PDA

View Full Version : problem to host with cable with dinamic ip



bogida
10-02-2006, 12:29 PM
i have problemhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif i cant host il2http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif((( i turn off firewall and still no hosting for mehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif((
i am behind ruter and i have cable internet with dinamic iphttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif i can join to play but no host???i ask provader what to do and they say that is secret for mehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif(??????i dont have acses to ruterhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif ruter is in provader househttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif(is any way to host IL2 or i go to kill my self???

bogida
10-02-2006, 12:29 PM
i have problemhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif i cant host il2http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif((( i turn off firewall and still no hosting for mehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif((
i am behind ruter and i have cable internet with dinamic iphttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif i can join to play but no host???i ask provader what to do and they say that is secret for mehttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif(??????i dont have acses to ruterhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif ruter is in provader househttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif(is any way to host IL2 or i go to kill my self???

dbillo
10-02-2006, 02:17 PM
Why has your "provider" made what to do a "secret" for you? I don't understand.

It always perplexes me when someone can join, but not host. If you can join games, then port forwarding must be already set up on the router, so there shouldn't be anything to do there anyhow.

How are you hosting a game...privately, or through a game lobby like Hyperlobby? If Hyperlobby, then I think there are some things to edit in your hlpro.ini file when hosting behind a router.

Are you able to send your Internet IP address to those trying to join your server? Go to www.whatismyip.com (http://www.whatismyip.com) to find out what your Internet IP address is.

jeroen-79
10-04-2006, 08:21 PM
What do you mean with being behind a router but the router being with the provider?

VW-IceFire
10-04-2006, 08:50 PM
Alright...its not specifically the firewall thats the problem. Its port forwarding you're interested in. Your router translates IP addresses from the internet to your local network through Network Address Translation (NAT).

Learn more by starting here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Port_forwarding

TAW_Oilburner
10-05-2006, 04:57 AM
If you don't have access to the router then you cannot host. Here is a post I did a while back explaining the whole thing.

http://www.rapidgamer.com/index.php?name=PNphpBB2&file=viewtopic&t=246

juryman03
10-05-2006, 05:41 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dbillo:
It always perplexes me when someone can join, but not host. If you can join games, then port forwarding must be already set up on the router, so there shouldn't be anything to do there anyhow. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I don't believe that's true. I think you can join games without port forwarding being enabled on your router, but you can't host.

-HH-Quazi
10-05-2006, 06:35 AM
What you can do if the cable company isn't allowing you the address\username& password to configure the router for port forwarding, just do what I did. Takes the damn thing back to the cable company and go out and purchase your own router. I suggest the Linksys WRT54G. It's a great router and very easy to configure by typing 192.168.1.1 into the address bar of your internet browser.

RamsteinUSA
10-05-2006, 06:57 AM
No-IP is your friend:

http://www.no-ip.com/

use the free version....
or pay if you need to..

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

WWSensei
10-05-2006, 07:26 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by juryman03:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by dbillo:
It always perplexes me when someone can join, but not host. If you can join games, then port forwarding must be already set up on the router, so there shouldn't be anything to do there anyhow. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I don't believe that's true. I think you can join games without port forwarding being enabled on your router, but you can't host. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

juryman you are correct. You don't need to hard-code a port forwar dinto your router when you are the client because most routers will establish a temporary dynamic port forward for client games. It boils down to the fact a server never really needs to know what port a client is connecting from but a client needs to know what port on a server to connect to. Therefore server ports have to be known and mapped appropriately.