks/devices/5855&cl=gb,en)

fruitbat

zenboy1948
02-28-2010, 06:01 AM
Thanks, Fruitbat. Am I correct that I don't need a same-make joystick in order to use these pedals? And would I simply go to the HOTAS controls in-game to disable the joystick rudder control?

thefruitbat
02-28-2010, 06:10 AM
You are correct, doesn't matter what make. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

although, you don't actually dissable the joystick rudder control, rather you enable the pedals in hotas instead (same thing really).